2/25 Ivy Amps 130, +3.25 53 L , +6 72, +9 65, Pmps 45 L, +4 53 L Libre; Low Appetite

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
2/24/25
A
mps 130 Libre

Good morning, we had a long night of lower numbers on Ivy’s Libre so there was some MC carb feeding going on. Syringe fed when necessary.

I gave a very slight reduction this morning from a fat dose of 3.5 F down to 3.5 units. I’d like to reduce a little bit of the diving until she eats better. :blackeye:

Last night I syringe fed her dinner again, which takes a long time. All day was somewhat lower BG cycle on her Libre.
We did go to the vet yesterday and got fluids and did more lab work to see what’s going on why her appetite is still diminished:(

This morning she ate a little bit of her regular lamb diet and then stopped, so I offered a combo of 14% +2% (8%) Fancy Feast just to get her to eat something and she ate about the can’s worth. I gave the same thing an hour later a little bit just as a snack. Will offer more of that over the next couple hours as insulin onsets.
I hate feeding her canned food, but I need her to eat, so that’s more important.

I did get some Hills A/D from the vet. Does anyone have an opinion on using that?

I did give a full dose of the mirtazapine last night and so far it hasn’t made her ravenous. Just hoping for some real interest in eating.
Still giving Cerenia 12 mg 1x daily and Jarrow’s S Boulardi 4x a day (1/4 capsule).
(We haven’t had any vomiting since Friday night, knock wood).

BM is a little softer, still a bit formed. Not normal yet.
If this is pancreatitis, how long until they feel better and eat better?

I am hoping to hear the results back from the lab work today, but probably won’t get a call until this evening from the vet.

she’s still pretty much just wanting to sleep and be left alone in the corner. Not her normal behavior she did jump up on the one or two times overnight on the sofa and lay down next to me on the pillow so that was good, but not as much as she normally does.
Still hoping she will eat more today and start feeling better

Hope everyone has a very calm day with good eating from all of the kitties :cat:
 
I'm glad to read she ate some by herself, that's good. I hope you will hear back from your vet soon and get ideas about what to do next.
Thinking of you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So glad she ate some food on her own! Hopefully the test results points to an answer.
Tiger must be talking to Ivy. We had a terrible nite of dives with the last going to 100 and stopping the libre. After we got him stabilized an hour later he started howling and threw up. Refused to eat and had to syringe feed him this morning. He is just now finally eating a bit….talk about copycats!

Good luck today and hugs!
 
Good meowning Staci and sweet Ivy!
I'm glad she's slowly starts to eat on her own and that she jumped up on the sofa with you. Hopefully you get some valuable info from the vet today and can decide on the course of action. Boys and I are continuing to think about you. Sending hugs and kisses and lots of CATpuccinos to get you through the day :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
upload_2025-2-25_10-39-1.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-25_10-39-1.jpeg
    upload_2025-2-25_10-39-1.jpeg
    51.3 KB · Views: 174
I’ve fed AD. Some cats love it. My cats have not but almost as easy to syringe as baby food. It’s quite. But higher in calories then ff so you won’t need to bug her as much if you need to syringe. Max had chronic pancreatitis and different bouts lasted different amounts of time. I usually was able to get him eating with a combo of ondansetron and cyproheptadine. Until he got to the point of eating well buprenex and fluids were added. Once seeming to be back to eating I tapered and removed one thing at a time with appetite stimulant, fluids and bupe the first to go. I’ve found with all my cats that have become inappetent until the nausea was addressed appetite stimulants did not work.

You just need to find what works for her. My cats if they had soft stool it left pretty fast. I suspect the food change could be adding to that issue but she has to eat. Except for my mystery cat Chai, none had IBD. Not sure what caused Chai’s issues but she was on prednisolone for suspected IBD. The last time we talked my vet said he doesn’t think it was IBD because she hasn’t needed prednisolone since stopped. :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
When Noogi has pancreatitis he was sick for about a week. A very long and stressful week.
Hoping Ivy continues to show signs of improvement and is back to her snuggly self soon :bighug:
 
2/24/25
A
mps 130 Libre

Good morning, we had a long night of lower numbers on Ivy’s Libre so there was some MC carb feeding going on. Syringe fed when necessary.

