2/5, Boomer, AMPS - 71 & Update (long)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traci and Boomer

Member Since 2009
Ooohhh Boy. I gave him the full dose of .4, no BCS today because I saw a bounce in the next cycle when I did this 2 days ago. I left an entire 5 oz can of FF out for him so he'll have enough chow. It's pretty nerve-wracking to be honest. Maybe it was a little crazy to give him that much at 71.

If he hypos while I'm at work will I be able to tell later by him PM number? It's so tough to know what to do in situations.

My new mission is "Operation LOWER Carb" - meaning I'm trying to transition him to pate food instead of the 10-carb FF gravy pouches. He used to be a crack addict for gravy food and hi-carb cat treats. I've gotten him off the treats, now I need to get him on the lowest carb food. I've discovered he's a poultry and beef guy and though he prefers gravy he's been eating some pate. Also FF in 5 oz cans is so much cheaper. If he eats 2 cans a day that's about $1.

My BF Dave has been able to slowly transition Patches (stray calico, dog-loving cat) to coming in the house when it's too cold out. It's going well and she's been in a lot.
His drooler Princess has a tumor on her adrenal gland and he's been waiting about a week to get test results to see exactly what she has. She's 15 and in remarkable shape for a larger dog. They sent the tests to TN and it's taking a while. I'm nervous about what it will be. he just lost another senior drooler in November but Princess is his favorite and when she goes it will be very hard on him.
 
Good job shooting today! You shot almost the same number over the weekend and had a very pretty blue-but-mostly-green surf. Boomer will be great!

A couple of thoughts about the food plan.... I'd do this gradually and when you are home to test. There are a couple of newbies here who are shifting over from dry to canned foods and there is a clear impact of the food change on BG levels and you don't want to ignore the effect of carbs on Boomer's numbers. While the pouches are technically LC, you could be cutting the carb count at least in half with some of the FF varieties. I'd also mix the pouch and canned types together so it's a gentler transition both on the carbs and so Boomer doesn't get too finicky about the canned food. Check around -- there are coupons for the new FF pate varieties (they repackaged them and are now called "Classic").

What a good DBF to take care of Patches! I hope you both hear something soon about Princess. Waiting can be so hard!
 
OOOPPPPPS!!!! :o I meant 5 oz cans of Friskies!!!! Sorry. Silly me.

Sienne- good idea about mixing the pate with the gravy pouches instead of doing it "straight".

I really hope he's ok while I'm gone. He went down to 52 when I did this over last weekend. :shock:
 
Lydia,

Is your cat Basil (the herb) or Basil (the city)?

I used to live in CT, that's where I grew up...southern CT - Cheshire. Do you live near there?
 
I got home from work at +10.5 and he was at 64.
I fed him because there was food left in his bowl and by PMPS he was 112.
I'm going to watch him carefully tonight because I think he could drop a lot.

WCR-seems fine. Hungry, whining and a little fussy, like usual. He's sitting on my lap while I type. Love that. :smile:
 
Good luck with the food transition....it will be good to get him on the lower carbs...
You certainly have a lot of concerns going on....hoping you get some good news about Princess...
wishing you well.... :YMHUG:
 
Boomer sure does have a pretty spreadsheet. :mrgreen:

Will you be able to get some spot checks this weekend? I'm wondering if we might be missing some dose reduction signals.
 
Hi Libby-

It's SO NICE to see Lucy's face in Boomer's condo again! Yay!
Yup, I'll be able to spot check this weekend. I was thinking the same thing, he may be ready to go a smidge lower. I'll get some tonight too. Thanks!
 
Re: 2/5, Boomer, PMPS=112

+1-117

He didn't have much of a food spike. It's normally goes much higher. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top