2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389 +5 402

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88338

amps 261
gonna shoot .25 skinny (which after reading and looking at pictures) i think ive been doing anyway
oh hate that he only eats when he wants, hope he feels ok.
gonna get a +2 seems worse this morning, like he doesnt feel good.
bf wicked jerk, how will stress effect ruben, seriously concidering moving in w/ mom but afraid of how it will effect little ruben. she has a big scary dog, so he would be stuck in my room, til we could take down a wall so that he would have two rooms....

just want to do the best for him
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 AT-not eating

If your BF doesn't care about Ruben's well-being, he's a JERK :evil:

MJ
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 AT-not eating

Morning Sam

You and MJ did great last night. I'm sorry he isn't eating today...darn! But I think you need to try and get the .25u in him...skinnying it won't make a difference if he's not eating. I know you are doing your best and you are really stepping up to the plate for him. What meds are you giving him now? If you've stopped something, maybe it was helping him feel better.

I'm with MJ. Before I met Mike, my BFs had to pass the cat test :-D if my cats didn't like them or they didn't like my cats, then I ditched them cuz I assumed they lacked compassion and caring.....which is important for a lifelong mate to have. And my Prince Charming came along :-D
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 AT-not eating

i know, thats why i want to leave- worried about the stress of it on ruben
he does love ruben but to self absorbed to help ruben or me. i was up til 5 w ruben, at 7am i asked if he could open a can of food for him and he said some stupid commen and left, never got food for ruben, this is on top of other things since ruben got sick
little ruben isn feeling well, think i may give him some bupe later. he's on my lap now, looking pathetic, and don't want o move him
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 AT-not eating

Does he tend to seem more blah in the morning vs. evening? What is his meds schedule?
Just thinking, for example, that for cats that get pukey in the morning, it is recommended to get Pepcid on board the evening before. It might help.

MJ
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 AT-not eating

he gets appy stimulan every 3 days, zofran 1 evry 12 hous and bupe when needed, they didnt syt anything about pepsid, i hate putting all this med in his little system....i will and do just feel bad. he's just laying here on my lap, poor thing. i havent noticed if a.m. or p.m. is better. he seemed a little worse starting last night.
praying and manifesting, what am i gonna do when i go back to work? sick over this
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 AT-not eating

he was sitting near his newmans organic so i took a few kibbles (about 15-20) and put them on the floor and he's eating them, just checked only ate like 5 pieces..ugh. i know, not what he should be eating but its all he's showed any interest in.
things gotta get better for him and I, they just have to. gonna give a small amout of bupe-should i wait til after my +2 reading?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

+2 183
gonna give gl w tiny bit karo, only cause he's not really eating and if he onlky takes a lick or two i want it to count, gonna wait 2min if someone has input, then im gonna give bupe
good plan?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

I'd give him the bupe on the schedule the vet recommended...every 8 hours? It doesn't matter when you give it in relation to the testing. I'm just wondering if he has underlying pain ...cats are so good at hiding it.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

ugh, he was better yesterday, he seems worse today...i hate this..sigh
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

Just wanted to stop by and say hi, I have been lurking but did not want to interrupt the posting. Just wanted to say your bf is a jerk if he doesn't understand your love for Ruben, kick him to the curb hahahaha! Prayers and healing and appy vines being sent your way!
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

i want to, but worried about moving ruben and i into my moms, don't want to stress ruben out, so im just buying my time for ruben's sake.....oh life why do you throw curve balls
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

gave half can of gl with tiny teeny bit of karo gonna check in an hour/ unless youall think i should tst sooner? i havent been able to get a ketone test yet, can a cat still develope them if his numbers are realitivly ok?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

Is he acting nauseous? Has he puked recently?

Can you re-list all of the meds he is on and approximate schedule for them?

MJ
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

no he doesnt seem nausea
zofran - every 12 hrs
bupe as needed ( didnt give any yesterday- seemed better gonaa give some today tho
mertz(appy stimulant) once every 3 days
and obviously insulin
i cant tell you all how much it kills me when he doesnt feel well. im better today (emotionally) than i have been, but its that sinking pit i get whe i test. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile manifesting good numbers, gonna try to happy dance for him to see if that cheers him up dancing_cat :roll:
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

These *are* good numbers. Almost identical to last night's PMPS and +2. I understand you're worried he'll drop lower since he's not eating as much today, but again, he's on a very small dose. Why don't you try testing at the same times as last night and see if the pattern holds. If you see it dropping too fast, you can think about adding more food +-karo.

MJ
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

MJ thanks for being here
i just gave him some bupe- i dont think he does well on it so reduced his dose a little
will test at +3
whe i gave him the bupe he didnt even flinch at the needle< he always does, he really doesn't feel good?
:cry:
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

I know you are worried but try not to give the karo unless he's either coming down really fast and is getting lower. So if he's coming down maybe 60 mg/dL and is getting to the 150 range, try the GL alone first. Retest in 30 mins. Then try it again, retest in 30 mins. If he's still coming down fast, then you could add the karo. Try not to reach for the karo first thing....it could be upsetting his tummy.

