2/26 Blackie AMPS-47, cont'd

Status
Not open for further replies.

Team Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Feb. 25

+12 - 38 fed 1/2 FF LC
AMPS (+13) - 47 fed 1/2 FF LC, shot 5.25u
+2 - 103
+4 - 94
+6 - 67
+8 - 137
PMPS - 454

Unexpected low number this morning but I think he earned another decrease after 15 cycles at 5.5u. We'll see how much he rebounds today. Otherwise hes well.
 
Re: 2/26 Blackie AMPS-47

Ronnie is right - when you shoot this low of a number and do not have much information as to whether this is rising or falling, you need a +1 test.

I'm just going to repeat this in case no one has ever noted this in your condo. You have options when you get a number this low.
  • You can stall and not feed for 15 minutes then re-test. You can repeat this for up to approx. 2 hours before it has a big effect on the shed. Once you know you have either a surf or a rising number, you are OK to shoot.
  • You can give a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose. This is a deliberate dose reduction for this one cycle. It has an obvious effect on the shed.
  • Usually the least preferred option is to skip the shot.

There are usually people around if you want help trying to sort out what the best option is. If you shoot this low, you really need to monitor closely.
 
Re: 2/26 Blackie AMPS-47

Any updates? ok, maybe a +1.5?

I hope u can understand when we see a low preshot like this, gets people concerned and worried about your kitty, please retest when u can and let us know.
 
Re: 2/26 Blackie AMPS-47

Sienne and Gabby said:
Ronnie is right - when you shoot this low of a number and do not have much information as to whether this is rising or falling, you need a +1 test.


Doesn't the +12 value of 38 before the +13 reading of 47 suggest a rising number? Perhaps it would have been better to have a second rising number just to be sure it's truly a rising number, but even with the margin of error inherent to the glucometers, 47 is higher than 38.
 
Re: 2/26 Blackie AMPS-47

Laura & Quincy said:
Doesn't the +12 value of 38 before the +13 reading of 47 suggest a rising number? Perhaps it would have been better to have a second rising number just to be sure it's truly a rising number, but even with the margin of error inherent to the glucometers, 47 is higher than 38.

You are correct on all counts. However (you knew there was a "however"), with numbers this low, there is often a 'bobble' and if this were my cat, I would want to be sure that numbers were rising. To be honest, I don't know that I would shoot this low of a number unless this were a cat that was consistently in the greens. Blackie is prone to big bounces. While there is a good chance that the numbers might be heading up, and possibly heading up quickly, there is also a chance that they won't. If you are going to shoot this low of a number, close monitoring is essential.
 
Re: 2/26 Blackie AMPS-47

Sienne and Gabby said:
Laura & Quincy said:
Doesn't the +12 value of 38 before the +13 reading of 47 suggest a rising number? Perhaps it would have been better to have a second rising number just to be sure it's truly a rising number, but even with the margin of error inherent to the glucometers, 47 is higher than 38.

You are correct on all counts. However (you knew there was a "however"), with numbers this low, there is often a 'bobble' and if this were my cat, I would want to be sure that numbers were rising. To be honest, I don't know that I would shoot this low of a number unless this were a cat that was consistently in the greens. Blackie is prone to big bounces. While there is a good chance that the numbers might be heading up, and possibly heading up quickly, there is also a chance that they won't. If you are going to shoot this low of a number, close monitoring is essential.

Sienne, I agree with you. With Quincy I would have tested maybe in between +12 and +13 so I could be more confident in a true rising trend. And then heck yes, I'd be monitoring it! I bet Blackie will bounce too, but it's definitely a situation that is unusual and merits close monitoring. Hopefully with the delayed shot, the dose reduction, and Blackie's history of "rainbow cycles," this will work out ok.
 
So far not too big of a bounce. I was sure that he was going to bounce no matter what as it happens all the time with him.

Updated numbers are in the very first post of this thread.
 
some good points in this thread.
congrats on the reduction! are you able to continue monitoring today? this dose still has some of the residual effects of the higher dose working with it...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top