2/3 Morgaine AMPS 233 Vet Report

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good day!

Last night at PS Morgaine was surprisingly a 66. Marge had mentioned to me that the sub q's could cause her BG to drop and because of that low number and the uncertainty of what the sub q's were doing, I did not give her her insulin. I really had to get some sleep so I fed her, skipped the dose, fed her again at +3 and went to bed. We need to get back on track and I am hopeful that we will.

So.....the vet called with really good news on all her blood work and preliminary urinalysis. She sees no sign of infection and all the blood work looks normal except for the triglycerides which are down as before and acceptable. They were 1600 7 months ago and are now 500.

Her liver functions are all normal which was a big concern for me after the fluconazole.

So she believes we are dealing with neuropathy and some digestive issues. She does not think prozac is the answer at this time and thinks I need to put out another box or put more pee pads down, and give the zobaline time to work. I will discuss it all more with the vet whom I had seen last time because she was not so opposed to prozac and I do think it might be worth a try. She is on vacation until 2/13. Meanwhile, I have to live with this. Morgaine is my baby girl and I am just glad there are no major medical issues. Even her USG is better. I think the diabetes being under control is helping that. Her creatinine and bun are normal. Her Relion meter was 185 at the vet and her lab BG was 227 so not a big variance. Labs are generally a little high, at least for me.

Question: Do any of you have a suggestion for a lightweight steamer to spot clean where she pees on the rug? I have a very heavy Hoover that my cleaning gals use periodically but I can't manage it at all. I would like to be able to clean the pee spots after I soak them in the cleaning solution that dissolves the odor. This is not pleasant but I am grateful she is okay.

Still waiting on the urine culture, Vet also suggested we try rescue remedy so I will get some of that. she said it has worked wonders for some pets but not for all.

Off to clean up pee! I will try to visit some condos later today.
 
glad to hear she got a good vet report!

I have this carpet steamer...
lightweight, but it's a Bissell...so works wonderfully.
I paid $80 for mine, but there was a $10 rebate :-D

http://www.amazon.com/Bissell-Quick...17701/dp/B00440EO5E?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

13071147.jpg
 
Celi, that is the cleaner I was looking at. I can get it for $79 with a $10 rebate at amazon. Glad you like it. I am going to see what is available but that one looks good to me. I can have the gals use the big cleaner more often but this might work for my everday needs.

Oh duh....I see you linked to Amazon. :lol:
 
I have a Bissell SpotBot. The thing I love most about it is, you just set it there and turn it on and it does all the work by itself. Or it has a hose so if you want to do the work, you can. Glad Morgaine got a good report from the vet.
 
i have a little hand-held thing that totally doesn't work. i'll go out in the garage and see what it is, but it was a total failure. you might wonder why i still have it after 10 years knowing it's a loser. i don't know why. :lol: that's a good question, though. ;-)

have you given any thought to trying the cosequin that sienne was mentioning? i didn't realize it helped with bladders but it sure seems like it's helped with punkin's mobility. i buy it at petco and i got it for $18 for 50 capsules, which is 25 days for a cat over 10 lbs. pre-diagnosis he had regular bladder infections but either because of the water, the different food or the phase of the moon, he hasn't had any in more than a year. could also be helped by the cosequin.
 
Great news on the vet report! How long has Morgaine been on the Zobaline? I'm sure she wouldn't be doing this if she could avoid it.
 
Rosalie, great news on the Vet report. Good luck if you try rescue remedy. I've heard good things about it. I like that carpet steamer that Celi recommended to you. I could use something like that for my apartment. Have a good day Rosalie and so happy to hear the good report on Morgaine.
 
Anne:
I have a Bissell SpotBot. The thing I love most about it is, you just set it there and turn it on and it does all the work by itself. Or it has a hose so if you want to do the work, you can. Glad Morgaine got a good report from the vet.

Anne, I will check this out. It is a little more than I want to spend since I have the big machine and I really need a lighter machine as I am not able to handle something more than 10-15 pounds. I am sure, however, that this is a very good product.

julie:
have you given any thought to trying the cosequin that sienne was mentioning? i didn't realize it helped with bladders but it sure seems like it's helped with punkin's mobility. i buy it at petco and i got it for $18 for 50 capsules, which is 25 days for a cat over 10 lbs. pre-diagnosis he had regular bladder infections but either because of the water, the different food or the phase of the moon, he hasn't had any in more than a year. could also be helped by the cosequin.
Julie, Morgaine has been on cosequin for 3 months. I get it at Amazon, $12 for 80 capsules and I get free shipping as I have their Pime account. I am now giving it to Morgaine every other day, 2 caps each time.

