elizabeth and gus
Member Since 2015
Good morning
This morning again low AMPS 122 and I am so afraid to inject. His inappetance makes me nervous and reluctant to inject on low numbers but the big fluctuation in BG numbers must be very tough on my poor GUS. Today we going to start on Cerenia and hopefully this will help with his eating. I try lots of different foods including raw, home made and oregano, tuna juice, parmesan, FortiFlora and mix. Gus will eat and lick little and walks away when I talk to him and use spoon he will eat little more.
He was diagnosed with pancreatitis based on test fPLI 6.7 at that time (3/25) he was not himself (stayed in his bed in the morning) refused to eat and throw up twice after drinking water. At the vet's he got fluids, Cerenia and Famotidine injections. After that he seemed fine reasonably active no loaf position. His kidney markers blood and urine were all within normal ranges ranges (BUN - 32, Crea - 1.7) urine culture - neg, ketons - neg. His was overweight at 18 lbs but now he weights 14.2 lbs since diabetes dx and remains steady.
My intent was to follow SLGS??? is this best way to go for Gus. We inject insulin at 5:00 AM and 5:00 PM I am retired so I am home most of the time. I have all testing supplies, high carb gray food and karo syrup.
Please let me how to adjust his insulin dosing. I am very concerned about low PS numbers we had once hypo incident and I am so afraid to make wrong decision.
Thank you for all you support.
Elizabeth and Gus
This morning again low AMPS 122 and I am so afraid to inject. His inappetance makes me nervous and reluctant to inject on low numbers but the big fluctuation in BG numbers must be very tough on my poor GUS. Today we going to start on Cerenia and hopefully this will help with his eating. I try lots of different foods including raw, home made and oregano, tuna juice, parmesan, FortiFlora and mix. Gus will eat and lick little and walks away when I talk to him and use spoon he will eat little more.
He was diagnosed with pancreatitis based on test fPLI 6.7 at that time (3/25) he was not himself (stayed in his bed in the morning) refused to eat and throw up twice after drinking water. At the vet's he got fluids, Cerenia and Famotidine injections. After that he seemed fine reasonably active no loaf position. His kidney markers blood and urine were all within normal ranges ranges (BUN - 32, Crea - 1.7) urine culture - neg, ketons - neg. His was overweight at 18 lbs but now he weights 14.2 lbs since diabetes dx and remains steady.
My intent was to follow SLGS??? is this best way to go for Gus. We inject insulin at 5:00 AM and 5:00 PM I am retired so I am home most of the time. I have all testing supplies, high carb gray food and karo syrup.
Please let me how to adjust his insulin dosing. I am very concerned about low PS numbers we had once hypo incident and I am so afraid to make wrong decision.
Thank you for all you support.
Elizabeth and Gus