2/27 Shadoe pmp 367 +4 335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
356 - amps
338 - +1
412 - pmps
308 - +3
356 - today's amps (10L & .5R)
320 - +1
230 - +2

Shadoe was fine this morn. I am still angry and have every intention of making my vet's office a living hell through the weekend. Now, when I show up, they greet me by name and I think I have seen a few of them cringe. Tough. I have printed out some sheets on acro with sections highlighted for their education. I'll toss them a bag of clues while I am there. angry(2)_cat

It's obvious that R does not kick in quickly with Shadoe. If I did not say I gave R, you could not tell from her +1 numbers.

I'll stock up on strips later, plus get more syringes too. I had to go to a few places the last time and I let myself get down to the last bag of 10. I also got a 5-cart of Lev, just in case it is decided that I try switching. If not, then I am sure I can find someone to use the Lev. I have about 1 3/4 Lantus left, so there is time to decide.

Shadoe is still LOVING that pillow I brought out the other nite; I guess her chunky belly like feels better cuz the pillow sinks down for the bulge and supports the sides. I have another pillow just like it that I may as well place inside one of her carry cases too.

Booboo has been a bit more mean than usual, and I did not think that was possible. When she is sitting on HER stool in the hall and Shadoe walks by, Shadoe gets the crouch/super HSSSSS skinny black Halloween stance. I would be upset but Shadoe casually turns to Booboo as if to say "you say something??" Then she strolls on by. I think she may be getting a bit jealous of the imbalance in attention with Shadoe being tested more frequently with the introduction of R. Unfortunately, there is not much I can do because Booboo HATES attention and does not like to be touched, so she is SOL.

I'll head out for errands once her numbers level off, maybe around noon.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Just got a call from the stupid vet. My first words were, and I planned this to make her feel horrible, Oh good, so you found out if there is a tumor possibility? Her reply was WHAT?
Gotcha!
I honestly don't think she knows what we were testing, seriously. I replied, Uh you know, the pituitary gland, active tumor? Her reply, oh. I asked do you even know if they have run the test or not? Because if they have not, it won't be done till next Wednesday and will the sample still be OK or will we have to do this again???
Here's her story.
She did call around noon and confirmed that everything was there, but there were no results yet. Her shift ends at 3pm. EXCUSE ME? Does your sign NOT say 7 days a week, always open?? What? Everything stops when YOU go home? I said I know of another person who submitted samples for testing on Wednesday and SHE called MSU at 430pm or something and GOT THE RESULTS OVER THE PHONE!! Her reply 'Oh really!'
:YMSIGH: Again, I got the "I DO apologize... " and she will call today but if they are not open it will have to wait till Monday. Did she not realize that some places are open Mon-Fri ONLY? And did she think we are testing for an allergy to cheeese?? cat(2)_steam

I confirmed that she has both my work and cel, and she will call me as soon as she knows something. I want to go down there and strangle the stupid out of her, but I don't think it would work.
I gave her one more dig to chew on - I told her that I guess we will go up to 10.5uL and continue with giving R as well because we can't even buy a 5.5 BG number. Gotta talk down to her level; she don't understand 99, but she can wrap her head around a 5.5 value.
I hope she feels really bad, but maybe I'll pop in tomorrow to annoy her some more - depends how badly I still feel.

I think I will feel better if I go to Petsmart and buy Shadoe and Booboo a HUGE hulking treehouse. We'll see. It will be nice to see the kitties have something neat and new to investigate and destroy.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Good monring Gayle.
I'll take turns with you strangling vets. It is really quite sad that they just have no idea
what FD is really all about.
I know the "suspense" is driving you but as you have been told, it won't change your plans
for what you are doing now for Shadoe.
Going to petsmart sounds like a good plan. I wish we had them here.
We have a selection of nothing to buy to spoil our babies.
I think Booboo and Shadoe will be happy with a tree house.

Good luck with the R today. That was a nice drop between +1 & +2.
Are you going to be doing it tonight?

Have a great day and go storm the vet. I can just picture her shaking in her lab coat. :-D
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Sometimes some people are so stupid they don't even realize you have just sent them sprawling....
so sorry that this is what's going on there Gayle....
that Petsmart trip sounds like a cook thing to do today! Take you mind off the anger.
(((Gayle)))
Waiting for a definitive answer can be so frustrating in the best of circumstances...
You are doing a great job...a Great Mama! ((hugs))
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Man.. she just keeps digging doesn't she (your vet). I am still shocked they gave Holly the results over the phone, they refused to even talk to me other than to confirm they had Leo's bloods and what they were testing for.
(((hugs))) and serenity vibes to ya, I know you're probably ready to rip someone's face off.
..C
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Yikes! That vet has issues. I would be so frustrated, too!

