2/4/10 - Bashful - PMPS 362

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresa&Bashful

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5076

Good morning peeps!

Bashful seems to be doing well. I'll be getting some more numbers tonight (I was out last night). Be interesting to see what he's doing on a whole cycle this weekend. The shed seems to be filling and his numbers slowly creeping downward.

Still on Clavamox BID and getting really good at spitting that darned pill back out. Little stinker...LOL Seems like it takes 2 or 3 trys to get it down him. I think he hates those pills worse than he hates the ear pokies and the shots. I'm still giving him probiotics, so we'll see how his stool is today when I get home.

WCR: Eating and drinking well; a little more active and walking around outside, nice coat and loving up the civies.

FYI - I'm taking Bash to stay at the boyfriend beans house starting tonight through Monday (a friend of ours is recuperating from surgery at his house and I'm assisting). I figured it'd be better to keep Bashful with us there, even if he's locked in a bedroom (boyfriend bean has other kitties), than leaving him home alone and only getting AMPS and PMPS numbers. This way I can monitor his BG's regularly through the weekend. I'm a little concerned that this will cause him stress similar to pet stress, but we'll just have to see how he does. Both boyfriend bean and I will be checking on him and spending time with him off and on all day so that he's not feeling isolated in a new place.

Hope all is well in Lantus Land for everyone today! Happy Thursday!

Best,
Theresa & Bashful
 
Re: 2/4/10 - Bashful - AMPS 301

It sounds like a great solution to being away from Bashful for several days. I'd suggest bringing some of his favorite toys as well as something that smells of you so if he's feeling a bit abandoned in a room and can hear you (or the other kitties), he'll be reassured. It's great your DBF is a cat person!

It's good to see the ketones have gone away! I'm wondering if a dosecrease is in Bash's future if you don't see some action soon. He's had some blues at night so at the least, having more checks over the weekend may help to determine if he needs more juice. (And now that I said that, he'll probably have a lovely run of green! Or at least I hope so.)
 
Re: 2/4/10 - Bashful - AMPS 301

Sienne and Gabby said:
He's had some blues at night so at the least, having more checks over the weekend may help to determine if he needs more juice. (And now that I said that, he'll probably have a lovely run of green! Or at least I hope so.)
Hee, hee, this does seem to happen a lot, doesn't it? Threaten to increase the dose and BOOM, the kitty throws out some green! I hope that happens here, but if not, it will be time to increase soon. It would be good to make sure there aren't any greens in-between those preshot numbers.
 
Re: 2/4/10 - Bashful - AMPS 301

Bashful is going away for the weekend....are his bags packed? :lol: I hope it works out ok for you....it can be
stressful when a kitty is in a new place (especially with the other kitties in the other rooms... :lol: )
but you know what?...I agree that if you are there with him you can feel more comfortable with getting his numbers
throughout the day. Sounds as if it will be an adventure anyway....
I wish you well...
and it's so nice of you to go to help out, bless your heart!....hope you have a good weekend! :-D
 
Re: 2/4/10 - Bashful - AMPS 301

But but but....increases SCARE the Momma Bean!! nailbite_smile

Curious about the shooting low thing when I eventually get there - since I am unable to monitor during the workday (because of long commute to work) and 1-3 nights per week when staying overnight at DBF (post shot), how do I handle this? Just do very small increases when I have the ability to monitor and see results at nadir and go from there?? I don't want to be a bad Momma Bean, but at the same time there are some things that are out of my control. I could take Bash with me overnight to DBF - but that means the poor boy would have to travel 45 mins each way several days a week, which seems like it would be more stressful. Not sure how to handle this scheduling predicament. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/4/10 - Bashful - AMPS 301

Bashful is going away for the weekend....are his bags packed?

Yes, I already have a whole list of things I have to take with me:

Cat box
Cat Litter
Cat dishes for food and water
LC and HC FF
Some dry Temptations Treats and Kyro for emergency purposes (just in case)
Syringes
Syringe Container
Insulin
Lancets
2 monitors and lots of strips (one for ketones - one for BG)
Clavamox
Probiotics
Pillow cases that smell like Momma Bean

Oh yeah...and the Cat! LOL

Oy, what a process!
 
Re: 2/4/10 - Bashful - AMPS 301

I used to take Lucy with me to my mom's for the weekend sometimes. Quite a bit more trouble to take her than just to go by myself! I eventually learned to leave an extra litterbox and some of her food (and HC and stuff) there so I mostly had to remember the cat, insulin, and testing stuff. She usually had lower numbers there (often a LOT lower). I don't know if it was because she didn't eat as much or because she was trying to force me to visit her in her room more often by throwing low numbers!

About learning to shoot low, the trick is whenever you ARE home to monitor, you go ahead and shoot and test a lot to get data. Seize any opportunity you can to collect data, so when the time comes that you need to shoot and can't test much, you'll have an idea of what will probably happen.
 
Re: 2/4/10 - Bashful - AMPS 301

You might want to PM Joyce-Tuscany. Joyce takes Tuscany with her when they're spending the evening with friends, traveling a few hours north, and would even take Tuscany on their boat. I bet she has all sorts of travel tips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top