Linda
How long has Morgaine been on the Zobaline? I'm sure she wouldn't be doing this if she could avoid it.
Linda, she has been on Zobaline for about 3 months. I started it when I started cosequin but neuropathy can take a lot longer to heal. I know that she is not doing this on purpose. It may well be difficult for her to get her paws in the box and maybe she doesn't like the fact that the litter sticks to them. Who knows? The vet did cut the hair around her toes and pads so the litter wouldn't stick to it.

She did use her box just a while ago after days of not going in it. My friend who is having the chemo came by for lunch and Morgaine really likes Terri because Terri respects her space, doesn't talk sweet to her and try to get her affections so Morgaine thinks she is swell and of course will come out and try to get Terri's attention. It is pretty interesting and only a cat understands and of course Terri. :lol: So maybe she didn't want to pee the floor while her pal was here. We shall see. At least I know she can still use it.

Ann
Good luck if you try rescue remedy. I've heard good things about it.
Ann, I am not sure about Rescue Remedy but it is worth a try. Like the vet said, for some pets it works wonders and for others nothing.

Thank you all for caring. Morgaine was so affectionate last night after her day at the vets. She must have thought I didn't want her anymore or was abandoning her. Poor baby didn't know why her mama left her there. So we are having a better day and I have not poked her ear since AMPS. I am just letting her rest and feel safe.
 
Good news for Morgaine, that's what we like to see. Rescue remedy can do some amazing things, if the problem is something that prozac would help with then rescue remedy should do the job too.
 
Great lab report!!! One thing I was going to suggest is giving the cosequin one sid instead of two bid. That's how I dose Gus and it keeps it in him a little better, I think. You can give two bid but try one sid and maybe see
if that makes any difference. I just forgot to suggest it yesterday.

Not a bad AMPS at all with a skipped shot....that was smart and I hope you got some rest!

BIG HUGS!
 
Great news on the lab reports! That is an amazing reduction in the triglycerides. How much Rescue Remedy and how do you give it?
Liz
 
When Maverick's arthritis was bad, someone shared about a walk in litter box made out of a rubber maid. You can put plastic under the peepads also. Like a floor protector from an office supply store that you put under chairs to prevent them from damaging the home office hardwood floors. Newspaper may be cheaper than pee pads if you do this. Maverick couldn't squat from his arthritis. We had doggie stairs made for him to get up on the bed and the couches and step stools everywhere and an elevated feeding station and elevated water bowls so he could eat and drink standing up or sitting. He would pee right out the hole in the litterbox. He would have preferred for his pee to stay in it. Just some ideas.
 
Sienne, I asked the vet if the 500 was acceptable and she said yes, considering what it was it is the goal for cats with super high levels.

Marje, I do give her cosequin 2 caps once a day but have been doing it every other day since I am following their directions. maybe I just need to continue them every day.

Liz, I am to put 4 drops of Rescue Rem. in Morgaine's bowl every time i change her water. The package also says you can put four drops on a treat and give it to them. If you try it be sure to do Bach's for pets...thanks Marje for the reminder! Amazon has it from many sources.

Melissa, I have a Hoover but I am unable to use it myself. It is too heavy for me with my RA. It is clumsy and not something that i would ask my cleaning gals to do every 2 weeks. I would like something to use daily to clean up the pee spots and I love steam cleaning. I am allergic to chemicals and I don't want Morgaine licking them off of her paws. The Anti-Icky Poo really does work well but I would like to go over it after it does it job and steam clean the area to get it out of the rug.

Karrie, Morgaine has a new litter box with high sides and a very low opening which she seems to pee up against sometimes. Today she put a lovely pee in the box away from the front and it looked so normal and lovely to my eyes, :lol: . My bathroom is tile so i do not mind so much if she misses but when she just lets loose it gets all over the place. It beats the rug though. The pee pads are available on ebay for 300 for $30 so 10 cents each.
 
Great lab reports! I have heard good things about Rescue Remedy for pets and used it several years ago. Good luck finding a light vacuum for cleaning up pee. If it works well, be sure to let us know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top