How long has Shadoe been going to her?

I think the treehouse is a much better plan of action. I also enjoyed reading your description about Shadoe's new favorite pillow that supports the chunky belly and keeps her propped up on the sides. Now that sounds like some good support! Much better than your vet. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Blowing money on my kitties always makes me feel better, even if it's temporary. I imagine watching them go ga-ga over a tree house will help too. :lol:

P.S. Would you post a picture of the pillow. I find my belly needs some support at times. :lol:
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Carolyn,
Yeah, I doubted VERY much that I could have gotten the results over the phone, but I had to toss that DIG in; I am sure once she said that she was finished her shift at 3pm, she knew she had blown any chance she had of being free of any blame.
Anyways, I have to pursue their shoddy attitude so that other animals don't get the same lackadaisical treatment and service.
I really don't have a clue if the results will be positive or negative, and I realize that Shadoe is going to continue to gobble insulin, but with approaches possibly differing if IAA or acro, then I want to know NOW! And get cracking!
What scares me even more is to have both come back negative, and Shadoe to continue to consume more and more insulin, but not being able to find out the reason. Now, that's scary to me. I think I will ask for a referral to the specialists, but I now know that the vets Shadoe is seeing now know less than I do, and I know almost nothing.

Randi,
I am pretty sure that the R dose is kinda low and we need more to get a good punch going, but I'll bow to those who have the experience, and will wait till it's more clear what the R is really doing for Shadoe's numbers. Start low; go slow.

Erica,
That animal hospital is just a few blocks from me, and I have always gone there. There is a really nice vet there from when I first went, over a decade ago, but it looks like she has stepped back to have this young one handle Shadoe, cuz the young one has another FD kitty so she would know more haha_smiley Now that's funny to be sure. Maybe she will be their expert, but only after I have educated her.

Like has been said lots before, the results don't mean a whole hill of beans to Shadoe. She just wants her food and snacks, will tolerate the pokes, and feels better after her shots. I am positive that Friday or Monday don't matter one bit to her. And I bet she would be fine with waiting till next Friday!

It looks like the R has fizzled as +4 went up to 245. I'll catch a +5 before I head out. If the number drops, maybe I'll be convinced to stay for the +6 :lol:
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Whoa, Gayle, you really have quite the situation there with your vet. I can feel the adrenaline oozing out of your post. I'd say "deep breath" but what the hell? Go get her!

I hope the treehouse is a huge hit. Maybe you'd like to play in it--just a little bit--you know, to calm your nerves. :-D
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I want to go down there and strangle the stupid out of her, but I don't think it would work.

You have a way of putting things that makes me laugh. Hope you enjoy your retail therapy, and that your weekend of waiting passes quickly. I have a bean doctor who likes to do stuff like call at 5 pm on a Friday (of a long weekend) and leave a message on my voice mail along the lines of "I'm just calling to discuss your mammogram results with you ..." and then leave me to work up a lather all weekend. I know how hard this wait is for you.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +4 245

Shopping was just for a few groceries and some first aid stuff since my pointer, tent-making finger had a run in with the vacuum. The finger survived, but with a battle scar.

Tomorrow I will do the tree shopping, or some sort of big carpeted thing that the cats can investigate for an hour or so, then be bored with it.

I went with .5R at +7.5 then tested again at +8 to be caught up to the on-the-hour numbers. Shadoe is on her back into pink, so I hope it will bring her back down into some yellow through to pmps.

She's happy enough, on her pillow, dozing and watching the Olympics.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +4 245

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Tomorrow I will do the tree shopping, or some sort of big carpeted thing that the cats can investigate for an hour or so, then be bored with it.
Keep the box, they'll enjoy playing with that.

I think R, for many, peaks around +3 and is gone by 4 or 5 (ECID, of course). If you feed when you shoot, +1 could have food influence, I think even +2 could.

