Re: 2/4 Ruben pmps 353 +2 389
RichNW & Rex said:
Hello kpassa & Sam,
Sorry to be chiming in, but Sam you are doing great! I feel the same way! Our furry family members give us unconditional love and depend on us. In return I feel it is my responsibility to speak up for their well being! I could be wrong, but my other half thinks I'm going overboard staying up so late and testing every 2 hours when his BG was low. (but felt validated by our new vet when she said my testing looked great and she new about FDMB) He loves Rex, but I have an overwhelming desire to learn as much as I can to keep Rex healthy, happy, and comfortable. I also second, your praises for the online community!! I don't feel like I am crazy for my commitment to Rex. I feel like I am heard and understood.
Sorry to ramble, but I wanted to share
P.S. I much rather be on FDMB than Facebook!!
That is so awesome that your vet already knew about FDMB! Usually, when that happens, you hear the dreaded words, "you can't believe everything you read on
the internet." (Lamest commercial, btw, that makes me
not want to use whatever product they're selling because they're so out of touch they don't even realize what amazing information is now available at just a few strokes on the keyboard. FDMB is the Wikipedia of feline diabetes!)
You are not wrong! Rex is
your cat, and as I told Sam, you can do whatever you want! Is someone going to tell you you're not allowed to take your car in for an oil change or a repair? So then why would they ever feel it appropriate to give advice regarding a
living creature?!? And even if he's not your cat, I still would do whatever I can do to make someone's life better, regardless of whether they're a cat or a person! I've even managed to convince the majority of my friends to switch their feline companions over to wet, low carb food. (Some of them I'm still working on because I don't want to "damn them to hell" for not being believers, but gently coerce them into seeing the errors of their ways.)
As all of our mothers preached to us when they first denied us our childhood longings for a pet, "A pet is a responsibility!" It is absolutely our responsibility the second we became cat owners to do for them as much as we can. A person shouldn't take on that responsibility if "as much as they can" equals out to "feeding them and changing their litter box." I take all of my responsibilities very seriously. When all is said and done, I would like to be able to proudly state that I did everything within my power, my knowledge, and my pocketbook and never gave up. And I expect that to happen when Michelangelo reaches the ripe old age of 92! (Because by then, we'll have bionic cats!)
On a side note, I keep joking to my brother that even though I might not have enough cats (yet), I'm still a
krazy kat lady!