2/27 - Sammy (formerly known as Sami) AMPS 122; PMPS 132; +2 65; +3 52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Good morning LL,

Yesterday's Condo

I think Sammy is having a bit of a bounce from the low 40's last night. I thought about sticking with the 1.75 through this mini bounce, but decided to risk it and decrease. It might come back to bite me, but at least I can say that I gave it a try. I would like to be able to keep Sammy in the upper 50-70's without HC food.

Based on the pattern from Tuesday, where we were on a bounce and took a reduction, it will probably be a less active cycle today, which is good, because the boss is in the office most of the day today and I do have to get some work done and not spend every moment attending to Sammy. I am extremely thankful that he allows me to bring Sammy to work with me and I don't want take advantage of that or not get my work completed.

We will see how today goes. If it is anything like Tuesday then we probably won't see as much GREEN today, and will probably be back up in the low 100's for PMPS, and I will be giving fluids tonight.

As I do more analyzing of the spreadsheet I am seeing that we have only had GREEN PS numbers when we didn't have a drop into the 40's during the cycle before. So I am almost certain that the BLUE we have been seeing is a MiniBOUNCE, and I really want to prevent that. I know we will need to drop into the 40's for reductions, that is find, but I really don't want to drop to the low 40's.

We will see how today and the next couple of days go on this reduced dose and if I do see numbers trending I can always go back to the 1.75 units.

Tina, I'm wondering when Sammy's big news is going to be announced on Ravelry! I still can't believe it took eight years for the vets to figure out that she was a he! Blows my mind.

LOL! I am announcing it on the Podcast that will be posted on tomorrow morning. I recorded it last night and will edit and upload tonight and then have it go live tomorrow morning. If you joined my group then you will seen a new thread sometime tomorrow morning. I think the episode will be called "Shock of a Lifetime".

Something important to keep in mind when making a dosing decision is that with Lantus you are not shooting the PS, you are shooting a number 3 or so hours in - when onset occurs.

I think Sami may be on a mission. . . :cool:

Yes, I do understand that Lantus is supposed to have a 2-3 hour onset, but Sammy hasn't received the memo and he starts using that insulin the moment it is in his system. We have had fast drops by +1 and even further drops by +2. It has been quite an exciting adventure.

Next time you go to the store, pick up some "Gravy Lovers" food...Fancy Feast has several of them and when you need to carb him up, you just pop the top and "squeeze" the gravy part out into a bowl and use that so you don't risk having him "fill up" and not be willing to eat later if you need him to. The carbs are mostly in the gravy anyway

What we mean by "work hard to keep him up" is like if tonight, he dropped below 50 so you gave him some HC food...if the next test he was still below 50 even after the HC, or he went up and then came back down and you had to keep feeding him to keep him above 50, that's what we mean by "working hard to keep him up"....If one little splurge of HC food brought him above 50 and he stayed there, that's different.

I will be going to the store tonight to look for some medium carb food that is Turkey based and I will also look for the Gravy Lovers. I haven't been too concerned about him getting too full because his lows have been early in the cycle and since we are doing the mini meals he really hasn't had too much to eat at that point so there isn't a problem. The problem will arise when we have finished off those mini meals and end up with a low sometime late in the cycle. I really don't see that happening because even looking back at the 2010 spreadsheet most of the lows were before +6, but anything can happen, so I need to be prepared.

As far as working hard. I guess I sort of have been working hard to keep him above 50. I have to check my notes, but every time I have given HC I try to only give ½ tsp at first to see if that will help then 15-20 minutes later if he is still low or just above 50 I will give another ½ tsp. The last three times he has dropped down to the low 40's I have given 2-3 tsp of 26% food over a couple hour period. Would you consider this working hard, or is is this just normal. I think it is working hard. If I only had to give ½ tsp - 1 tsp once to bring him up then I might say that was reasonable, but then again, maybe it is because of the pate food I am giving rather than gravy. I will have to try the gravy the next time and see how that works for us.

I will be testing Sammy at +1 and then I will hopefully be able to go back to bed for an hour or so. It all depends on what that +1 number is.

I will check in a little later this morning or this afternoon to see how everyone else is doing this morning.

Have a great day everyone.
 
As I expected, we didn't see as much green today. Right now we are trending up, but I hope not too much more before PMPS. As I already mentioned I will be doing fluids tonight so hopefully that will help bring those numbers back down.

I would like to seem more GREEN for longer in his cycle, and if I don't see that by tomorrow during the day, then I might go back to 1.75 units tomorrow night. I won't make any decisions until I see those number everything might be perfectly fine and Sammy just needs to adjust to this dose, but I do want to seem more GREEN and if that means we need to bump it back up to 1.75 units for a bit longer I am all for it. And if we have to do that hopefully the depot will be cleared out a bit more and we won't be seeing those low 40's as much.
 
It'll be interesting to see what the fluids do tonight, and if it does bring him down, will he stay there.

The 2.25U dose may have still influenced yesterday's numbers (up to 6 cycles) but that should be gone now. I try not to predict too much what Neko will do. She's a cat - she likes to surprise. :cat:
 
@Wendy&Neko My friend who is a pharmacist says that fluids should bring the glucose down, but won't hold them there without help. What I am hoping is that once Sammy is back back down a bit with the fluids the insulin won't have to work as hard to keep the numbers there. We will see how it goes.

I do know about the surprises that Sammy can throw my way. Hello, He is a BOY, he kept a secret for more than 8 years. LOL!
 
Glad you didn't fall asleep last night I was getting worried when his spreadsheet wasn't updated :nailbiting: good luck with the reduction :)
 
Glad you didn't fall asleep last night I was getting worried when his spreadsheet wasn't updated :nailbiting: good luck with the reduction :)

Yeah, I don't typically update the spreadsheet overnight because I try to do the test feed a snack if it is required and then go back to bed with 5 minutes.
 
Holy mackinoly!!! Wow have things changed in Sammy's life since I've been gone. First, Sami is a Sammy (bet that was a shock) and look at that sea of blue and green!!! :D:D:D And you are also sounding much more comfortable with the great numbers, Tina. Fantastic!!!

One thing I would recommend is to just slow down on the reductions a bit. Sammy might be on a mission but you don't want to reduce too often and lose the momentum.

Way to go!!!! Oh..BTW..I left some info on Rusty's condo about WN foods. And thank you for dropping Mike a note in Gracies condo while I was gone.:bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top