Nice to see she's still getting into yellow territory, much better than pinkus.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +4 245

I hope you buy a lovely present for the kitties and give the bill to the vet for all of the time and inconvenience she has caused you. What a pain. What about your being worried and caring about Shadoe does she not understand?
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +10 256

First, this R is pretty good; I like it and I think Shadoe does too.
It seems to be the little nudge needed to 'remind' Shadoe where she should be. I know it is only Yellow, but still. It's a whole string of them, and that's a first.

The treehouse is going to be tough; there are all kinds with various combos of perches and enclosures, but it will be fun.

I was shuffling things around here to take my mind off the vets, and I just noticed that I got a voice mail from them. Nothing surprising either. The vet got someone else to call me to say she had called the lab but their hours are 730am to 530pm Mon-Friday. the person also apologized and said they realize how hard it is to wait until Monday but they would call first thing on Monday at 730am.

Tonite should be interesting for Shadoe's pm shots. I will go ahead with .5R with the 10L, but may not use more R at halfway since I'll be going to bed and can't monitor.
Tomorrow, I am out from +4 to +6, so I should be able to give some R when I get home.

Shadoe's napping and I should too.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +10 297

R class, intermediate level.

Remember the idea of the R is to knock the preshot values down to where the Lantus/Levemir can work more comfortably whenever it kicks in. The goal is to not start bouncing, only smooth as glass curves. We do not want a rainbow spreadsheet. The hard work needs to be done by your basal insulin, and that's why you're still being aggressive with those basal increases and timid with your boosters. You are doing well grasshopper, yet I sense (and see) chomping at the bit.

Advice: Next basal increase pop 1u. Glad you got Lev. You will love it.

Disclaimer to those not using R: This booster is not to play around with on your diabetic cat. 1/2u of R would be dangerous for a normal diabetic cat. Any amount of R would be far too much for a normal diabetic cat.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +10 297

Hi,Gayle!
hope You did have a good nap - You need it..
sorry about all this vet sh..
it's so hard to find the good one who really cares. I did have very bad experience and allso at the time I know none about FD.
Good for you girl that You are armed with all the posible knowledge and be aggressive with "Dr's".
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe pmp 367

Oh well, it was nice while it lasted today; let's see how it goes tonite.
I wonder what her pmps would have been if we had not given a bit more R to try and hold the yellow. I think it may have been higher than the resulting 367.

Shadoe seems fine and is not eating near as much as she once did. It's more of a choice for her as she is not feeling sick at all. She's just not that hungry. When she is, she goes over and has a bit to eat.

I am surprised and relieved that she is not minding the hourly testing at all.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe pmp 367

Hi Gayle
I hope you were able to enjoy your day out today.
Shadoe is spending some nice time in the yellows and she is used to going back up.
Another testing night I guess.
I am glad that Shado is tolerating the testing.
Max is getting pretty angry with me.
We will watch again tonight.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe pmp 367

Shadoe has decided that she gave those yellows a good shot and she has decided that they are just not the color for her; they clash with her eyes or something stupid like that. :YMSIGH:
I know it's only +2, but I sure expected to see something by now from the R.
Oh well, it`s gathered data I suppose.
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe amps 356 +1~320 +2~230 +3~220

Gayle and Shadoe said:
........ I want to go down there and strangle the stupid out of her, but I don't think it would work.


Gayle, I am sorry for everything you are dealing with....but I have to say, that phrase made me bust out laughing. :lol: I have never heard it put quite that way!!

Again, I am so sorry you have to spend the weekend waiting.......keep up the work Shadoe is sssooo lucky to have you as her mama bean.

Sherry & Zoe
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe pmp 367 +2 358

I don't know what it is about pink that is so hard for so many cats to let go of. Shadoe does seem to like it more than most, but all of them seem to go running back to pink at every opportunity. Glad you have a chance to shop, that will make things better. :smile:
 
Re: 2/27 Shadoe pmp 367 +2 358

Thanks for your kind words Sherry, but sometimes, I get upset when you are let down by supposed professionals, the experts on whom you think you can rely!

I am starting to really like that one line too! It`s so fitting haha_smiley

Libby,
I swear it is all her muscles - she just hangs on to those numbers and the only time she strays is if she gets distracted or something. Then it`s like oh right, I forgot and need to get back where I belong.
When she is in nice colors, she seems very uncomfortable. Sure she is purring but it`s like she is just waiting it out.
We`ll see how her test results come back and hopefully it can shed some light on what`s up with her.
 
I don`t know if it`s worth testing any more tonite; Shadoe is stuck on 335 and refuses to move.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top