2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369~PMPS 330~+4 124~+5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Good Morning.
I probably won't get an answer right away but I thought I would ask what dose I should give Max.
I think we are past the rebound and Max was borderline 40 yesterday. We have been trying to
follow the revised prototocal which would allow for a decrease after 3 times in the 40's.

Slept late so shot time is now. I was not expecting this. Saturday his AMPS was 247 and he dropped like a stone in 2 hours. I cannot stay until DPS arrives.

What should I shoot? 5.75 or 6?

ETA: I stalled for 15 minutes and max went to 261. I still was afraid to shoot the 6 as he
looks like he cleared the rebound. I gave him 5.75.
DPS does not come in until +3 and I needed to get to work. I will stay until +2 and see
what happens before I leave. Max took care of himself on Saturday so he should be fine.

I hope I did the right thing by reducing his dose.
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231 What to shoot

good morning randi -

bumping you in hopes someone will be around soon.

i understand your predicament! couldn't believe what i was reading yesterday! :o
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Thanks Amy
This is not the best time to get help which is actually the most critical
in my opinion, but anyways sometimes we got to do what we got to do.

I took Max down to 5.75, even though he will probably be using his 6 from the past 19 cycles.
I also will have a gap of not being able to watch him and he has hit the 40's twice so far
and possibly yesterday could have been in the 30's before that +6 was taken.

Very exciting day.
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Hey Randi--There should be enough in the shed, to work for you today..
Like I have said before, and all may not agree, I like to keep my cat safe especially when I will not be there...
yes, you have made some great headway recently, and hope that will continue--
If Max feeds himself when he drops like Moonie does, that is great--Most cats will do that..
Just make sure to get a couple of tests today--Try not to worry, Max will be fine..You are doing great, I know I always tell you that, but look at your SS & you'll see that Max really is doing well--HUGS~!!!
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Max is doing great! I'm sure the 5.75 dose will be fine - you have to do what you're comfortable with. It's better to be safe...at least you won't be super worried until DPS gets there.

Hoping Max has another great day today!
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Well now at +1 he spiked 100 points to 332.
Hoping it was the food. i don't think the 5.75 should make a huge difference.
My goodness they are just so unpredictable. I am staying home until I get
a +2 and DPS will be in at +3. She normally does a +4 but I will leave a note for a +3.

I don't think he will drop 200 points in the hour but as we all know, we are talking
about Max afterall
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Oh look at this exciting morning for ya! lol
Max, Max, Max, just doesn't want mom to go...+3 sounds like a good plan Randi - an "in the door" check for DPS
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Randi,
I can relate to your having to leave for work, and I think I would do as you did; go with what feels right. And logically, it sounded safe to me.

I have seen only one 2-digit BG from Shadoe, so this area is totally foreign to me :lol: but my guess would be that I would prefer to have a higher number with my being away than a too-low number. I hope someone will correct me on that assumption so that if this issue comes up for others and they need to decide quick, they will know how to go.

I am sure that Max will be fine; a little high but the DPS is there to test and he did have his foor, right?

Max is developing quite a taste for the exciting lifestyle here, isn't he!
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Generally, you shoot through the rebound which would be the next cycle. You want to reduce the dose the following cycle since there will still be some shed action left from the higher dose. You don't want the overfilled shed to drop the dose again so you reduce now, the way you did.

Nice AMPS
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231

Sienne and Gabby said:
Generally, you shoot through the rebound which would be the next cycle. You want to reduce the dose the following cycle since there will still be some shed action left from the higher dose. You don't want the overfilled shed to drop the dose again so you reduce now, the way you did.

Nice AMPS

This is complicated. So just so that I understand, last night's PMPS 340 we would have "considered" rebound. I maintained the dose and shot through it.
This morning would be the next cycle after rebound. I think we are safe to say that an
AMPS of 231 fo Mr. Max is not a rebound number that is the next cycle after rebound to reduce the dose.
I have been trying to follow the revised protocal and reduce the dose after the 40's are hit
3 times. Yesterday was the second.
However, Libby did say that the 40 yesterday was really on the edge and
it is possible that he could have dipped into the 30's, which would require an automatic reduction.

So, just a confirmation for me, I was right in reducing him to 5.75 this morning - okay I
won't hold you to that "opinion" just looking for reassurance that I did right this morning
and did not ruin the progress we have been making. Mr. P is looking better.
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369

I think Max is really having a vey good laugh at me today.
This is so not funny Max.
I swear he will be the death of me soon.

