2/3 Boomer AMPS 139 +3 83 +3 117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: Allen's X-ray results
Good morning!
AMPS 139 :eek::eek::eek: ok something obviously needs to change here. Likely get a new insulin vial (or pens) today.

Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds but left a bit in the +3 and +6.
The Weruva foods aren't working out well; Boomer seems to like most of them but Allen only likes the one that is seafood.....all of the others are chicken that is shredded and he doesn't like them:rolleyes: I've read that the best diet for Allen with early ckd and a high calcium level is high protein/low carb but also low phosphorous. So I'll do some research today.

:p:p to this morning's routine. Firstly, I fell back asleep after being awake for a couple of hours so I felt like crap when I woke up. And didn't have time for my first coffee before tfs. So this morning: test Boomer, feed Boomer, pilled Allen, gave Allen the lactulose (its a liquid which was a surprise to me), fed Allen, shot Boomer. I know it will become smoother but AARRGGHH to this morning! And Allen is more difficult to pill than I thought he would be. Ok rant over; I know it could be a lot worse and this routine is just temporary (I hope).

Today I must get some editing done; I spent yesterday running errands along with taking Allen for his X-ray. And the day before was spent on our eagle/owl hunt. Exercise first though:rolleyes:
 
Hope your day will get better as it continues. I would try to get Lantus pens rather than a vial, especially since he is on such a low dose (and hopefully won't have to be on it for long). Once I got used to the pens, I actually preferred drawing from them. I feel like there are fewer bubbles... and I am much less afraid that I could accidentally drop and break a pen. :rolleyes:
 
Hope your day will get better as it continues. I would try to get Lantus pens rather than a vial, especially since he is on such a low dose (and hopefully won't have to be on it for long). Once I got used to the pens, I actually preferred drawing from them. I feel like there are fewer bubbles... and I am much less afraid that I could accidentally drop and break a pen. :rolleyes:
I was just telling DH that most people here are recommending the pens. I don't have many problems with bubbles and when I draw the insulin I'm doing so over Boomer's testing table which has a blanket on it so if I were to drop the vial I don't think it would break. But I've told DH that if the insulin "goes bad" it's just one pen and not the whole bottle. Idk, he's going to costco today so he'll pick it up and not sure he'll spend more for the 4 pens.
 
:cool::cool::cool::cool:I'm envious of those who go BTB in the morning but know I'd feel crappy like you did this morning. Hope the morning routine gets easier and make sure you "shoot" the correct cat! :p:p FWIW, I've never given Doodles the full "recommended" dose of lactulose at once. When it kicks in....I'm afraid of it turning into a complete disaster butt washing session. I wonder what Boomer might have done last night to possibly cause that higher AMPS :confused:

I was MIA yesterday and didn't go back to see how Allen's appt. went yesterday. Everything OK?
 
Boomer...get down now!! HOpefully the new juice will do the trick. Hectic morning for you...hopefully you're feeling more settled by now!
 
:cool::cool::cool::cool:I'm envious of those who go BTB in the morning but know I'd feel crappy like you did this morning. Hope the morning routine gets easier and make sure you "shoot" the correct cat! :p:p FWIW, I've never given Doodles the full "recommended" dose of lactulose at once. When it kicks in....I'm afraid of it turning into a complete disaster butt washing session. I wonder what Boomer might have done last night to possibly cause that higher AMPS :confused:

I was MIA yesterday and didn't go back to see how Allen's appt. went yesterday. Everything OK?
Yes everything ok so far, the X-ray was as I expected and not just the chest but the abdomen as well. No masses:joyful: but lots and lots of poop hence the stool softeners. Dr Larry gave him the first dose of lactulose. I gather it's supposed to take 24-36 hours to start working but Allen had a really big poop in the carrier on the way home :oops:. That's twice now he has pooped on the way home from the vetty so I told DH yesterday maybe all we really need to do is take Allen for a car ride occasionally:rolleyes:
So the ultrasound hasn't been scheduled because I suggested to Dr Larry that we should wait until Allen is "cleaned out". And he agreed that was a good idea.

I don't know what to think about these blue numbers Boomer keeps giving me. And yet the other day he started in green and was green all day and I thought he was finally starting to work the .75u:rolleyes: DH just wants me to increase him to 1 unit but I don't want to increase him and then get a new vial of insulin I think that could be a recipe for disaster. So hopefully DH will pick up the new insulin today. And when Boomer doesn't respond to the new juice I'll just have to put up with "I told you" from DH:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
Nice to see Boomer back in the lagoon. I wouldn't increase and start new insulin at the same time. If it makes a difference, you won't know which one worked. I hope the lactulose helps Allen. Sending prayers.
 
I was just telling DH that most people here are recommending the pens.
You are lucky because you have another option in Canada: the cartridges. These hold the same amount as the pens, but don't have the bulky pen apparatus. They also come in boxes of 5. Much easier to use and to store. If your DH hasn't gotten the insulin yet, ask him to ask for the cartridges.

Sorry your day was so much of a trial. I hope tomorrow will be better. You can help, Deputy Boomer: come back to the lagoon, where you are needed!
 
You are lucky because you have another option in Canada: the cartridges. These hold the same amount as the pens, but don't have the bulky pen apparatus. They also come in boxes of 5. Much easier to use and to store. If your DH hasn't gotten the insulin yet, ask him to ask for the cartridges.

Sorry your day was so much of a trial. I hope tomorrow will be better. You can help, Deputy Boomer: come back to the lagoon, where you are needed!
DH talked to the pharmacist at costco today. 4 pens have the same amount of insulin as one vial, one vial is $60ish and 4 pens is $105ish. So DH bought the vial. It is what it is lol. I've never heard of the cartridges.
 
I would definitely get the cartridges instead of pens. Less unneeded bits (and cheaper). And by the way, it's a package of 5 cartridges which is 50% more insulin than a vial. A vial is 10mL, and each of the 5 cartridges is 3mL making a total of 15 mL. And you can use each cartridge to the last drop, so no throwing away unused insulin. Anyway, just in case there is a next time. I found out about the cartridges from my local pharamacist who showed me it's the best deal for a cat - she has several diabetic kitty customers. :)

And I would try new insulin before increasing too. This just doesn't seem like Boomer.

For pilling, I found this piller to be a life saver. And you can load it with water so you get the pill/gel cap and squirt of water all in one go.
 
For pilling, I found this piller to be a life saver.
I just had to LOL at the picture that they have on Amazon (see below). Seriously, if Iris just sat there and I could casually hold her with one hand, I would be one happy bean... but instead, I adopted a spring-loaded kitten with 10+ legs that can scratch and roll and wiggle.
 

Attachments

  • Piller.jpg
    Piller.jpg
    51 KB · Views: 60
I just had to LOL at the picture that they have on Amazon (see below). Seriously, if Iris just sat there and I could casually hold her with one hand, I would be one happy bean... but instead, I adopted a spring-loaded kitten with 10+ legs that can scratch and roll and wiggle.
Yes I've discovered that Allen is a lot harder to pill than I thought he would be. But it's a lot easier when DH helps!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top