The bupe isn't a reason to skinny his dose ;-) :-D :-D

Is he dehydrated? Maybe he could use some fluids?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

Here's Ruben/s 2/3 Condo.

Sam....many of us, including me, dose using Digital Calipers. It really makes the dosing much more consistent. Let me know if you want details. I've done a post on how to dose with them but I can help you with any questions, too.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 AT-not eating

i only put skinnied the dose, cause after looking at the pics last night, i think thats what i've been doing all along- he drop 78points, thats why i added karo, but i know different now, thank marje- when i test in 10min i will try to check his gums< thats how i check for hydration right, i push on them and see if the pink color rushes back in, correct?
will you adopt me ane ruben marje? we wont be any trouble... :smile: :roll: jk just want to go back to being a kid when i felt the saftey of mom and home.
mom you still make me feel safe, just saying it was simpler then. could use that now.
but i will keep my big girl pants onh, just need to vent, it helps
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

+3 222
i checked gums/ i dont know what im looking for, it was hard to check they didnt seem pink pink but they wern't grey, so im not sure? i havnet noticed a lot of drinking? but ive been adding water to his food
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

To check for dehydration, rub your finger over his gum. If it's slick, then he's not dehydrated. If it's tacky (your finger sticks more to it), then he is. Also, lift up his scruff....let it go. It should all immediately go back into place. If it's slow moving back or doesn't go all the way back, he's dehydrated.

I did read that in your condo after I posted....sorry. We need to try and remember to post the link to your previous condo early on because things happen that are important ;-) I should have read it first thing this morning but hadn't had enough ~O) ~O) ~O) yet when I wanted to check on you all.

A big big thank you to MJ for staying up with you last night when my eyes were slamming shut. Hope you all got some rest.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

ive never felt a cats gums before, im not sure- the scruff test seemed ok, his gums when i pushed on them seemed a bit tackey, i can't say for positive. but when i slid my finger i coulnt tell ( is i a difinitve tacky feeling)?

i try to link my last condo but when i do the link doesnt work, i ll try again now.

ill check his gums again when i do his bg test, should i do 1hr or 1 1/2hrs?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

Okay, now edit the first post in this thread and copy and paste your link to yesterday's condo, there.
That way, if we ever want to click back through time, one day at a time, we can find that link to yesterday right at the top of the page each day.

Try rubbing your fingers on your own gums. Do his feel like yours?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

oh thats a good action step, my gums feel wetter and slippier, his were a bit dry and not so slick< thats good, right?
i figured out why my links weren't working, i wsn't using the url thingy at the top and putting the link in beween, oh so much to learn
marje- how does that digital caliper work? couldnt find a link in here, but im not good with navigating yet, learning that too.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

On the link in your first post, the second [ needs to be moved to just before the /url] then it should be clickable.

I use the calipers and they take a while to learn, but really do help in consistant dosing. That and a good pair of reading glasses or magnifyer.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

dyana and mj thank you.
f i n a l l y got ketone test = negative oh thank you god
glucose read neg? i was so focused on ketones maybe i counted wrong, either way no ketones
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

YaY for negative ketones. I think it's 15 seconds for the ketones and 30 seconds for the glucose.

When is your next test?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

gonna test now, but he's nibbling again (lc) thank goodness for appy stimulant

i really appreciate everyone who is checking in on me, im trying to find my way, not only around this disease but this forum as well, im like a slow snowball rolling down hill, once i get up to speed, i wont be so needy. i just think everything is complicated by the fact that he's sick on top of diabetis. and im feeling fragile myself, bad combo, but thinking positive
things will be okay, just gotta find confidence in myslef. < working on that :smile:
brb with results
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 AT-not eating

+4 152
he just ate some lc food so not going to take action gonna test in an hour, think his ears are bothering him, he growled at me, and honestly hto im working on it, im sure im not the best yet, more concerned about getting blood to get reading then being delicate.
 
2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222, +4 152 AT

Good. You can update the first Subject Line like the way I updated this Subject Line, so all lurking or helping can follow along, at a glance of the list of condos. He's eating now, right, so you can take the "not eating" off?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 +4 152 AT

i think i may wait to do a +6, give ruben and I a little break, if anyone thinks this is a bad idea and i should test at+5 let me know
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 +4 152 AT

He just came down 70 points in the last hour. I would test again at +5. Sorry.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 +4 152 AT

dont be sorry, i appreciate it, im never sure, going to test in five min then
brb
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 +4 152 +5 199 AT

+5 199
yay lc he ate
so thinking i can push next test to +8? since he may be on the up swing?
feeling that, that is ok.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 +4 152 +5 199 AT

how long does gl last in the fridge with a lid on it? just found a can that's prolly a week old?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 +2 183 +3 222 +4 152 +5 199 AT

Blech. Most of my cats won't touch a can that's been open a few hours, nevermind a week. If it was frozen, it might be OK, but fridge... I'd probably toss it.

