2/5 Lily's SLGS #s AMPS 271, +2 141, PMPS 68 AT2/53 ReliOn

Ok so the other kitty eats Hill's Urinary Care s/d in wet and dry. If I feed Lily some of the dry, how much would you guys give her? Should I count out the pieces of dry food? Like 10 pieces?
I am pretty sure the wet urinary care will be HC.
Try giving her a couple of teaspoons of that, with a drop of honey, if there's gravy in the tin that's where most of the carbs are so a couple of teaspoons of that with some honey.
 
I gave Lily gravy 2 teaspoons of gravy and granulated sugar that was melted into water. at 11:29 PM. Then at 12:10 AM I gave Lily more gravy from catfood and mixed honey. Checked her blood last at 12:33 AM eastern time.
 
What you want is to get the BG up and make sure BG remains above 50.
Two important maxims to remember-


“Feed the 40s”

However take care not to over feed - you need her to be willing to eat later in the cycle if numbers dip again after the carbs wear off.

“Better a day too high than an hour too low”
 
The carbs from the honey/gravy can wear off so we want to see her numbers continuing to rise.
It's good that she's above 50now but this is not necessarily over yet.

See you @+5.5
 
Just wanted to add that if she has dropped down and is in the 50s I would give her some more of the Glycobalance 14%n an attempt to push her numbers up and give you a bit more of a buffer.
 
How are you doing?
Did you get that +5.5yet?
Bet you're relieved you got all those strips earlier today.

Keeping our paws crossed she's still up.
 
Great.
That's two test on the rise, but important not to become complacent as they can still bobble about as the gravy/honey wears off.

I would biggest some LC now, and check again in 45min to an hour.
So +6.25 or +6.5
Set an alarm just in case you fall asleep, I would set my alarm on my phone and put it across the room because I have been known to turn it off in my sleep.
 
Will Lily be ok through the rest of the night? I feed her at 8 am ish, between 8am and 9am. So roughly in about 6 hours.
She could still drop when the carbs wear off, that can take up to 2hours, since you have her 14% at +5 we will know for sure by +7

She may of course bounce, by the time you get the next test at +6.5 and give you permission to go to bed sooner,
 
I'm just going to go and get George's +2,and feed the rest of my furry crew. I will be back shortly, just wanted to let you know so you don't think I've abandoned you if I don't reply immediately.
 
I think she just gave you permission to go to bed. Looks like a bounce.

She may be quite high in the morning don't worry about it, and more importantly you need to take the reduction down to 1.25u, even if the amps is high.

If you are home I would also suggest getting a test in sometime in the morning, just to see how she's doing. If she is below 200 in the morning stall, don't feed and post here for advice before shooting.

Well done on keeping her safe.
 
Wow, Thank you for all your help and support @Gill & George !!!! And Thank you to everyone else helping Lily & I survive the night! @Wendy&Neko, @majandra, @Bron and Sheba, @Sandy and Black Kitty !!!! cat_wings>o You all are very kind! Thankful for this site!

Hope you and Lily get some good sleep (little as it may be) tonight :bighug:

Thank you @Barbara & Uncle (GA)!!! :cat:

14Sh.gif
 
Some housekeeping for once you've had some sleep. It's not urgent.
Good job getting those numbers on the ss, but I would suggest a little rearranging so that it properly reflects what happened.
At the moment on the ss you have the test that you did at +3.5 in the +4 column, that test needs to also go in the +3 column along with the test you also did at +3, just stack them one above another. Then move the +4.5 into the +4 column and put the +5 and +5.66 (4 hrs 40min) in the +5 column and so on with the later tests you got.

Also while it's fresh in your mind it might be helpful to you to make a note of what you fed and when, you could keep a record of that on the comments section of the ss. This is something I did/do regularly it helps me (and others viewing the ss) track the effect his food on his BG. Which is helpful info going forward.

But get some sleep first.
 
Wow, I missed all the "fun"!

Definitely be careful with dosing, shooting times, etc. Read the stickies for guidance, but use your own instincts as well. Reading and rereading the stickies helps too, as you may have missed or forgotten some information from your first read. Thankfully all of these nice people here are quick responsers. Next time you're in a crisis just make sure Lily gets her numbers up--that's priority. You don't need to worry about little nuances in different foods, you don't have to worry about "messing things up" for the future. You just need to get her in the safe zone. Kibble, gravy, honey...whatever you have on hand. Feed, test, feed, test. At least that's what my main focus would be. Worry about the rest after she's safe.

Crisis averted for now it seems. Whew! And hey, now you've learned how to treat a low numbers incidence! You get +5 experience points. ;]
 
Good morning majandra! Lily and I are doing good. Her number was 693. Super Sleepy! I hope you got some sleep! I started a new post for today. I'll be working with a 1.25 dose for a little bit and see how Lily does. :cat:
 
Back
Top