2/5 Lily's SLGS #s AMPS 271, +2 141, PMPS 68 AT2/53 ReliOn

Calicos are Best (GA)

Member Since 2019
Today is the 6th day Lily has been on 1.5 units of Lantus insulin every 12 hours. Her blood glucose was 68 on a AT2 meter and 53 tonight on a ReliOn meter, but I still gave her 1.5 units. She ate her usual dinner amount. I will check her blood again in a few hours to see what it is.

Do you guys think I should do a blood curve tomorrow on the 7th day? or should I wait until the 8th day? I am running low on AlphaTrak2 strips. I have FreeStyle insulinx's coming in the mail.
 
Aack! Wish you had posted and asked before shooting. On your previous post, you said you wanted to follow SLGS and with SLGS you do not shoot if the preshot is below 90, and even then you don't shoot below 150 until you have the data to do so. And with that number below 1.5 units, she also earned a dose reduction down to 1.25 units.

I would get a +1 test first. How many test strips do you have around? Any chance you can get to a human pharmacy and pick up some to tide you over? You may need as many as 20 tonight. Do you have high carb food or karo around?
 
yes I do want to do Shoot Low, Go Slow, but I thought that I was supposed to give Lily the same dose for 1 week no matter what. I thought if I changed the dose before 1 week that was bad? I thought it was low when I checked and I thought if I didn't do the same dose it would mess up what I had already done.

I just checked Lily's blood and it is

AT2 meter: 50
ReliOn meter: 42

I don't have any Karo on hand. I am out of town and I have some in NY, so not helpful right now. :banghead: Ok, so should I just wet my finger and stick regular granular sugar to put in Lily's mouth? Or should I just give her like 1/4 ir 1/2 of a 3 oz can of fancy feast? I have a lot of human strips I just got today thankfully!!!
 
Do you have high carb gravy food? High carb treats? honey, syrup, nutrical, any other liquid sugar?
 
What do you have for supplies? How much food do you have?

If you have no form of liquid sugars, then mix granulated sugar with a little bit hot water and add it to a tsp of her wet food. Not the most ideal, but it may work.
 
Also, please retest her sugars. You are going to be needing to test her every 15 min for a while
 
How about honey or pancake syrup? Worst case you can make a syrup with sugar and water if you don't have gravy. Vanilla ice cream? Yogurt with honey?

You were supposed to hold her dose for a week, unless she earned a reduction, which she just did. For next time.:bighug:
 
No, i only buy pates...The foods I have are...

Fancy Feast Kitten food (pate) - numerous cans

1 can - Wellness Turkey & Salmon Pate
1 can - Weruva Chicken soup w/ pumpkin

5 cans - Royal canin glcobalance - morsels in gravy HMMM, WOULD THIS ONE BE CONSIDERED CLOSE ENOUGH FOR A HIGH CARB GRAVY?

1 can - Sensitive stomach & skin - tuna and vegetable flavor
1 can - Authority sensitive support - chicken & turkey recipe

I don't have any kitty treats. Maybe I could ask my family if I can borrow their dry food? I don't know if that would complicate things? My parent's cat is on a special diet. I have granulated sugar and honey in the house. Can I make my own liquid sugar by melting sugar in hot water?
 
Honey can help raise the numbers so that's good you have it. Not sure right off-the-bat what the carb % is for all the food you listed. Will do a quick check
 
If you have no form of liquid sugars, then mix granulated sugar with a little bit hot water and add it to a tsp of her wet food. Not the most ideal, but it may work.

Ok, that sounds good I will try this!

You were supposed to hold her dose for a week, unless she earned a reduction, which she just did. For next time.:bighug:

I need a huge learning curve, lol! The good thing is I just bought a new human meter today. Thank you guys for being so patient and helpful!
 
Last edited:
14% for the glycobalance
Can you check her sugars again now? It's been half an hour since your last test
 
The fancy feast kitten is only 3% carbs.
If you haven't already fed, it may be better to use a tsp gravy from the glycobalance.
But you need to get another test asap, so we know how much sugar needs to get into her.
How is she acting?
 
She is acting regular. Just laying down. I just checked her again. This check was at 11:02PM
AT2: 56
ReliOn: 41

and the first one was at 10:18PM =

AT2 meter: 50
ReliOn meter: 42


I did not feed her anything yet. Waiting to be directed what you guys think is best. Lily was fed her normal dinner which is 1 and 1/2 cans of fancy feast with water at 8:05PM with the 1.5 units of insulin.

Yes I do have honey and sugar on hand that is correct.
 
ok I am giving lily the gravy and the honey i had was very crystal-ized and not workable. I melted some granulated sugar in water and mixxed with gravy. I will check Lily's blood again at 11:45 PM.
 
Can you give her honey in a teaspoon of that 14% gravy right now.
We need to get her above 50 on the human meter!

I'm afraid the sugar water may be to dilute to be doing much
 
Do you have someone that can run out to grab you some higher carb gravy food?

Were able to get the honey warmed up?
 
Basically what we are after is trying to get her sugars up past 50 on human meter(safe number), and to keep them from dropping back down again. This means giving small amounts of high carb foods/sugars and testing every 15 minutes
 
Ok i just mixed some more of the gravy from the glycobalance and melted some honey. Lily just ate this and I will check her blood sugar again at 12:25AM eastern time.
 
Food takes 20-30 minutes from the plate to the blood stream. As long as she's not dropping more, you can stretch those tests out to 1/2 hour.
 
How many hours now since you gave the shot? Trying to figure out when the tests are in relation to the shot.
 
Sounds good Majandra! Looks like the family cat food is no good. He eats special food that is prescribed for medical urinary problems. Don't want to complicate what is already going on.
 
Oh, some of that urinary food is really high carb. A tsp or two won't cause harm. Which one is it?
 
The prescribed food is Hill's Urinary Care. Should I check her blood now and not wait then?

OK i will check now, one sec let me set up and get blood readings.
 
Pet meter: 55
Human meter: 45

I can grab some dry food from the other cat if you guys think that will be more effective? Let me go see what kind the dry is. I know the wet is Hill's.
 
Ok so the other kitty eats Hill's Urinary Care s/d in wet and dry. If I feed Lily some of the dry, how much would you guys give her? Should I count out the pieces of dry food? Like 10 pieces?

CORRECTION IT IS THE C/D not the s/d.
 
Pet meter: 55
Human meter: 45
Get some honey on your finger and rub it on the gums. You need to get the BSL up over 50 on the human meter. Just stick to one meter at the moment... choose one of them and stick with it. Too confusing using both. . If you can’t get the honey out because it is crystallised, give it 10 seconds in the microwave to melt it. Make sure it is cool before using.
 
Back
Top