2/4 Sami PMPS 66; Mini Meals are the Bomb

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
If you read Yesterday’s Condo, you will see that some people think an apology is in order. Well, after re-reading my original post and the subsequent posts, I don’t think that is the case. I feel I was perfectly clear in my original post as to why I fed the HC when I did and when Sienne wrote that she didn’t understand my rationale. I started to wonder if she really read my post, which is why I responded the way I did, and then proceeded to explain it again. I didn’t want to offend her by just saying “Did you read my post!” so I preempted it with “I don’t mean to be rude”. I guess by doing so everyone else thought I was rude.

I totally get that everyone is just trying to help, but what I don’t understand is why so many people are so dead set on telling everyone what they are doing WRONG. Sure it is important to point out a better option, but it isn’t necessary to downgrade the decision of the Bean. I have seen this on more than just my posts, and I am wondering if other people feel the same way I do.

Now if I had simply stated that I gave Sami HC food at 60 and left it at that, then Sienne’s would have been totally in the right to post what she did, but I just didn’t understand why she was so confused since I specifically said that I was second guessing myself.

Sienne had given me some great advice a few days ago about feeding the curve and the quantity of food that is given at each step. I had totally screwed up and had let Sami eat nearly 1½ cans of LC food and when her number was still dropping and I wanted to give her some MC food but she wasn’t hungry and wouldn’t eat it. Sienne pointed out that I should have given her smaller amounts of LC food so if the number continued to drop she would still eat. That said, I highly respect Sienne’s advice, but again I was just perplexed as to why she thought I was in the wrong, when I specifically stated why I had done what I had done.

That said; let’s move on to the reason for this condo.

Sami had a great night, and I finally got some sleep. I implemented the mini meals last night and I think it was a big hit. Yes, it was more work on my part to properly divide the food and then having to call everyone back to the table 6 times, but it was a lot easier than getting up 6 times during the night or having to stay up past my bedtime to monitor a dropping number.

She was at a stable 94 before I went to bed, and my plan was to sleep right through to AMPS. I did leave out another can of food when I went to bed because I was nervous, and then at 2:00 am my FAT cat woke me up because he was hungry so I got up and put another 3 oz can out. It might take awhile to get him out of the habit of eating in the middle of the night.

This morning Sami is starting just about where she was at yesterday’s AMPS, so it will be interesting to see how the mini meals affect her numbers today.

Happy Thursday Everyone!
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; Follow-up to Yesterday's Condo

First, we do not need to "quote" every post we receive or respond to every individual that posts in our condo. This has caused problems on the board in the past with crashes. Cleaning up LL refers to this problem. Second, if you do not agree with "suggestions" you receive that is fine. No need to respond, just ignore them. ECID and yes, it is your cat to treat as you feel necessary or comfortable with. Everyone is here for one reason, we have sugarcats. Yes, we all receive suggestions and can make our own decisions based on our comfort level and experience. It is not necessary to cause conflict or hard feelings.

I hope you and Sami have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; Follow-up to Yesterday's Condo

Happy Thursday to you too Tina....sorry you didn't get to sleep through the night.
Hope you have a good day today.
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; Follow-up to Yesterday's Condo

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Happy Thursday to you too Tina....sorry you didn't get to sleep through the night.
Hope you have a good day today.

Trust me; it was much better than setting the alarm every hour. And typically, even before the whole diabetes, I could never sleep through the entire night without waking up, so getting 4+ hours in a row was actually fantastic. Hopefully as I re-train my kitties when meal time is I will have less interruptions with my sleep.
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +5 56; Mini Meals are the Bomb

Looks like the mini meals are doing wonders for Sami. Yesterday at +3 she was 171, and today she is at 87. I am sure that yesterday’s morning spike was food related. Yesterday, she was given a full can of food at her AMPS, I don’t think she ate it all, but she did eat most of it. Today, she has been having mini meals of 1/6 can of Fancy Feast. I know some give ¼ can 4 times, but for me it is easier to do 1/6 cat 6 times because I have 5 cats and it is easier to divide the can into an even number than an odd. I usually split the extra up and give it to the first two or three cats that finish their first 1/6 can, trying to give it to different kitties each can.

Here is how I have the time schedule set up for the morning:

AMPS -5:15 am – 1/6 can
6:00 am – 1/6 can
7:00 am – 1/6 can
8:00 am – 1/6 can
9:00 am – 1/6 can
10:00 am – 1/6 can

Sami’s low during the day has been between +6 and +8, so I will probably continue to test during this time to make sure she doesn’t go too low, and will have LC food available if needed.

At night, Sami’s low is earlier in her cycle, between +3 and +5, so I have the Mini Meals set up a little differently. Plus, I would like to go to bed by 9:30 or 10:00 pm so all meals need to be done before then.

PMPS -5:15 pm – 1/6 can
6:00 pm – 1/6 can
6:30 pm – 1/6 can
7:00 am – 1/6 can
8:00 am – 1/6 can
9:00 am – 1/6 can
Leave out an additional can split up in 5 bowls. Sami’s bowl, which is on the counter, gets 1/3 of the can. Typically, the other cats don’t get on the counter so I can be fairly sure that she will eat it if she needs it.

