2/26 Ivy Amps 53 L, +3.25 91, +4 53 L, +6 125, +9 103, Pmps 112 Libre Loose Stools Again

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
2/25/25
Amps 53 Libre

Last night at dinner, I fed her the AD food and she ate the whole thing eagerly and even ate it at as snacks at +1+2 and +3 in the evening.
I lowered her Lantus dose yesterday at pm dose to 3 units and again to 2.75 units Lantus today (yesterday morning I was at 3.5 units and then not seeing any rise in glucose after lowering it to 3 units last night.

Her glucose was so low *on the Libre that it shut down the Libre and ended it. That was around 9:15 last night so I had to replace it.

And we had an overnight cycle of those very low numbers again on the Libre, and it looks like it might be shutting down the next one again. I may have to replace it yet again today

***My main concern at the moment is her BG has been much lower for her the past few days.
Yesterday and today I’ve lowered her insulin doses and she’s still as low as she’s been on a higher dose. I would think that her glucose would start to rise when I reduced dose.


Currently On the Libre she’s been in the 50s (and even lower) which is usually around 140 or 150 on a handheld meter for me.

Yesterday I blood tested her on a human glucometer I use and she was 120 on that meter (that was a bit lower than I thought it would have been). Libre was 55.

It’s one thing when she’s not eating for her blood glucose to be lower, I’m concerned now that she is eating her blood glucose is still low.
****That makes me worry that with her pancreatitis she’s not producing the enzymes she needs to breakdown and absorb the food that she’s eating so it would just move through her without her really getting anything out of it, which can set her up for a euglycemic DKA.

I am testing her urine with ketone strips and they are negative.

I’ve also noticed overnight her stools are becoming looser again, so I’m concerned about the possibly its from eating the AD and yesterday eating Fancy Feast foods. Could she be reacting to those foods?

This morning I was able to feed her-her regular 12.5% lamb/sweet potato diet and she ate it up completely and happily, so that was very good. (I fed higher carbs because she’s had lower glucose).
Do you think there’s any downside for me to be giving her her regular diet, if she will eat it instead of the AD food that could cause tummy upset from too many varied foods?

Do you think giving her kaolin would be a good idea for the looser stools?
Or should I try that Animal Essentials Colon Rescue I was using again? (I had stopped it a few days ago since her stools were improving).

The last time she had fluids was on Monday at the vet 100 cc.

She’s eating on her own since last night and not vomiting but, the stools are softer than I’d like them to be?

But, again that could be from eating the alternate foods yesterday and the past few days.

I emailed my vet to see what he thinks about all of these questions Already this morning. I’m sure he’ll be thrilled to come in and get yet another email or question list from me :rolleyes:

Hope you’re having a good day and safe surfing to all :cat::cat:
 
I think if she eats her regular food in good amounts, it is completely fine to feed her this and kep the other ones for when she refuses her usual food, if that makes sense? Just my opinion of course. All those different foods must do something to her, especially since she is very sensitive.
Do you still give her S. Boulardii? If not, maybe start it again? It works very well and they can take it for a long time, too.
I don't have anwers about her BG and why it is lower, other than because she is eating less, but I am sure others will have experience with this.
I keep you in my thoughts, I hope that now she is eating better, things will soon get back to normal :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think if she eats her regular food in good amounts, it is completely fine to feed her this and kep the other ones for when she refuses her usual food, if that makes sense? Just my opinion of course. All those different foods must do something to her, especially since she is very sensitive.
Do you still give her S. Boulardii? If not, maybe start it again? It works very well and they can take it for a long time, too.
I don't have anwers about her BG and why it is lower, other than because she is eating less, but I am sure others will have experience with this.
I keep you in my thoughts, I hope that now she is eating better, things will soon get back to normal :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Cecile, I do agree, but switching foods around must be messing with her gut. I am giving the S. Boulardi still, and will continue that.

thanks for checking in and giving me some answers. I know you have lots of different experience with all of this.:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
The loose stools could be due to a change of food. Did it start after the food change?

As for her numbers and the lower dose, you could still be seeing the effects of the higher depot. It can take 4-6 cycles for the depot to adjust.

