2-25

Status
Not open for further replies.

NadjaAndSam

Active Member
Hello!!

Sam tested 465 this morning. I wonder if I should continue giving him 0.5u since I only did it for 1 day or if I can tell already I should increase the dose.
Any thoughts?
 
We are only guessing at this point, Nadja. He did such weird stuff in the beginning. But I don't like the high numbers.

Will you be around today to check and get some numbers in between those 5-7 hours especially?

If so, I think I would go up to .75 and see if he comes down some. Hopefully you will be able to hold that dose awhile.
 
I will be gone for 2 hrs this morning but I will be home for the rest of the day.
So he shouldn't start and end the day on the 400's by this point anymore?
 
It would be better if he was in the 300 range at preshot. We have been cautious since he had such an initial reaction. If you will be able to monitor off and on and especially at that low point I think an increase makes sense. Better today than a weekday.

A regulated kitty Is in the high 200s at preshot and in the 100s at nadir, not below 50. That's the first goal for him.

Did you see my ketones suggestion?
 
I think one of the ultimate goals for all of us is to try to get and keep our kitties under the renal threshold of 270, all day if possible. That being said, sometimes it takes us awhile to get there. Sometime we have to raise and lower a dose to find a good one. Sometimes we have to tweak their food or how we feed them. You are doing a great job so far. You are getting great advice here and following it. Keep on keepin' on!
 
ok I"m confused. I did the conversion on the u100 syringe but comparing to the u40 syringe it looks like 0.75u converted looks more than 1u on the u40 syringe!!
 
.75 is hard on the U100s. Either .6 which is 1.5 on the U100s or .8 which is 2.0 on the U 100s. Maybe the .8

The only way we could get ketones testing for Oliver was to fill the litter box with aquarium gravel. He would go and we would have the time to swoop in.
 
but comparing the the amount of insulin it looks the same amount 1.0 on the u100 looks just like 1u in the u40. I[m comparing side by side so I"m confused!! should I just use 1u the u40 since it looks the same amount?
 
I don't have access to the needles to look. I am guessing one is a little wider than the other, so the same dose looks like a little more on one than the other? I would just use the U100s and put the U40s aside. You don't want to pick the wrong one up by mistake.
 
I wasn't using the u40's anymore but the amount of 0.6u on the u100s after converting looked a little more than 1u on the u40 comparing both side by side. so I don't see the point of using 100u syringe because the amount was the same if I were to give him 1 unit on the u40 :? don't like to start the day confused already :-|

I used this great photo someone shared with me to help me convert
http://www.flickr.com/photos/amaryllisr ... /lightbox/

http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-c ... rinter.htm
 
oh I got it, the 100u syringe is a bit thinner than the u40 syringe. I think I gave him 1u by accident. :( what do I do now???? :oops: :roll: :sad: :-| :?
 
Hi Nadja,

Okay, there is nothing you can do now if you gave to much other than to be prepared for the possibility of low numbers. That does not mean they will happen-- just be prepared. Do you have syrup, honey, or something in that line? How about high carb food-- gravy types of canned? Don't give any of this now....just be sure you have it in house.

You need to start testing at +2 and see where Sam is headed.

Relax and breathe...that is all you can do at this point! I will be around all day, as I am sure others will be-- test and post your results-- we will get through it!


Kim
 
Thanks Kim :]
yes I have corn syrup, temptation treats and gravy type canned food here. I don't know why I decided to compare syringes :-x but I will breathe now, test him every 2 hrs and post the results here.
Thank you for your support :smile:
 
I think the one will be okay, Nadja. Remember we are just trying to find a good dose for him and we really aren't sure what that is. Today is about gathering data and see what he does.

You don't need to worry unless you see numbers in the 50 range. Then come on and we will help. Because you have the food and syrup to bring him up if needed, and you know how to test, you can keep him safe regardless.
 
Thanks Sue. I will post here the results and depending on how he is at 12+ then I will see what dose to give him right? either 0.75u or 0.5u.

I will keep you informed especially tonight for his pm shot and if get goes lower than 50. I don't know what I would do without this board!! :mrgreen:
 
Nadja, don't wait for him to hit 50 to post results. Post when you start getting some test....we can tell a lot by the early drops he gets, if he is headed sharply down. Like Sue said, who knows...the 1 unit might be the perfect dose...you are gathering data!
 
thanks :]

one thing I've noticed in the past few days is that he hasn't been eating voraciously like he did the first 2 or 3 days on insulin. He ate if he hasn't had anything to eat in months! which somewhat it's truth, 1 month before he was diagnosed with diabetes he barely ate at all.
I dont' know if he is getting tired of the food I give him (nature's variety), or the fact I let him munch during the day, or if he isn't starving anymore or another reason...! He just doesn't eat as much as in the beginning and doesn't finish his food.
 
