Staci & Ivy
Very Active Member
2/25/25
Amps 53 Libre
Last night at dinner, I fed her the AD food and she ate the whole thing eagerly and even ate it at as snacks at +1+2 and +3 in the evening.
I lowered her Lantus dose yesterday at pm dose to 3 units and again to 2.75 units Lantus today (yesterday morning I was at 3.5 units and then not seeing any rise in glucose after lowering it to 3 units last night.
Her glucose was so low *on the Libre that it shut down the Libre and ended it. That was around 9:15 last night so I had to replace it.
And we had an overnight cycle of those very low numbers again on the Libre, and it looks like it might be shutting down the next one again. I may have to replace it yet again today
***My main concern at the moment is her BG has been much lower for her the past few days.
Yesterday and today I’ve lowered her insulin doses and she’s still as low as she’s been on a higher dose. I would think that her glucose would start to rise when I reduced dose.
Currently On the Libre she’s been in the 50s (and even lower) which is usually around 140 or 150 on a handheld meter for me.
Yesterday I blood tested her on a human glucometer I use and she was 120 on that meter (that was a bit lower than I thought it would have been). Libre was 55.
It’s one thing when she’s not eating for her blood glucose to be lower, I’m concerned now that she is eating her blood glucose is still low.
****That makes me worry that with her pancreatitis she’s not producing the enzymes she needs to breakdown and absorb the food that she’s eating so it would just move through her without her really getting anything out of it, which can set her up for a euglycemic DKA.
I am testing her urine with ketone strips and they are negative.
I’ve also noticed overnight her stools are becoming looser again, so I’m concerned about the possibly its from eating the AD and yesterday eating Fancy Feast foods. Could she be reacting to those foods?
This morning I was able to feed her-her regular 12.5% lamb/sweet potato diet and she ate it up completely and happily, so that was very good. (I fed higher carbs because she’s had lower glucose).
Do you think there’s any downside for me to be giving her her regular diet, if she will eat it instead of the AD food that could cause tummy upset from too many varied foods?
Do you think giving her kaolin would be a good idea for the looser stools?
Or should I try that Animal Essentials Colon Rescue I was using again? (I had stopped it a few days ago since her stools were improving).
The last time she had fluids was on Monday at the vet 100 cc.
She’s eating on her own since last night and not vomiting but, the stools are softer than I’d like them to be?
But, again that could be from eating the alternate foods yesterday and the past few days.
I emailed my vet to see what he thinks about all of these questions Already this morning. I’m sure he’ll be thrilled to come in and get yet another email or question list from me
Hope you’re having a good day and safe surfing to all

Amps 53 Libre
Last night at dinner, I fed her the AD food and she ate the whole thing eagerly and even ate it at as snacks at +1+2 and +3 in the evening.
I lowered her Lantus dose yesterday at pm dose to 3 units and again to 2.75 units Lantus today (yesterday morning I was at 3.5 units and then not seeing any rise in glucose after lowering it to 3 units last night.
Her glucose was so low *on the Libre that it shut down the Libre and ended it. That was around 9:15 last night so I had to replace it.
And we had an overnight cycle of those very low numbers again on the Libre, and it looks like it might be shutting down the next one again. I may have to replace it yet again today
***My main concern at the moment is her BG has been much lower for her the past few days.
Yesterday and today I’ve lowered her insulin doses and she’s still as low as she’s been on a higher dose. I would think that her glucose would start to rise when I reduced dose.
Currently On the Libre she’s been in the 50s (and even lower) which is usually around 140 or 150 on a handheld meter for me.
Yesterday I blood tested her on a human glucometer I use and she was 120 on that meter (that was a bit lower than I thought it would have been). Libre was 55.
It’s one thing when she’s not eating for her blood glucose to be lower, I’m concerned now that she is eating her blood glucose is still low.
****That makes me worry that with her pancreatitis she’s not producing the enzymes she needs to breakdown and absorb the food that she’s eating so it would just move through her without her really getting anything out of it, which can set her up for a euglycemic DKA.
I am testing her urine with ketone strips and they are negative.
I’ve also noticed overnight her stools are becoming looser again, so I’m concerned about the possibly its from eating the AD and yesterday eating Fancy Feast foods. Could she be reacting to those foods?
This morning I was able to feed her-her regular 12.5% lamb/sweet potato diet and she ate it up completely and happily, so that was very good. (I fed higher carbs because she’s had lower glucose).
Do you think there’s any downside for me to be giving her her regular diet, if she will eat it instead of the AD food that could cause tummy upset from too many varied foods?
Do you think giving her kaolin would be a good idea for the looser stools?
Or should I try that Animal Essentials Colon Rescue I was using again? (I had stopped it a few days ago since her stools were improving).
The last time she had fluids was on Monday at the vet 100 cc.
She’s eating on her own since last night and not vomiting but, the stools are softer than I’d like them to be?
But, again that could be from eating the alternate foods yesterday and the past few days.
I emailed my vet to see what he thinks about all of these questions Already this morning. I’m sure he’ll be thrilled to come in and get yet another email or question list from me

Hope you’re having a good day and safe surfing to all