I'm going to tag a few others for your others questions:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
Thanks, Bhooma. Yes, I think after me syringe feeding her yesterday and giving her lots of fancy feast in the morning and then the A.D. in the evening I noticed things getting looser and looser as time went on. Wrong direction.
That’s why I tried to feed her her regular food this morning and I was thankful she was willing to eat it and she did so on her own.
That was the first time in almost a week that I didn’t have to intervene in getting her to eat anything.
Although last night she ate the AD like she hadn’t seen food.

I’m quite sure you’re right about the larger depot still being in effect and that will take some time to reduce a little bit. I just want to make sure it’s not a matter of a food absorption problem. I don’t want her heading into DKA.
Thanks again for your help :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks, Bhooma. Yes, I think after me syringe feeding her yesterday and giving her lots of fancy feast in the morning and then the A.D. in the evening I noticed things getting looser and looser as time went on. Wrong direction.
If you make the food change gradually, she might not have loosies. So, try and feed her a mix of her existing food and the new food, increasing the % of the new food every day. They generally suggest making food transitions over a week. But sometimes, when they don't eat their usual food at all, you have to keep trying new foods!
 
Hi Cecile, I do agree, but switching foods around must be messing with her gut. I am giving the S. Boulardi still, and will continue that.

thanks for checking in and giving me some answers. I know you have lots of different experience with all of this.:bighug::cat::bighug:
I am glad Ivy's problems have a known cause and that she is eating, for sure. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and sweet Ivy!

I'm happy to hear she's eating on her own meow. Looks like she's making progress in the right direction. Hopefully her bakery products will harden as well.
I can't imagine dealing with as much as you. Staci you're such a great mama. And so lucky you're able to be home to watch her.
We're continuing to send many PAWsitive vibes and healing vines :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
I’m pretty sure the loose stool is from the food. The eating on her own means she’s feeling better. I think the meds you are now using are helping or the pancreatitis episode is ending. I would not decrease too fast as you have depot action for sure. Maybe see if a combo of AD and her regular food will get rid if the loose stool.
 
I'm so glad she's eating (enthusiastically, even!) now, that's such great news! I know it must feel a bit like one step forward, two steps back, but it does seem like she's moving in the right direction.

Obviously not nearly as experienced as most here (including you), but I was also going to suggest that maybe the depot was the cause of the continued lows.

You take such good care of your girl and she's so lucky to have you. :bighug:
 
I would not decrease too fast as you have depot action for sure.
Hi Elise, do you mean not to decrease insulin too fast? ??
Just want to clarify.
I understand the higher depo is in effect.
Just couldn’t keep up with the lower cycles and not enough food. Concerned if food was being absorbed properly due to pancreatitis.
Once she stabilizes I’d want to take her back up again.

How long is it safe to stay on that Cerenia and Mirtaz? When do you know it’s time to reduce those or eliminate them?
My script for buprenorphine runs through Friday I believe.

Thanks :bighug:
 
Yes, I would not decrease the insulin dose too quickly. It’s safe to give mirt and cerenia indefinitely. Once eating normally remove one thing at a time and observe. Otherwise if symptoms return you won’t know if all or one is helping. I always removed the appetite stimulant first.
 
Hi Staci,
I am so sorry that Ivy's plight continues. I am sure you are worried sick and exhausted!
Mikan ALWAYS had tummy issues when I introduced new food - poor thing.
How is Ivy acting otherwise? Is she moving around? Enjoying cuddling/petting?
Hope she starts feeling better soon. Sending love and hugs to you and Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
don’t want her heading into DKA.
Ketones can develop if there is not enough food and not enough insulin.
You are addressing both those issues which is good.
I would also suggest testing for ketones with a urine test and Ketostix. Cats get ketones before they go into DKA so monitoring the ketones is your early warning system.
 
Hi Staci, I know I haven't posted lately but I have been checking on Ivy. I'm happy to hear she startled eating on her own, so that's a good sign. I hate that you both are going through this. I hope her poops start to return to normal. You are such an amazing Mom Staci , sending prayers for sweet Ivy and lots of hugs to you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Edit I'm glad you got the buprenorphine for her
 
Last edited:
Good meowning Staci and sweet Ivy!

