? 2/28 Chaz amps 385 still no sign of regulation

Kelly & Chaz

Member Since 2019
Good morning. We are still struggling here. Switched to TR two weeks ago, now at 2.5 dosage.. no sign of better numbers, still running high flat curves. Do we just keep increasing every 3-5 days? Do we decrease based on the fact that his best run of numbers since we started insulin in early December was at dosage of .50 & .75? I’m considering giving this a try. We just seem worse off now than when we started. He is still eating well (watered down FF pates) & no ketones. Help please??

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-amps-396-8-421-highest-ever-reading.225488/
 
On TR you can increase every 6 cycles (3 days)...it's not that he's worse...it just takes time. Good news on the eating and no ketones.

You were due to increase by .25 this morning. Good job on the monitoring. You'll get there...

Don't look back on what a previous dose did for him then....that doesn't really matter at this point.
 
I think most of us felt that way at some point. And even went back to a lower dose they seemed to do well on. Can't say I ever saw it work. You lose all progress you made and then it takes longer and more insulin to make up for it.

Hang in, it will get better.
 
Kelly --

I think you may have been confused with the instructions for TR. When nadirs are greater than 200 and unless you cat is not "new" to numbers in a lower range, you hold the dose for 3 days/6 cycles only. TR is, by comparison to how Vetsulin is dose, more aggressive. As of this morning, Chaz has been at his current dose for 7 cycles. You will want to increase his dose to 2.75u at PMPS tonight.

TR can be a little tricky to interpret at the outset. Please let us know if you're unsure of how to proceed.The goal is to quickly but safely get your kitty in better numbers.
 
Yes, I did think it was increase dosage 3-5 days, and last increase we went up .50 since nadirs were running in 300s. Here’s the thing, I guess I’m getting a bit panicky as we are preparing for a 3 day road trip, and I know I won’t be able to check him as often mid-cycle as I can at home. Also concerned about potentially making it worse with the disruption to routine. He is a pretty adaptable guy, and I have prepared him as best I can. So, question is should I continue with the TR increase plan, or hold the dose and wait til the trip is done to resume increases? Thanks to you all for your responses and encouragement .
 
we are preparing for a 3 day road trip,

When is the trip?

If the numbers were lower - like in the mid to low 200's, I'd think twice about the increase - however with these higher numbers, I think you're still safe to increase.

I have to deal with those road trips twice a year myself...and it's very inconvenient to have to stop the car, take Luci out of her carrier, get the test, etc. She's always high on the road anyway...not sure why...because she sleeps most of the way...it's just stressful for her I guess...I usually hold the dose when she's in lower numbers.

Take a look at my SS - especially around those trips in November and May...
 
Last edited:
When is the trip?

If the numbers were lower - like in the mid to low 200's, I'd think twice about the increase - however with these higher numbers, I think you're stills safe to increase.

I have to deal with those road trips twice a year myself...and it's very inconvenient to have to stop the car, take Luci out of her carrier, get the test, etc. She's always high on the road anyway...not sure why...because she sleeps most of the way...it's just stressful for her I guess...I usually hold the dose when she's in lower numbers.

Take a look at my SS - especially around those trips in November and May...
TOMORROW
 
It doesn't look like he's much of a diver - I think you'll be fine getting one test during the day while you're on the road. Don't be shocked if it's high - sometimes the traveling alone is enough to shake things up and push them into higher numbers. If you can you could get a 1+ just before hitting the road...just to make sure he's not going to do anything fancy...Have your MC/HC foods along just in case. I had a kit with foods and a tiny jar of karo syrup - just in case.
 
Congrats on that little blue a couple nights ago. :cool: Sign of progress.

I did a three day trip to Colorado and 3 days back back with Neko in the car in the heat of summer. When we stopped for lunch/gas I would grab a test. We needed to stop, as she only wanted to use the litter box when the car was not moving. She was running lower on the way back, as she just had treatment for her acro tumour. Wasn't supposed to take effect that fast, but cats! :cat: We planned stops to highway pullouts at strategic times (around nadir), gave her a little high carb food to keep her up and safe if needed. It was only max 10 minute delay. Did not count on delays due to highway closed due to some idiot tossing a cigarette on the medium and the resulting fire stopping traffic. :mad: She got pre-emptive high carb and was safe when we finally made our destination pull out.
 
Congrats on that little blue a couple nights ago. :cool: Sign of progress.

I did a three day trip to Colorado and 3 days back back with Neko in the car in the heat of summer. When we stopped for lunch/gas I would grab a test. We needed to stop, as she only wanted to use the litter box when the car was not moving. She was running lower on the way back, as she just had treatment for her acro tumour. Wasn't supposed to take effect that fast, but cats! :cat: We planned stops to highway pullouts at strategic times (around nadir), gave her a little high carb food to keep her up and safe if needed. It was only max 10 minute delay. Did not count on delays due to highway closed due to some idiot tossing a cigarette on the medium and the resulting fire stopping traffic. :mad: She got pre-emptive high carb and was safe when we finally made our destination pull out.
Wow, sounds like that was quite an adventure for you both!! I’m not going to say I’m not anxious about it, but I have done all that is in my control to be ready, and now just hope for some good luck on the road. Thinking positive, all will be fine!! Thanks for sharing your story <3
 
Back
Top