2/27 Oren; AMPS-441; +5-398

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-26-oren-amps-425-3-349-5-345-6-364-7-330-8-398-pmps-375-pm-5-359.133740/

Oren returned for a general exam at vet this a.m, along w/ a fructosamine test. I know the consensus here was to skip it, but I felt like the all over the board numbers and really only a solid week of testing made it seem reasonable. His exam was good; he even gained .3 lbs since last visit (2/6), clinically he is in good shape; normal temp, good hydration, walking normally etc. I gave the vet a copy of the SLGS method (which I'm leaning towards) and he said he would review. Also gave him the spreadsheet.
 
possible I'll get them tomorrow, but more likely not till Mon. would they go on the labs worksheet? i see blood test and urinalysis, but am not sure if Fructosamine results are included in the blood test parameters listed there? He definitely seems more relaxed and happy today(at least once we got back). PU/PD down even though his numbers are higher.
 
You can always put the fruc results in the comments section of your ss. I decline it personally. My vet usually agrees since I have lots of data. Before the dental my vet was inclined to run it because Max's numbers were so good and there wasn't any glucose in his urine. He wondered if Max was going OTJ. I declined and the skipped dose for the dental and subsequent numbers showed that I was right.
 
well, as I really only had 1 week worth of data, but he's been on insulin for a month, it seemed reasonable to get this test this time around. Glad to hear your Max is doing so well.
 
Definitely not unreasonable to get the test, there's never any harm in an extra test, we just like to save $ where possible :) Great WCR too :)
 
Definitely not unreasonable to get the test, there's never any harm in an extra test, we just like to save $ where possible :) Great WCR too :)
Any data is worth getting. I didn't mean to imply otherwise it was just meant as a heads up that once you have enough data you might not want to spend money on the fruc since you will have real time data. At my vet's office it is not a cheap test.
 
yeah, I understand the idea that if you have tons of data it's good. And I hear you on the $ part! today's visit, for the general exam and fruc. test was 102$. so I don't know how that compares elsewhere, but sure don't want to have to do it every few weeks! and I'm stupid, what is WCR?
 
WCR =whole cat report, because our cats are more than blood sugar tests.

Sounds like Oren might be feeling good. That's great. Good vet visit too!

You do test more than enough to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol if you are interested in it.

If Oren makes this bounce last the full 3 days, he'll be clearing it mid to late day tomorrow. If you see a yellow number that would be giving you notice that you might want to test more to see how low he goes when he clears the bounce.
 
this week was a bit of an anomaly in terms of my being able to test this much. i ended up w/ an extra day at home bc of snow..and this weekend, several activities were cancelled bc of snow. In order to truly follow the TRP, what is the minimum of tests per day required? there are 3 days a week i simply cannot get midday tests due to my work schedule, and I may not always be able to get them on wkend days either...
 
You really need a minimum of 3 per day, both preshots and at least one midcycle. People who can't get a day cycle mid-cycle test usually try to get a pm cycle test right before bed,.

If that's too much then SLGS might be a better fit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top