2/3 DC +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5.5=81 +6.5=65 +7.5=72 +9=94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noreen&DC&Frisky

Member Since 2010
Today was the 1st shot at the increased dose of 1.75 units.
DC was very high this morning, I presume a bounce from the PM +6 BG of 95.
Ketones are negative.
I'm hoping he didn't go lower than that through the night and needed a decrease instead of an increase.
His nadir is usually around +6.
I guess now I'll have to wait for the bounce to clear, to see how the new dose is working.
Once the bounce clears, I will have to get a +7 and +8 to be sure.
Other than the high BG DC is fine.

yesterdays condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35817
 
Re: 2/3 DC AMPS=319 +3=308 +5=266 increased dose

DC's BG has come down a bit. Not as much as I would like, but at least he's out of the pink.
He's having a good day.
Playful and eating well.
 
Re: 2/3 DC AMPS=319 +3=308 +5=266 +7=245 increased dose

screwed up, the +6 was actually @ +5.
I've corrected it in the original post now.
 
Re: 2/3 DC AMPS=319 +3=308 +5=266 +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167

DC is back to blue.
He's dropped 160 between shots. That's a big drop for him.
Hopefully the trend doesn't continue through the night.
 
Re: 2/3 DC AMPS=319 +3=308 +5=266 +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=

This is the fastest DC has ever cleared a bounce.
They usually last a couple of days.
He just finished eating about 20 minutes before the last BG test.
I expected him to be quite a bit higher.
Should I be worried? He's not even close to nadir yet.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +3=308 +5=266 +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 QUES

Hi, please don't be worried, I would feed mini meals & get a +3 to see where he is, he is looking great.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +5=266 +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 HEL

I just woke up and checked DC's BG. He's very low.
He ate LC @ PM shot time, +1, +2.5 and now I just gave him some HC.
I will test again in 15 minutes.
He seems fine. No signs of hypo. He's running around playing with Frisky.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +5=266 +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 HEL

I'm here, and can be here with you for the next hour before I leave for work. That's a pretty big drop.

See you in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 HELP

I just tested again. DC is now @ 49.
Way lower than I'd like him to be, especially since he has @ least 2 hours til nadir.
Should I feed more HC now or wait a bit?
At least I have lots of HC, Karo and more than 100 strips on hand.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 HELP

Good, you're well supplied that's great.
I believe I've heard that the HC can take 15 to 20 minutes to raise the BG, so he may still go up a little more from the last HC you gave him, but I would give him another teaspoon of the gravy if he will lick that up.
Come on DC, lets get up into the 60s and then the 70s and surf. Put the coffee on, Noreen, you'll be up for awhile. The HC will wear off, and you may need to keep feeding through this for awhile (hours), so don't feed him too much so that he gets so stuffed he doesn't want to eat anymore when you need him to.

I guess that dosecrease was a little bit too much
 
Re: 2/3 DC +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 HELP

I just gave him a bit of HC gravy. He had no problem licking that up, it's his favorite.
It's going to be a long night. I only had an hour of sleep before I got up to test him.
I guess I was worried about how quick his BG was dropping today and of course with the dose increase in the AM.
Normally I'd still be in bed for another 6 hours.
I will wait 10 more minutes and test again.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 HELP

Dyana said:
Good, you're well supplied that's great.
I believe I've heard that the HC can take 15 to 20 minutes to raise the BG, so he may still go up a little more from the last HC you gave him, but I would give him another teaspoon of the gravy if he will lick that up.
Come on DC, lets get up into the 60s and then the 70s and surf. Put the coffee on, Noreen, you'll be up for awhile. The HC will wear off, and you may need to keep feeding through this for awhile (hours), so don't feed him too much so that he gets so stuffed he doesn't want to eat anymore when you need him to.

I guess that dosecrease was a little bit too much
Thanks for being here. This board is so great when you need help.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 HELP

You're welcome.
You'll probably need to test every 15 minutes until he reachs about 60, then you can go to 30 minutes. Like I said the HC can wear off quickly, and he'll go down again. Sorry about the lost sleep.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 HELP

You're doing great Noreen. Hopefully DC will hop on the surfboard soon so you can get some sleep.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67HELP

His BG jumped a fair bit since the last test. At least now he's in the normal range.
I'm just concerned that he still has close to 2 hours before nadir.
Do I hold off on feeding for a bit now until the next test?
What's the best way to proceed from here?
He had his dose increase and 15 hours later earned a decrease.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +7=245 +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 HELP

Dyana said:
You're welcome.
You'll probably need to test every 15 minutes until he reachs about 60, then you can go to 30 minutes. Like I said the HC can wear off quickly, and he'll go down again. Sorry about the lost sleep.
Lost sleep comes with the territory. It's expected, but so worth it.
I'll just have to catch a nap this afternoon when DH is around to test.
 
