2/27 Oscar amps 101 +4 321 ~ bouncy, bouncy....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=37373

We had a flat blue day yesterday during the am cycle and I was hopeful that these bounces were going to stop. Nice lovely amps this morning (101), but by +4 we were over 300 again. The bounces tend to clear by the latter half of the cycle, and I don't think he went too low last night. According to the protocol, we can raise the dose tomorrow, but I am wondering if we should give the 1.25u more time to settle. The 101 this morning is the lowest number we have seen on this dose so far, which is a good range imo.

I guess I can't complain too much - the bounces are clearing quickly and he is on a MUCH lower dose of insulin. With lantus, these bounces would just be high and flat.
 
Isn't an inverted curve an indication of too much insulin? Asking - I know I read that from Jojo once, but can't remember the particulars.

I do know that Beau came out of the gate on lev and dropped low (on .5u) so I reduced him to .3u and it didn't seem to be enough so I raised him to .4, still didn't seem to be enough, raise to .5u and that was too much. I ended up where .5u was clearly too much, but .4u seemed like not enough and I was very frustrated! Turned out he was rebounding, still, on .4u so I reduced. And reduced and reduced.

For Oscar, 1.5u and above is clearly too much, so I would not raise him right now from 1.25. I would give that a few more days. And I would almost want to try dropping to 1u and give that a good 4-5 days and see what happens.

I think a little too much insulin keeps them in slightly higher numbers, bounces, etc. A greater amount of too much insulin will drop them to very low numbers. The trouble is in seeing those slightly elevated numbers and bounces as too much insulin or too little insulin - very difficult to tell, but bounces to me are a sign off too much. IMO.
 
Thanks for the insight gals! My gut was telling me to hold the 1.25u dose even though the protocol says I can raise it. I don't know if it is too much or not enough right now, but I can tell that his panicky liver doesn't quite know what to do with this dose. There have been no lows for it to really bounce off of, but those spikes into 300's can't be anything but a bounce.
 
Still bouncing :YMSIGH:

2/28 amps 63
+2 237
pmps 55
+2 188
+5 248

3/1 amps 145
+4 295
+8 154

My boy is on a roller coaster! :shock:
 
Hmmm... I might be inclined to reduce the dose a bit because of those bounces. He is nadiring at +12 - that's OK, and the number isn't too low, but that bounce to the 300s seems a bit extreme. I would prefer to take the "edge" off both the highs and the lows by reducing to about 1.15u (half way between 1u and 1.25u).

What do others think?
 
Oh gosh, I don't know if I can measure 1.15u! Would that be with the plunger just touching the 1u line, or would there be daylight between the 1u line and the plunger?
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie said:
On my syringes (GNP from Hocks) it would be touching or just barely (a hair) overlapping - no air/light showing.

OK good, that's what we went with last night. He had a major bounce into the 300s by +5 last night but that was really from the previous dose as the f1u hadn't really taken effect yet. Back into the blues for this morning, so we'll see if he can even out more with this dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top