2/27 Tori AMPS 280; +7~272; PMPS 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Post: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=37669

Morning everybody. Well she hasn't eaten any more actual food for me but has taken a couple of doses of the liver shake very willingly. The last time was at +10. Her BG was 239 at that time. Now at +11.5 she is at 280 so we know that the liver shake will bring her BG up a bit. I have given her her Metacop and Pepcid and am going to wait a half hour or so to try and feed her and give her her insulin. My question is should I raise her dose up a bit or keep her at the 1 unit? Before she went into hospital she was getting 2 units. DOug brought her down to 1 mainly to keep her safe when the office was closed and no one was there to monitor.

Wow what an insane week this has been and it continues to get worse. Remember how I said the other day that our toilet was plugged? Yesterday my son put a snake down and got a plastic lid back up. All seemed well but this morning I woke up to a flood. The toilet had overflowed and there was a shower going on down in the bathroom downstairs. What a mess! I shut off the water to the toilet of course right away. What a mess. We rarely use that bathroom downstairs because a few years ago we had to take out the sink when the hot water tank burst. We never replaced it due to lack of funds. Now we have a toilet downstairs that works but no sink and a toilet upstairs that needs replacing but a functioning sink. I am so scared that the floor upstairs will have to be replaced. Do you think that my house insurance should help cover some of this? I'm more than broke right now. Tori's hospitalization last week came to over $2000 . I needed this like a hole in the head. Am I stressed out? More than words can say. I can't even think anymore.

Have a good day everybody.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- Advise Please

goodness, barb...you have so much on your shoulders right now!

hoping fervently that things turn around for you...

celi
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- Advise Please

(((Barb))) I am so sorry....what a mess!!! You didn't need THAT now.
I hope that Tori will eat a bit for you. Can you mix some of the liver shake with her solid food maybe?
Come on Tori....eat for your Mama!!!
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- Advise Please

sending healing vines to Tori lets hope she starts to eat better for you and sure hope things improve with the plumbing (((((Barb)))))
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- Advise Please

(((Barb)))
Do you have a copy of your insurance policy? It may say something about what is included/excluded. Take a look at your deductible to see how much you would have to pay up front.

I am so sorry for all that you are going through. I am glad that Tori is home and eating her liver shake. I can only pray that things start to improve for you.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280-

When I checked her BG again a 1/2 Hour later she was up to 298. I decided to go with 1.25units. I gave her breakfast with the liver shake poured on top. She went to it eagerly and licked the liver shake up and of course took some of the food with it. I finger fed her the rest although she wasn't happy she didn't fight me either. So she took 10cc liver shake and about 1/2 can FF. I took her down to the litter box and she did her business. She now is resting in her kitty cozy.

I have decided that I am going to divide the rest of the Liver shake up into daily portions and freeze it. Hopefully she won't need it for too long though.

My grand daughter just woke up so I am going to feed her, have a shower and then see what I can find out about the mess the bathrooms are in. What a week this has been. I wouldn't want to relive it for any thing in the world. Actually I guess we're into the second week now.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- I went with 1.25 units

I may be out of line saying this...but i'm not sure i would mention the plastic lid to the insurance company..
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- I went with 1.25 units

mybuddybinks said:
I may be out of line saying this...but i'm not sure i would mention the plastic lid to the insurance company..

That's exactly what I was thinking. No snake either.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- I went with 1.25 units

(((((((Barb)))))) When it rains it pours ohmygod_smile Hang in there. Things are going to start looking up.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280- I went with 1.25 units

omg with the bathrooms. aiyee - and so sorry. I too wouldn't mention the plastic lid, or the snake. just the problem.... i hope it is covered.

I am glad that Tori continue to eat the liver shake. freezing sounds like a good option. Good luck, I am glad things are improving.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280; +7~272

Well lunch didn't go as well as breakfast did. Mind you she always eats more in the morning. She did lap up her 10cc of the liver shake though and a little bit of FF. Hopefully she'll do better this evening. She doesn't really look ill though which is good. She let me hold her for awhile and she was purring like crazy.

I talked to the insurance company. (I didn't mention the lid or the snake). They will be sending out an adjuster sometime tomorrow. The lady I spoke to didn't think there would be a problem getting the basement ceiling taken care of and the walls where the water came down. No matter what replacing the toilet is my responsibility but if the floor underneath needs to be replaced they will probably cover it. I'll learn more tomorrow I guess. I needed this like I needed a hole in the head. Or maybe I do need a hole in the head to let some of the stress out.

I can't believe that I'm supposed to be going back to work tomorrow night already. I feel like I need 3 more nights off just to recuperate.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280; +7~272

If i had anything to say about it, you would have the next couple years off with full pay and benefits...

((((Barb))))
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280; +7~272

WOuldn't that be nice. Maybe you can talk to the hospital administration for me. That would take me pretty well up to retirement time. Mind you at this point I don't think I'll ever be able to retire.
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280; +7~272

Hi, Barb..
As others have said, you do have a lot going on right now & I am super sorry all this is happening. I am happy to see Tori's #s not real high, but I understand you want them lower. I cannot answer any dose questions, but you might put "dosing question" in your subject line that way you know what to shoot tomorrow, etc.
I continue to think of & pray for you & your family :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/27 Tori AMPS 280; +7~272

Tori...we finds dis fur u so u can comes to Do Lou's birfday pardy...
it not a pardy wifout tori!
binks


sml-bowron-sheepskin-pet-rug.jpg
 
Well she must have been a lot more interested in going to the party than eating because she wouldn't eat supper for me. She wouldn't even lick up the liver shake. I am beyond frustrated right now. I'm trying to take a breath and give her a break. Maybe she'll eat some of the cinnamon cake. Seriously I'll give her another 20 minutes or so and try again. I'm just so tired and stressed.

I hope everybody has a good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top