2/3 Sami PMPS 97; +2.5 59; +4 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Sami had a great night. After testing at + 3.75 and finding her at 66, I was concerned that I didn't do her shot right and was wondering if I gave her 1.75 instead of 1.25. So at +4.25 and a BG of 60 I did give her a little HC food just to try to head off a low. She did rise slightly by +5, but then I tested at + 5.5 and she was back down to 56. I gave a little more HC food and by +6 she was back up again. In all I might have given her a teaspoon and a half of HC food so I don't think I screwed up the dose, it was just probably time to start kicking in. And if I look back at Sami's spreadsheet when she was on a 1.5 dose it took a few days for that one to kick in too. I just thought since we were decreasing we would see more stability sooner. I guess that was not the case.

Her AMPS was 123 this morning, after surfing the greens and low blues last night. After giving her morning dose I was a little freaked that she might drop quickly again so I tested at +1.5 and found her at 160, which is normal since she did just have breakfast.

We are off to the office again today. Yesterday, Sami was finding new places to hide, but I think it was just a hide and seek game, because whenever I went looking for her she would let out little cries to tell me where she was. I guess it was more like Marco Polo. I would call her and she would cry out. Cats can do the craziest things.

Anyway, other than our little scare last night things went well. She probably would have earned a dose decrease last night if I had not stepped in with the HC. Should I go ahead and do a dose reduction anyway, or should I see what happens today.

Hope everyone has a great day. It will be another day filled with coffee for me.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami AMPS 124; +1.5 160

Good morning Tina & Sami!! ;-)
I can just picture you two at the office! I wish I could bring Baby & Sadi to the office with me ... but... I am sure they don't wish the same LOL
Great #s Sami is giving you!! Have a beautiful, blessed day!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/3 Sami AMPS 124; +1.5 160

I'm not sure I understand your rationale for feeding HC last night. Were you trying to avoid a decrease in dose? By feeding HC when Sami is in the mid-green numbers, you are aborting the cycle and it's unlikely that you will get a number in the 40s. This can be an effective strategy if there was a recent decrease or you have a cat where you want to hold on to a dose and have the kitty really, really earn the decrease. I don't think this is the case for Sami. Looking at last night's cycle, I suspect Sami would have been surfing in the 50s and 60s if you hadn't fed HC.

Generally, when you are wanting to slow a drop you feed LC first. Having Sami surf in the 50 - 70 range will promote pancreatic healing.

From your SS/comments, it doesn't appear that you are feeding at any other time than at shot times. You will ease drops and maintain surfs by feeding small amounts of LC at points throughout the cycle, especially the early part of the cycle. This is referred to as feeding the curve. Small amounts of food help to stimulate the pancreas to produce its own insulin without overloading it with big meals.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami AMPS 124; +1.5 160

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm not sure I understand your rationale for feeding HC last night. Were you trying to avoid a decrease in dose? By feeding HC when Sami is in the mid-green numbers, you are aborting the cycle and it's unlikely that you will get a number in the 40s. This can be an effective strategy if there was a recent decrease or you have a cat where you want to hold on to a dose and have the kitty really, really earn the decrease. I don't think this is the case for Sami. Looking at last night's cycle, I suspect Sami would have been surfing in the 50s and 60s if you hadn't fed HC.

Generally, when you are wanting to slow a drop you feed LC first. Having Sami surf in the 50 - 70 range will promote pancreatic healing.

From your SS/comments, it doesn't appear that you are feeding at any other time than at shot times. You will ease drops and maintain surfs by feeding small amounts of LC at points throughout the cycle, especially the early part of the cycle. This is referred to as feeding the curve. Small amounts of food help to stimulate the pancreas to produce its own insulin without overloading it with big meals.

Sienne,

I don't mean to be rude, but did you read my post. The reason that I was giving HC at 60 was because I was second guessing how much insulin I gave Sami. I usually check and recheck the dose, but when you have 5 cats all around you and you are trying to facilitate dinner at the time anything can happen. Had I been expecting those lower numbers I would have just watched and waiting, but when I started second guessing myself I started to freak out and didn't want to have a huge problem on my hands. So for my own piece of mind I gave a little bit of HC. As I said in my first post, with the two feedings of HC the totally amount she got was just over a teaspoon, so not much at all. I know she probably really didn't need the HC, but it was more for my benefit than for hers.

Now that I have more data on how Sami reacts to both dose increase and decreases the next time this happens out of the blue I will be ready and I won't worry so much if I shot more insulin then I was supposed to.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami AMPS 124; +7 100

So far today, Sami is surfing the blues. I was hoping to see a little green in her morning cycle, but the blues are good too. I probably won't check her again until +10.

I am going to attempt the mini meals, but I don't know how much it will effect her. During her AM cycle she usually has lows between +6 and +8, but at night the mini meals might work better because she has shown lows earlier in her cycle between +3 and +5.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami AMPS 124; +7 100

hello Tina
just wondering if u had a chance to look at the link I left u in yesterdays condo, here it is again, just in case.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4766

Jill's mini meal plan that has been shown to be effective in helping the little pancreass along. I have two cats, and when Luna began his mini meals, so did the civvie. Takes a little bit of training, but it is beneficial to the civvie as well. Smaller meals can help the process.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami AMPS 124; +7 100

Ronnie & Luna said:
hello Tina
just wondering if u had a chance to look at the link I left u in yesterdays condo, here it is again, just in case.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4766

Jill's mini meal plan that has been shown to be effective in helping the little pancreass along. I have two cats, and when Luna began his mini meals, so did the civvie. Takes a little bit of training, but it is beneficial to the civvie as well. Smaller meals can help the process.