Nadja,

Do you know what to do if he goes low, and have the needed supplies just in case? Not saying that will happen, but checking to make sure.

I would test him in another 30 minutes, and let us know. Someone will be here, so you aren't "alone" with this. In 30 minutes, if anything needs to be done, we'll walk you through it. Breathe and don't sweat.

Carl
 
Hey Nadja.. I am here and will not leave you until you know Sam is safe. Test again in 30 mins.
 
I’m here too if you guys need me. Staying home tonight with Asher since he’s on the moon. Ping me if so, I’ll be checking in.
 
Agree with Carl, Nadja. He still looks okay but he has been tricky with other cycles, so we want to play it safe. Does he usually get a meal mid day?

Supplies you need are high carb food - the gravy kinds are best - and Karo or some other kind of syrup. And be sure you have lots of strips. (My theory is that if you are prepared, you won't need the stuff. :-D )
 
thanks everyone!
I just ate a little bit, I left food out so he can much but he hasn't had a lot of Appetite today :/he is eating less than when he first started on insulin, he ate like an animal :) but yesterday and otday he is just taking few bites here and there.
speaking of test strips I only have 2 left :? I went to walmart this morning and they were completely out, i can't believe it. I'm working right now (I work from home) I only have 6 hrs of PTO left but if I needed to I can leave work early and get more . If I checked him every 2 hrs I would have enough by the time I got off work and locate another walmart but I need to test him again in 30 min, depending on how low he tests I might get off work right away...
 
If I were you, and it won't mess up your work life (can you cite a medical issue and tell them you will make it up later?) I would go ahead and get the strips. Call around first so you find a place that definitely has them before you go.
 
my jobs sucks. They don't accept any medical problems even I was admitted to the hospital and gave a note. Their policy is: you either find someone to trade your shift (which is too late now) or you use your vacation time for any time off you need. I have a co-worker who wasn't feeling well and went to the ER but my employer still gave her attendance points.
I've been job hunting for a while :?
 
what kind of meter do you have? Not a relion hopefully? (since only walmart carries those strips)

Carl
 
I just tested him 35 min after he tested 102 and he is now 104.

I honestly need to look into laws about this kind of stuff. I work for an airline in a department within reservations.Dec of 2010 there was that big blizzard in the east cost if you remember that and my employer took off the option of using pto for few months since work was crazy busy. One day I was sick like a dog, had plenty of PTo to use but they wouldn't let me use it. They said I would have to officially call in sick, if I did that I would have received attendance points AND they automatically draw your pto bank with the hrs which it doesn't make sense at all. I didn't care about the points really but they would have "punished" me by taking my pto which to me should be for vacation time not for sick time :evil: I get so worked up when I think about all the weird stuff they do.

anyways little Sam is 104 should I test him again in 30 min?
 
You probably are okay to wait another hour-- it looks like he is leveling out!

Do you have any FRIENDS and Family discounts?! I need to make some reservations!!!!
 
If that leaves you with just one strip, I would wait the hour like Kim said.
 
I would have to look into discounts, I know I get 30% off I think or travel standby for much less which I usually do but I have to see if I can get this same discount for friends.
I work for a smaller airline though that doesn't fly to too many palces so you can send me a pm from where and to where you would like to travel
 
thanks Carl yes i will test him in 1 hr and most likely leave work early to get more!

kse I just looked int to 30% discount I mentioned and it's only for the employee, spouse and children :/
 
Is this +5? Don't give too much.. Just a little. You don't want to fill him up. Do you have more strips?
 
Can you get more strips now? Maybe send someone to get them if you can't leave?
 
I just gave him a little bit of the gravy thing since today and yesterday he hasn't been eating to his full potential. I think i will have to use some of my vacation hrs to grab more strips
 
no, I'm a loner. Husband is working and honestly my friends aren't usually available when I need them, don't have family nearby, so it's not a biggie, i will use 1 hrs of vacation time, come back and finish my shift :]
 
OK, run like the wind, leave out a small spoonful of food, and use one of those new strips as soon as you walk back into the door...

Carl
 
Great! Truly, as scary as it was for you and the fear of a big drop--- It looks like a Great cycle!

How far are you into the cycle? +7?
 
OK, great, then he doesn't need any more boosting right now. It's 7:08 eastern right now. When is the next shot due?

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top