+4.5=67

67 is more comfortable. If you want, I would give him just a little bit of LC, and test again in 30 minutes.
I'll be gone then, but there will be people here, to help you. No sleep, yet, k? Good Luck on getting some sleep, tonight.
Come on DC get on that surfboard and ride! :)

I see you posted the same time as me.
I'll let someone else help you decide on his next dose. You're doing fine Noreen :)

I wish I had lost sleep lately, J.D. has been in pinks all week. My sleep shed is full to the brim. laughing smilie
 
Re: +4.5=67

Dyana said:
67 is more comfortable. If you want, I would give him just a little bit of LC, and test again in 30 minutes.
I'll be gone then, but there will be people here, to help you. No sleep, yet, k? Good Luck on getting some sleep, tonight.
Come on DC get on that surfboard and ride! :)

I see you posted the same time as me.
I'll let someone else help you decide on his next dose. You're doing fine Noreen :)

I wish I had lost sleep lately, J.D. has been in pinks all week. My sleep shed is full to the brim. laughing smilie
I'll be up for a while now.
Thanks again for the help.
I hope J.D. gets some greens soon.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67HELP

Good morning. Nice job Noreen and Dyana.
There is a possibility once the HC wears off that DC will drop again.
Sorry about the lost sleep.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +9=218 PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67HELP

Miriam and Putty said:
Good morning. Nice job Noreen and Dyana.
There is a possibility once the HC wears off that DC will drop again.
Sorry about the lost sleep.
I'm expecting the BG to drop again. Like I said there's still 1 1/2 hours until nadir.
I'm exhausted, but I'll sleep later. At least I don't have to leave the house today.
 
Re: 2/3 DC PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 HELP

DC's BG is still on the rise. I'm much more comfortable with this number.
I'm assuming it's ok to wait 30 minutes to do the next test.
I'm amazed he's not hiding yet. He's not liking me touching his ears at this point.
I'm sure they're getting sore.
 
Re: 2/3 DC PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 HELP

You can wait 30 minutes.
You have 2 consecutive rising numbers so you can breathe now.
 
Re: 2/3 DC PMPS=167 +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 HELP

Miriam and Putty said:
You can wait 30 minutes.
You have 2 consecutive rising numbers so you can breathe now.
Breathing is good. Sleep would be better.
He should hit nadir in an hour, so if he is still good at that time, then I'll get some sleep.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 HELP

DC's BG is still going up, which makes me feel a little better.
Here is a recap of the days BG: (first day on the dose increase)

AMPS=319
+3=308
+5=266
+7=245
+9=218
PMPS=167
+2=122
+3.75=38
+4=49
+4.5=67
+5=74
+5.5=81
 
Re: 2/3 DC +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 HELP

Hi, happy to see you & Dyana handled so well, after - posted for you to get a +3 I waited up for you to post & never saw you come back, must have been when you fell asleep - it happens. Have a great day.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 HELP

It looks like you can wait another hour before testing. Three rising numbers are a good sign.
Could you take the HELP out of your subject line. You can add dosing advice if you will be needing it for later.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +2=122 +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 HELP

Miriam and Putty said:
It looks like you can wait another hour before testing. Three rising numbers are a good sign.
Could you take the HELP out of your subject line. You can add dosing advice if you will be needing it for later.
I will need dose advice.
Should I go back to 1.5 units or a different amount?
I'm wondering if DC was going lower than I thought during the night quite often before the increase.
Maybe that was causing all the high BG's and he didn't need the dose increase?
 
Re: 2/3 DC +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 +6.5=65 DOSE

DC's BG is dropping again.
Hopefully he has hit nadir and it will start going up from here.
I'm thinking I should give him an LC mini meal and test again in 30 min.
Or maybe I shouldn't feed until after the next test?
 
Re: 2/3 DC +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 +6.5=65 DOSE

You can give DC a little lc or even a little mc to keep him surfing. Just when you thought is was safe. :roll:
You can test again in 30 minutes just to make sure he isn't still dropping.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 +6.5=65 DOSE

Miriam and Putty said:
You can give DC a little lc or even a little mc to keep him surfing. Just when you thought is was safe. :roll:
You can test again in 30 minutes just to make sure he isn't still dropping.
Just when I thought I might be able to get to bed and catch some sleep.
I have 5 hours left to decide what to do about his next dose.
Thanks for the help.
 
Re: 2/3 DC +3.75=38 +4=49 +4.5=67 +5=74 +5.5=81 +6.5=65 +7.5

I didn't feed DC after the test. He wouldn't eat so I just put the food away.
His BG seems to be on the rise now even without the food.
He should also be past nadir.
I think I'm going to feed him a bit of MC and go lay down for about an hour.
I will test again in an hour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top