2/4 Ruby AMPS 132/+7 129/PMPS 58/+3 63

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-3-ruby-amps-140-3-141-6-123-pmps-102-2-106.258835/

The cats were home alone today, and the sitter came and tested Ruby at +7. All seemed fine until I got home and Ruby was yowling for food. Did the PMPS test and understood why. Eeep. Decided not to futz with her dosing as I feel that backfires on me. Hopefully she will go up from here.

Hi Katherine, I hope you can get to the bottom of why Ruby has darker poop than usual and why it tarry. Do you see any blood in it?
Katherine I know nothing about this, just trying to help out I googled this about adequan injection and found this
Says it can cause dark tarry stool
https://www.petmd.com/pet-medication/polysuflated-glycosaminoglycan
Thank you, Diane, for that link. I don't know why I didn't google it. :banghead: I don't know if there is blood, the poop is too dark to tell. Will have to pick up the poop with some paper towels right after she does it to see. I guess I didn't think that Ruby would be one of those 1 in 1000 cats who would have a reaction to Adequan. Now I am not sure how to proceed. Have to write to the vet. She seems to be doing really well on it, GI issues aside. I hunted high and low for her last night and found her in a shelf in the walk-in closet, carefully camouflaged. She never went up that high before.

upload_2022-2-4_21-5-21.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-2-4_21-5-21.jpeg
    upload_2022-2-4_21-5-21.jpeg
    47.3 KB · Views: 112
You mean that you just decided to keep her dose at 3? I think with a 58 you’re right.

It seems like Ruby is really feeling good and jumping high. You don’t really think the Adequan has caused blood in her intestines, do you?
 
You mean that you just decided to keep her dose at 3? I think with a 58 you’re right.

It seems like Ruby is really feeling good and jumping high. You don’t really think the Adequan has caused blood in her intestines, do you?
Not sure. Further investigation has told me that it can lead to bleeding, but the watery bloody vomits happened before the Adequan.
 
Could this be dose dependent? I will be interested to hear what the vet says.
There are lots of different protocols for administering Adequan, all with widely varying dosages and frequencies. The one suggested by the vet is 2.5 mg per pound (for Ruby, .3 mls) twice a week for 4 weeks, then once a week for a month and then once a month. I'll give her another dose on Sunday, and then see what the vet says about what to do after that.
 
This is really upsetting. It’s so awful. Ruby responds well to the Adequan and is feeling so great she’s jumping higher than she has for years. And we now think the Adequan may be causing GI bleeding! I’m sad.
 
There are lots of different protocols for administering Adequan, all with widely varying dosages and frequencies. The one suggested by the vet is 2.5 mg per pound (for Ruby, .3 mls) twice a week for 4 weeks, then once a week for a month and then once a month. I'll give her another dose on Sunday, and then see what the vet says about what to do after that.
Yes. I was just thinking …. and hoping there was a way to keep her on the Adequan that helped her so much and yet not cause GI problems. I have hope still.
 
But her ultrasound was good. I don’t get it. Does she take regular slippery elm?
I give SEB as needed when she has nausea. I try not to give it too much as it really bulks up her poos, but maybe I should think about putting it into her food right now as it does coat the stomach and intestinal linings. You are always full of good ideas, Suzanne. Thank you. ❤️
 
Hi Katherine, maybe it's not the adequan at all. I wonder if you bring the poop into your vet to see if there is any blood in it.
Good idea to pick it up with paper towel and check it out.
See what your vet says. Hopefully it's not the adequan since she is doing so well on it. Just look at that little cutie hiding in the closet, . I hope I didn't upset you by showing you that link
You said she had watery bloody vomits before the adequan?
What did your vet have to say about that
 
The Adequan protocol you’re on is the one we’ve used too here, no problems.

Have you filed our hyperT recently with Ruby? I only wonder bc I know it can cause frequent vomiting and I’m looking for possible causes outside the IBD/SCL - Cricket threw up allll the time before she was on meds - and I wonder if the frequency of vomiting episodes is bringing on the blood. Unless we are talking about a LOT of blood at one time like bright or dark red. I’m that case, have you done a CBC recently to check her hematocrit levels?
 
Not at all, Diane! So grateful to you for looking out for me and my Ruby all the time! :bighug: I did not even fathom that Adequan could cause this reaction. I even consulted Ruby's oncologist about it before giving it to her.
Maybe it's not the adequan ,let's see what your vet thinks about. Next time she poops and you can grab it right away with the paper towel to see if there is any blood let us know, try not to get nervous ok :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
SCL can also cause GI bleeding. Was it dark before Adequan?
Yes, it was.

@Margaret (and Pearl) I did ask the oncologist about her bloodwork to see if it showed any signs of anemia and she said none at all. Ruby's labs are updated on her spreadsheet. There's nothing of concern there. She has not have a hyperT test in a long while, maybe something to bring up with the oncologist at our next visit in March, but I have a strong suspicion it's the SCL and not thyroid issues.
 
Back
Top