I am really hoping these mini meals stabilize her BG enough to keep her surfing the greens all the time. I know how important this is to achieving OTJ status.
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +5 56; Mini Meals are the Bomb

Sami is doing so nicely, wow! Your SS opens to those yucky reds and now look at it with all the pretty greens and blues.

I meant to say this yesterday... are you sure you get any sleep? Both cycles on your SS have very complete testing numbers and I don't see much area for sleeping. It almost looks like two people are doing the testing. Hey, have you figured out how to get Sami to self-test at night? Hahahaha!!! :lol:

I read your explanation of waking up often even before Sami's diagnosis, but still this is a lot of awake time and you have to go to work in the morning. Yikes!

Seriously, take care of yourself ok? (I know, I know, I'm not your mom, hee, hee!) :roll:
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +5 56; Mini Meals are the Bomb

Sorry, Tina, I don't feel like you do at all when it comes to advice in replies because I am here to learn and share. I value the advice of others, and if my actions or methods are questioned, I gladly and willingly and eagerly share them. Who knows? They may be valid or they may need to be adjusted.
By sharing your reasoning, you may well receive some invaluable data which can be put to use in tweaking your ways.
I welcome any and all criticism; good and bad, I take it all because every little bit helps my cat.
I am puzzled by the use of words like downgrading others' decisions; I see much more positive posts all over the place, so I must be missing all the bad postings.
You did ask what others thought/felt, and so this reply is in response to your post.
Negativity is defeating.

To know the road ahead, ask the man coming back.
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +5 56; Mini Meals are the Bomb

CD and BigMac said:
Sami is doing so nicely, wow! Your SS opens to those yucky reds and now look at it with all the pretty greens and blues.

I meant to say this yesterday... are you sure you get any sleep? Both cycles on your SS have very complete testing numbers and I don't see much area for sleeping. It almost looks like two people are doing the testing. Hey, have you figured out how to get Sami to self-test at night? Hahahaha!!! :lol:

I read your explanation of waking up often even before Sami's diagnosis, but still this is a lot of awake time and you have to go to work in the morning. Yikes!

Seriously, take care of yourself ok? (I know, I know, I'm not your mom, hee, hee!) :roll:

Wouldn't it be nice if they could test themself. Yes, I have been sleeping between tests. I have gotten it down to a science. I can wake up get the test and get back to bed within about 5 minutes. Sami has been great about hearing me get up and she is usually waiting in the kitchen for me by the time I get down the stairs.

With as tired as I have been the last few days falling back to sleep quickly has been easy to do. Yes, work has been a little tough, but after two cups of coffee in the morning I am good. Monday, I only had one cup and by the end of the day I was exhausted, and went home and took a nap. The last couple of days I have had too cups and have been much better. Still not the best, I know I need my sleep, but I also know that the midnight testing ritual is only temporary.
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +8 54; Mini Meals are the Bomb

Sami has been surfing the mid 50's all afternoon. I am even more interested to see where she goes for PMPS. I am going to test again in an hour to see where she is at +10, knowing that she could possibly drop again before PMPS.
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +8 54; Mini Meals are the Bomb

Well, that's just perfect surfing. Maybe Sami should enter a surfing contest, oh wait I forgot, kitties don't like to get wet. :lol:
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +10 53; Mini Meals are the Bomb

I am really quite amazed at Sami's Surf today. Now at +10 she is still in the low 50's. She has been surfing the 50 since +5 this morning.

At this point, I am expecting her to rise a little before her PMPS. If nothing else she should rise a little from the car ride home, but my concern is that she is still going to be much lower than what I have shot before. The lowest I have shot at PMPS is a 77 and that was when Sami was getting a full can of food at once. I am just hoping that the new food schedule works okay. Plus, she didn't surf the 50's all day that day either.

I really don't want to have to stall her shot, but since the weekend is coming I guess I could stall a little. I also don't particularly want to decrease her dose unless she has earned it, but I am really nervous about shooting a full dose with a PMPS in the 50's.

Any suggestions on what to do if this happens?
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +10 53; Mini Meals are the Bomb

Oh, and I forgot to mention that she seems really hungry right now. I was eating some Cheez-its and she wanted some, didn't give her any though. She still has an hour and a half before she gets the first part of her dinner.
 
Re: 2/4 Sami AMPS 127; +10 53; Mini Meals are the Bomb

A lot can change in an hour and a half....so don't worry about shooting the 50's yet. You can post your ps number if it is too low and you are not comfortable shooting.
 
Sami was 59 at + 11 and 66 at PMPS so I went ahead and shot the full 1.25 dose at shot time. I will be around to monitor tonight and I am ready if she does go too low, but if all goes like it previously has she should be find. For some reason she doesn't drop as much from the lower numbers as she could from a higher number. Not sure how that works though.
 
nice shooting, Sami is looking great all of a sudden! She must have gotten a new little wetsuit and wants to just keep surfin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top