I'm happy to hear she's eating on her own meow. Looks like she's making progress in the right direction. Hopefully her bakery products will harden as well.
I can't imagine dealing with as much as you. Staci you're such a great mama. And so lucky you're able to be home to watch her.
We're continuing to send many PAWsitive vibes and healing vines :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
Hi Karolina, thank you for the pawsitive vibes and healing vines. I think they’re helping.
Believe me, I do know I’m very lucky to be able to be here to manage her so closely. I really don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t work from and be home to take care of her.
she needs such close monitoring, and this has certainly clarified that.
You’re so sweet and we appreciate you. Sending our love back to you, Nestle and Peanut.
:bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Yes, I would not decrease the insulin dose too quickly. It’s safe to give mirt and cerenia indefinitely. Once eating normally remove one thing at a time and observe. Otherwise if symptoms return you won’t know if all or one is helping. I always removed the appetite stimulant first.
Thank you for that additional advice, you’ve been so helpful.

I believe the doctor wants me to continue on the meds through this week, but I’ll try to get clarification from him on when he thinks I can try to start removing some of the supporting meds.

I just feel very thankful that she’s starting to eat her regular food again so that’s definitely a step in the right direction.
Hope you have a wonderful evening:cat::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
I am so sorry that Ivy's plight continues. I am sure you are worried sick and exhausted!
Mikan ALWAYS had tummy issues when I introduced new food - poor thing.
How is Ivy acting otherwise? Is she moving around? Enjoying cuddling/petting?
Hope she starts feeling better soon. Sending love and hugs to you and Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, thank you so much for the love and hugs, We sure appreciate them and they have helped so much.
I don’t know what I would do without everybody here pitching into help and support us during critical moments in our journey.

I didn’t realize Mikan had such a Sensitivity to new foods. It must’ve been very difficult to manage, but she was generally a pretty good eater, wasn’t she?

Ivy‘s finally started moving around a little bit. I did take her out of the basement for the first time today just to get her some sun and the change of scenery. I know she hasn’t wanted to leave her comfy secure areas where she likes to hang out, but I felt like she needed something else and I just didn’t really want to keep her away from her litter box before today, but she did just fine.

She did crawl under my clothes in my closet and went to sleep there for a few hours so she seemed very content there.
I’m just thankful she just did a good job eating her dinner and ate her regular food again so that’s definitely a good sign.
We just have to get the BM’s back to normal and hopefully continue healing and then get her insulin back where she needs to be without these intense dives.

That was really hard to manage with barely any food in her system and pretty terrifying.

Sending you lots of warm wishes back for a nice quiet evening :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Hi Staci, I know I haven't posted lately but I have been checking on Ivy. I'm happy to hear she startled eating on her own, so that's a good sign. I hate that you both are going through this. I hope her poops start to return to normal. You are such an amazing Mom Staci , sending prayers for sweet Ivy and lots of hugs to you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Edit I'm glad you got the buprenorphine for her
Hi, Thanks so much For checking on us. I hope you’re doing well, we miss you.
Hopefully, she will continue to heal and head in the right direction. She definitely seemed a lot better today than I’ve seen her look in a week so that’s hopeful. Hopefully we can both get some rest tonight. I think that will help and we need to get a continue eating and of course clean up those BM’s. She slept with me last night for a little while, but her butt was a little stinky, so we had to address that today. Of course she wasn’t thrilled about that :rolleyes:
We’re sending you back lots of love and hugs:bighug::kiss::cat::bighug:
 
Update: Ivy had a good dinner ate all of her meal of her regular 6% lamb food. She ate her +1 snack and her +2 is coming up.
Before the +1 snack, she was laying by her feeder waiting for it to open.

Something tells me the mirtazapine dose may be too strong for her if it’s making her do that. She never does that. She never waits for food or begs for food, so we’ll see how things go tomorrow and then I have to figure out when is a good time to possibly reduce that medication. I have a feeling it’s just too strong if it’s making her do that.

Her stools are still softer than normal, so hoping they start to get more firm again.