MJ
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben +3 222 +4 152 +5 199 +8 203 AT

+8 203
not much of a pick up, at least its not a drop, just thought he should be higher by now. dont want to have another night like the last 2, but will see.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben AMPS 261 AT-not eating

Sorry I haven't really been on for a few days. I'm not on here too much on the weekends plus it was Superbowl and my brother's birthday yesterday. But, I've still been following you on my phone. ;-) It lets me read posts but it just doesn't let me comment. :roll:

One thing I wanted to mention is that I also was wanting to know the same thing about what's so special with KFC? Luckily, Mikey has a voracious appetite so I've never had to worry about getting food into him, but if I ever had to, I've also hoped that I wouldn't have to go the KFC route for similar reasons.

RubenTheCat said:
i know, thats why i want to leave- worried about the stress of it on ruben
he does love ruben but to self absorbed to help ruben or me. i was up til 5 w ruben, at 7am i asked if he could open a can of food for him and he said some stupid commen and left, never got food for ruben, this is on top of other things since ruben got sick

I'm dealing with similar issues with my brother (who lives with me while he's finishing his last semester of college). He's told me numerous times that I can't rely on him for mid-day testing when he's home and I'm at work so I've had to waste my lunch and my gas driving home to test Mikey. (Although to be fair, there have been a couple of occasions where he's actually done it for me!) He also often tells me I should donate Michelangelo to science. :o I know he loves Michelangelo, but I think he's just tired of my (mostly) single-minded obsession.

A lot of people (including my brother) have a mindset that animals are less worthy than humans in the sense that they'd save an unknown human tied to the railroad tracks over their own pet. For me, I hope I never have to make that decision because I have a feeling that the human wouldn't make it.... Because of this, they also have a tendency to not be as attentive or compassionate when it comes to their (or others') sick pets. Just as ECID, EHID (Every Human Is Different). This does not generally reflect how they would treat others (like their own kids), but only on how they view animals. They just have a lower threshold on what they're willing to do. I think this is also the reason so many vets don't push home-testing: a lot of owners would surrender or PTS if they got both the diabetes diagnosis and having to give shots on top of having to test multiple times a day.

It gets to me, but at the same time, I remind myself, "this is my cat and I can do whatever the hell I want with him with or without my brother's support." Yes, it would be better if he were more supportive (or supportive at all), but I've got plenty of support to make up for it from all the people here! :YMHUG: I'm a strong, independent woman who has made my own way in life and I've been doing just fine these last few months without him. Same with you: these last few weeks, you've been doing just fine without your bf's support!

But is it worth throwing in the towel or is it something you can accept and realize that he's just not going to be here for you in matters relating to Ruben? Or is it important to you that your SO has the same regard for life, both human and animal, as you do?

And if you ever want to move to California, I have a spare bedroom opening up in a couple of months when my brother graduates. :lol:
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben +3 222 +4 152 +5 199 +8 203 AT

kpassa-wow
no words
thank you for that
i know i should leave, ive known for a long time. just always to chicken to do it. we own a home together, complications...ugh, and he's veg thats why i stayed and so suprised at this situation. we've been together 14yrs. just a big scaredy cat to leave and now that i have my excuse to jump, i feel stuck in order to whats best
gotta just focus on ruben for now
i know this forum is about helping our DC's but this pep talk filled with, positivity, warmth and love does help ruben, cause it focuses me back on what matters.
kpassa and all the people here have tremendously helped me, help ruben
one day at a time. just keeping the peace for now
and if i could i would love to see cali.
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353

pmps 353
wonder why high, will get a +2 ( picking food throughout the day, but wont eat at shot time) gonna give more pain med, seems uncomfortable gonna give zofran a little later, give hima brake. How long does pancratitus last? when should i go back to vet/ how long to wait?
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353

squekey i love your positive energy, always makes me smile
marje- not worse, just the same. little dip today tho but i had cut back on frequency of his pain med- but back on track with that decreased dose-think he does better, well see about tomorrow. :-|
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353

Sam, when you get a chance can you update Ruben's profile to show his current health issues and meds?
Sorry he's still feeling blah, but I hope you're a bit more comfortable shooting insulin now. His numbers have been pretty steady for several cycles, aside from the PMPS hiccup.

MJ
 
Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353

thank you ive been controlling the numbers, im grateful everyday i don't have to shoot low..lol still nervous all the time nailbite_smile have to find my confidence
at the moment i'm just concerned with how crappy he feels, breaks my heart. ill update ruben ss. its possible pancreatitus. all blood work has come back good. didn't test for pancreatitus cause there treating for it anyway, the test is $115 and i could use tthat money for a feeding tube if necessary. ultra sound came back ok. had wicked reaction to purina dm (or so i think) on 1/21 the day of dx, hasn't really been the same since-but got reall bad last tue. < i think gotta check the date. sigh, wish i loved him less..it kills me to see him just laying there :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top