2/5 Logan AMPS 326, +6 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Logan

Very Active Member
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5170

His BG is back down to his normal AMPS range. On Wed night, his PMPS was 359, which was 20-30 points higher than his usual PMPS range. The higher BGs continued until this morning and his not eating well went along with the higher than normal BGs. So, was he not eating well b/c his BG was a little higher than normal? Or was he not eating well b/c something was going on that also caused his BG to be a little higher than normal? No way to know, of course. I'm wondering if his IBD flared up slightly...

He did eat well this morning - 1.5 cans of FF (back to his normal flavor), which was around 143 calories. So, we're off to a much better start today! Hopefully, he will continue to eat well.

Happy Friday, LL! I didn't think it would ever come! It's been a long week! Hope everyone has a great Friday.
 
Re: 2/5 Logan AMPS 326

Or maybe yesterday was just an "off" day. There are times when I think I'm watching Gabby too closely - she's sleeping in the study vs. my bedroom so is something wrong? She walked away from her food - is she sick? I drive myself nuts. I know you need to be vigilant right now. I'm just hoping Logan just wasn't in the mood and took it all slow and is back on course today.
 
Re: 2/5 Logan AMPS 326

Better news for Logan today.
Maybe he just knows it's the weekend coming up and wants to give you some
down time.
He is being such a good boy.
 
Well, the Bear is definitely back (his nickname, one of many, is Mr. Bear)...he ate 1 1/4 cans at +6 for DH2B! He also met him at the door and purred while waiting to be tested.
 
Me too; I love to see a kitty with a good healthy appetite.

I hope Logan has a pleasant evening
 
Lots of kitties with Bear nicknames, I think. KB is sometimes Kitty Bear. Glad to hear he's more and more like his old self. Did they ever find what was wrong, or are you still waiting for test results?
 
Logan was as hungry as a bear, huh? that is so great....and to know that he was purring while
waiting to be tested...such great signs....
Weekend finally has come...ENJOY it Kelly!!! :razz:
 
Re: 2/5 Logan PMPS 355

He's back up there again. I could tell he wasn't feeling well when I got home. :( After using the LB, he got in Livy's crate and won't come out. I had to test him in there. He wouldn't eat his chicken treats but I got him to lick a little bit of baby food. He's breathing heavy and his ketones are up to small/moderate. WTH?! I pushed through 25ml water about 10 minutes ago and will push some more through in another 20 minutes. If he doesn't get any better, I may have to take him in.

I just feel like for every step forward, we take 10 backwards. It's so frustrating that we can't get this figured out.

We're supposed to go to once a day with the pred tomorrow.

Nina, he was diagnosed with IB a few weeks ago. He's been on prednisolone for a little over 2 weeks.
 
(((Kelly))). Maybe you need to go with a more heavy duty steroid like Dexamethasone, and go sub Q with it, in case the gut is not absorbing the oral pred very well?

I also wonder if they have ruled out some sort of infection that arose around the surgical site or associated with the feeding tube?

I don't know, but I'm just throwing out a couple of ideas. (((Logan)))
 
Linda and Bear Man said:
(((Kelly))). Maybe you need to go with a more heavy duty steroid like Dexamethasone, and go sub Q with it, in case the gut is not absorbing the oral pred very well?

I also wonder if they have ruled out some sort of infection that arose around the surgical site or associated with the feeding tube?

I don't know, but I'm just throwing out a couple of ideas. (((Logan)))

I'm wondering about some type of infection, as well. He goes in first thing Monday morning for a recheck. I'd really prefer not to take him to the ER, if possible. I'm convinced they're all heartless idiots! I just haven't had good luck with the ER side of that place.

He's still in Livy's crate. I covered him with a blanket and he's sleeping, but still breathing a little heavy. It's been about 1 hr 40 min since his shot. I'll see if I can get him to eat something in a little while. If I can't get him to eat on his own, I'll have to feed him through the tube.
 
Kelly,
While I am sorry to hear of Logan's wee step backwards, I don't think it's 10 steps backwards even though it may feel like 20 steps!

To look on the positive side, knowing what's wrong and being able to treat it is much better than having a sick Logan and no idea what needs to be done.
When you know about an issue, IB for example, you can then look to treatment, and that's better than not having a clue what's wrong and are not giving any treatment.

Logan has been doing fantastic, so let's hope this latest is just a small setback that is corrected easily.

Scratches for Logan .
 
does he usually do the heavy breathing thing when he isn't feeling well? Breathing problems can become severe quickly, if in doubt go to the vet (especially if it seems like he is struggling at all to breathe). Don't take a chance with breathing... With ketones present, I would probably increase the insulin dose tomorrow too, unless you're going to the vet, then let them do their thing.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
does he usually do the heavy breathing thing when he isn't feeling well? Breathing problems can become severe quickly, if in doubt go to the vet (especially if it seems like he is struggling at all to breathe). Don't take a chance with breathing... With ketones present, I would probably increase the insulin dose tomorrow too, unless you're going to the vet, then let them do their thing.

His breathing is usually a little heavier when he's not feeling well. I couldn't get him to eat more than a couple spoonfuls of baby food so I gave him a little extra a/d with his meds when I pushed them through the tube - prob about 1/4 can versus the normal 1tbsp. I just got a urine ketone test and we're down to trace! I got a blood ketone test about 2 min before the urine test and it was 1.0. His BG was 338 so it's down slightly. His breathing is a little better. I'm going to set my alarm to get up with him a couple of times tonight. I'm hoping he'll eat some later. I'll definitely increase his insulin to 5.5 in the morning.
 
Logan seems to be feeling a little better. I got a little purring out of him and he ate 1/2 can of FF. His urine ketone test just now was somewhere between neg and trace. He won't be getting his pred in the morning so I think I'll stay with 5.25 to see if he comes down anymore w/o that in his system...just curious if I'll see any difference or not. I flushed some more water through his tube...I really hate ketones!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top