Thanks for everyone care and concern. We appreciate all the warm support. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
That is good news that Ivy ate her normal food today and tonight. The Mirataz will make her wait and beg for food. It happens with Butch too.
I think the soft stool is because of the different foods that she was eating. Hopefully, now that she's back on her regular 6% lamb food her stool will be firmer again.
Sending prayers and lots of hugs to you both. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Looks like you got some sleep last night, That's wonderful news that Ivy has started eating on her own :cat:.
I hope she continues to just eat her lamb and then her poop will start to firm up :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Haven't been feeling that great, had to have 4 teeth pulled and have been having some pain. Need another injection in my hip socket on 3-23 until I decide when I want the freaking hip replacement.
Putting it off as long as possible
@Staci & Ivy
 
That is good news that Ivy ate her normal food today and tonight. The Mirataz will make her wait and beg for food. It happens with Butch too.
I think the soft stool is because of the different foods that she was eating. Hopefully, now that she's back on her regular 6% lamb food her stool will be firmer again.
Sending prayers and lots of hugs to you both. :bighug::cat::bighug:
Hi Madeline, thank you for the good wishes!!
Do you reduce the Mirtaz dose when it makes Butch beg for food?
I’m trying to decide if thats the best move - and how much to reduce it.
Thanks :bighug::cat::bighug:
@Madeline528
 
Hey Staci! I'm glad to see that Ivy is starting to eat again, that is definitely a good step forward. I want to second what several other members are saying and give you some reassurance. I think the loose stool is from the switching up foods. Kai had an episodes of pancreatitis last year and i was trying to get him to eat ANYTHING from Weruva to Fancy Feast (LC to HC) and it took his stomach a few days to return to normal. Thats when I started the S. Boulardii and it really helped, he has been on it ever since. If she is starting to eat now on her own, then I think she is definitely starting to get over this episode and/or the meds are starting to really help.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hey Staci! I'm glad to see that Ivy is starting to eat again, that is definitely a good step forward. I want to second what several other members are saying and give you some reassurance. I think the loose stool is from the switching up foods. Kai had an episodes of pancreatitis last year and i was trying to get him to eat ANYTHING from Weruva to Fancy Feast (LC to HC) and it took his stomach a few days to return to normal. Thats when I started the S. Boulardii and it really helped, he has been on it ever since. If she is starting to eat now on her own, then I think she is definitely starting to get over this episode and/or the meds are starting to really help.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Maddie, thanks so much for letting me know. I’m sorry to hear that. Kai also went through this. It seems like it’s really so common. And so difficult Through. But so dangerous for these diabetic cats who really need to eat, it’s so critical.

How do you administer the S Boulardi to Kai??
when I first started giving it to Ivy when all this started, I put it in a little bit of food and she turned her nose up to it, but that could be because she was turning her nose up at everything at that point. I’ve been syringing it to her, and I’d like to not be doing that because she hates me syringing her four times a day.
She’s normally very good about me putting supplements in her food.
Thanks again for jumping in with your experience, it’s so helpful to hear what others have been through. Sending you both lots of hug hugs and hope for a very boring day for all of us
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Looks like you got some sleep last night, That's wonderful news that Ivy has started eating on her own :cat:.
I hope she continues to just eat her lamb and then her poop will start to firm up :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Haven't been feeling that great, had to have 4 teeth pulled and have been having some pain. Need another injection in my hip socket on 3-23 until I decide when I want the freaking hip replacement.
Putting it off as long as possible
@Staci & Ivy
Hi Diane, I did get some sleep which was really badly needed. I was falling asleep last night while trying to watch TV by 8:30, But needed to stay awake until after her 930 snack.
I’m sorry to hear about your teeth pull. I hope you’re recovering from that. It must’ve been so painful:(
Good luck with the injection next month. I hope it brings you some relief. I know you’re really struggling with all this pain. Hopefully if you’re able to get the hip replacement that should make things much better once you get past it. Everyone seems to really be so happy once they’ve done it and have moved on from it. It changes their life.
Sending lots of love and prayers to you and thanks for keeping an eye on us. We appreciate your support always.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Best news ever!!!! So glad to her she's eating again... that's #1.
I know Jason, I know you’ve been down this road and eating is key. What a s$#t show this last week has been. So so so difficult and stressful for both of us.
It’s so hard to see them so miserable and in pain :(

sending you and Kona lots of love, hope all is well:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top