Yes, I did go back and look at Putty's progress. And will try the mini meals starting tonight. I can't promise that I won't leave food out just for today, but I guess I will see how it goes. Thanks.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami AMPS 124; +7 100

Tina, I completely understand why you might of freaked a little bit when Sami started dropping - especially if you were second guessing yourself about the dose you gave her. You know, I have actually done that myself once or twice. I would measure the dose and know that I measured it properly at the time and then a few hours later I would think to myself - "did I measure that dose right?" I don't know, I can't explain why, but maybe everyone does that once in a while.

The other day I had to go out and tested Mally beforehand. She was at 59 and I fed her some MC so she would not drop any more while I was out. I had to stay and make sure her numbers were coming up before I could comfortably leave the house. I probably could have brought her up with some LC but sometimes we just do things to help ease our minds. :smile:
 
Re: 2/3 Sami PMPS 97; +1.5 78

Sami is showing some really pretty greens right now. I am trying the whole mini meal experiment to see how it works. Hopefully it will be successful. I have been given 1/6 can of FF every ½ hour to 45 minutes. The reason I am doing 1/6 can is because I have 5 cats and it makes it a little easier to split up the can.

My only problem is that one of my kitties likes to eat later and she is a solitary eater. So I don't know what I am going to do about her. Even when I try putting her in another room she doesn't eat. So there might be some additional experimenting going on over the next few days.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami PMPS 97; +1.5 78

Wow! Sami is having some excellent numbers tonight. Hmmm, you might be staying up late too. :smile:
 
Re: 2/3 Sami PMPS 97; +1.5 78

Chris & Mally said:
Wow! Sami is having some excellent numbers tonight. Hmmm, you might be staying up late too. :smile:

Yep, there is always that possiblity. But I love those greens.
 
Re: 2/3 Sami PMPS 97; +1.5 78; +2.5 59

Hi Tina,

Although I understand your response to Sienne, she was trying to help you. We recommend people looking in other's condos so, it's important to be clear... The point Sienne was making is that if you feed HC or MC - and I'm not saying willynilly because you had a good reason - it's important to make a note of that... POINT being that dosecreases may be missed... and that's a safety issue. That's all.

Nice greens!
 
Re: 2/3 Sami PMPS 97; +4 94

Helene & Tizon said:
Hi Tina,

Although I understand your response to Sienne, she was trying to help you. We recommend people looking in other's condos so, it's important to be clear... The point Sienne was making is that if you feed HC or MC - and I'm not saying willynilly because you had a good reason - it's important to make a note of that... POINT being that dosecreases may be missed... and that's a safety issue. That's all.

Nice greens!

Helene, I am a little confused, because I did note what type of food and why I gave it on my spreadsheet. Is there something I am missing?
 
Re: 2/3 Sami PMPS 97; +4 94

Tina & Sami said:
Helene & Tizon said:
Hi Tina,

Although I understand your response to Sienne, she was trying to help you. We recommend people looking in other's condos so, it's important to be clear... The point Sienne was making is that if you feed HC or MC - and I'm not saying willynilly because you had a good reason - it's important to make a note of that... POINT being that dosecreases may be missed... and that's a safety issue. That's all.

Nice greens!

Helene, I am a little confused, because I did note what type of food and why I gave it on my spreadsheet. Is there something I am missing?
I agree, nice greens.

I think the point you're missing is that when you feed (good reason or not), and it's HC instead of LC, and then snap at a poster who's just sharing her years of experience with you, is that yes, that's pretty rude.

Look. I know you're learning, just like the rest of us. And I know all about second guessing, and about having a bunch of cats circling waiting for food. I have nine cats...and they all think they need to eat right now. I also know how hard it is to be sure of a shot when you're doing three things at once, at the same time trying not to mash a cat under your feet. But here's the biggest thing you need to learn: how to focus on the insulin - which can kill if not done properly - and be sure of your dose before you put it into the cat. And the other thing you really need to understand is that people are trying to help you, and will stop if you keep smacking them down. You were rude; and it's my opinion that an aplogy is owed to Sienne...she was trying to help you, and that should NEVER be met with rudeness. If you didn't like her advice, fine...but there was no need to be rude at all.

Congratulations on the green...and know that insulin, when you're dosing incorrectly because you've not paid tight attention to the dose, may create far more issues than it solves. Remember you're new at this, take advice when it's offered, learn the lesson, and get to helping your cat...it's totally doable, and I know you can do it...but you have to listen to those who are far more experienced than you, have been there, done that, designed the teehsirt...and it pays to listen to them carefully and not bite the hand which is trying to feed you.
Best-
Michele
 
Wow, great surf tonite!!! Very very nice--You asked the other day, what MC is--Now you now it's medium carb, which is what I give Moonie when she drops, as I feel the mc, in most situations, brings her up, bit more slowly than hc, but also keeps her low(wish she was right now :lol: )
Sami is doing great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top