Here is the morning recap;

+1 332
+2 329
+3 351
+4 361
+6 369

Either Max is planning one heck of a surprise for me or I have no clue
what I'm doing.
Can anyone make any sense of this ridiculous day. And I thought he would drop
like he did on Saturday.
Maybe the insulin is blown? Cart opened on the 12th. It looks fine but we have had
fridge problems the last few days so I had to move insulin to our second fridge.
Now what is he going to do with a lower dose that I shot this morning?
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369

Randi,
:YMSIGH: I have learned that I am the fool to think I have a clue what Shadoe is going to do, and I am of the impression that Max is even more conniving than her!

For all you know, he just didn't feel like playing along today cat(2)_steam

I, too, have done the "oh, it must be the cart" thing.
And it wasn't the cart.

I track our cart's age on her ss so I don't have to remember when it was started.

Sorry, but I can't offer any insight or suggestions, and sadly, I have been hearing snickers all day, so I guess now I know their source.

Cheer up, let's see what the evening brings.
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369

Hi Randi! Sorry I don't have any advice, but I just wanted to stop in and say that you're doing great. I know it can be so frustrating but it seems like you handled it the right way. "Better too high for a day than too low for a minute", as they say.

Keep on truckin', and hopefully tomorrow will be better.
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369

Clearly, Max read your condo this morning.

Really no need to look further for answers.

See what tomorrow brings (or tonight with Max :lol: )?

Just thinking about you tonight!
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369

Randi,
Might this still be a bounce from yesterdays greens?
Latte has a new pattern of bouncing,then going down a little (not worthy enough for a bounce -seriously), making me think she is clearing and then going back up. Suddenly on cycle 4, 5, or 6 she CLEARLY clears the bounce.

Dunno...just a thought.

Looking at your ss you REALLY have done such a good job with Max.
(((((randi))))
hang in there!
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369

Ok Randi...if the dosecrease doesn't work after a little while, you go back up. When they hit 40 you automatically reduce. We are doing the 2 times on different cycles of <50 with Shadow. If after a week there is no second <50 BG, we start the time going again for new greens. Does that make sense?

I wanted to reply about the sore on Raja's neck....I wrote all about it here viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7392&p=74026#p74026

Just wondering....9is it itchy too like Raja's is? Once it scabs over, it must get itchy cause she opens it up again. I have tried everything as I wrote in my post. Now I am trying Preparation H. (vet said to try that...??/!!! :roll: ) Ok, so NOW I have tried everything!!! :lol:
Ok, funny story I think....I am thinking about it now. I had the biggest urge while on line at the drug store with my only item=Preparation H... oh golly, I am so silly...I had the biggest urge to make a loud announcement that I was not buying this for MYSELF, but for my cat....and then I realized that I should just keep my mouth shut and let them think I have a problem cause if I said anything about my cat...well, it probably would sound even worse....

For tonight, try not to think about what Max is doing...ok? You won't ever really get a good answer :lol: so just put your head down and do what the protocol says and tell Max that HE should get with YOUR program, k? :lol:
We will never, ever figure out this kitties....ya know?
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369

no worries, I think Max is just still bouncing from the 40. He'll come back down when he is ready (probably at the most inopportune time!).

You did the right thing by taking the reduction today. It's too risky to shoot more than one cycle into rebound, unless you have enough data to know that his rebounds will last several cycles. Good job. :smile:
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369~PMPS 330~+4 124

Hey everyone
Can you hear the laughing from up here in Canada????

It's Max!!
Lets stall mommy this morning, make her late for work, rise and stay flat all day in the mid pinks and at 11:00pm I'll throw her some blue. haha_smiley haha_smiley haha_smiley

Guess who is not going to sleep for a few more hours?
Me!
Libby and Lucy said:
no worries, I think Max is just still bouncing from the 40. He'll come back down when he is ready (probably at the most inopportune time!).
Here it is Libby. Thanks :-D
 
Re: 2/25 Max AMPS 231~+6 369~PMPS 330~+4 124

Randi & Max said:
Either Max is planning one heck of a surprise for me or I have no clue what I'm doing.

Well, you know what you're doind since you got the shooting through the rebound part right. Max, well... Max clearly has great plans for you!
 
Oh Sienne
You so love putting my words back at me. What would I do without you. :-D
You and Libby explained it really well last night about shooting through the rebound.
This was news to us.

Fed 2 tsp LC, still 1 hour to go to his usual nadir.
Test in 30?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top