I gave a very slight reduction this morning from a fat dose of 3.5 F down to 3.5 units. I’d like to reduce a little bit of the diving until she eats better. :blackeye:

Last night I syringe fed her dinner again, which takes a long time. All day was somewhat lower BG cycle on her Libre.
We did go to the vet yesterday and got fluids and did more lab work to see what’s going on why her appetite is still diminished:(

This morning she ate a little bit of her regular lamb diet and then stopped, so I offered a combo of 14% +2% (8%) Fancy Feast just to get her to eat something and she ate about the can’s worth. I gave the same thing an hour later a little bit just as a snack. Will offer more of that over the next couple hours as insulin onsets.
I hate feeding her canned food, but I need her to eat, so that’s more important.

I did get some Hills A/D from the vet. Does anyone have an opinion on using that?

I did give a full dose of the mirtazapine last night and so far it hasn’t made her ravenous. Just hoping for some real interest in eating.
Still giving Cerenia 12 mg 1x daily and Jarrow’s S Boulardi 4x a day (1/4 capsule).
(We haven’t had any vomiting since Friday night, knock wood).

BM is a little softer, still a bit formed. Not normal yet.
If this is pancreatitis, how long until they feel better and eat better?

I am hoping to hear the results back from the lab work today, but probably won’t get a call until this evening from the vet.

she’s still pretty much just wanting to sleep and be left alone in the corner. Not her normal behavior she did jump up on the one or two times overnight on the sofa and lay down next to me on the pillow so that was good, but not as much as she normally does.
Still hoping she will eat more today and start feeling better

Hope everyone has a very calm day with good eating from all of the kitties :cat:
I’ve fed AD. Some cats love it. My cats have not but almost as easy to syringe as baby food. It’s quite. But higher in calories then ff so you won’t need to bug her as much if you need to syringe. Max had chronic pancreatitis and different bouts lasted different amounts of time. I usually was able to get him eating with a combo of ondansetron and cyproheptadine. Until he got to the point of eating well buprenex and fluids were added. Once seeming to be back to eating I tapered and removed one thing at a time with appetite stimulant, fluids and bupe the first to go. I’ve found with all my cats that have become inappetent until the nausea was addressed appetite stimulants did not work.

You just need to find what works for her. My cats if they had soft stool it left pretty fast. I suspect the food change could be adding to that issue but she has to eat. Except for my mystery cat Chai, none had IBD. Not sure what caused Chai’s issues but she was on prednisolone for suspected IBD. The last time we talked my vet said he doesn’t think it was IBD because she hasn’t needed prednisolone since stopped. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks for the information, Elise.
I did speak with the vet and he did say the only values on the labwork was the pancreas with elevated levels. So, yes, pancreatitis.
Ugh.

He is prescribing buprenorphine along with the Cerenia and mirtazipine.
(I thunk the Zofran just made her too sedated)

I will start to feed the AD this evening and see how that goes. Hopefully it's less work since they need less of it since it's calorie dense.

How often would fluids be advised?

Did your cats show any signs of nausea? I can't figure out if she feels nauseous or not.
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thanks :bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and sweet Ivy!
I'm glad she's slowly starts to eat on her own and that she jumped up on the sofa with you. Hopefully you get some valuable info from the vet today and can decide on the course of action. Boys and I are continuing to think about you. Sending hugs and kisses and lots of CATpuccinos to get you through the day :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
View attachment 72947
Love the vines, Karolina, thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So glad she ate some food on her own! Hopefully the test results points to an answer.
Tiger must be talking to Ivy. We had a terrible nite of dives with the last going to 100 and stopping the libre. After we got him stabilized an hour later he started howling and threw up. Refused to eat and had to syringe feed him this morning. He is just now finally eating a bit….talk about copycats!

Good luck today and hugs!
Hi Deb, sorry Tiger had a diving night! I guess they were talking again!
Sorry he also had a puke! Poor sweet baby Tiger.

Hope he recovers fast!! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, so sorry to read all that has been going on with Ivy. Pancreatitis is tough on them. Really hope she feels better soon. Sending you both hugs :bighug:
 
Thanks for the information, Elise.
I did speak with the vet and he did say the only values on the labwork was the pancreas with elevated levels. So, yes, pancreatitis.
Ugh.

He is prescribing buprenorphine along with the Cerenia and mirtazipine.
(I thunk the Zofran just made her too sedated)

I will start to feed the AD this evening and see how that goes. Hopefully it's less work since they need less of it since it's calorie dense.

How often would fluids be advised?

Did your cats show any signs of nausea? I can't figure out if she feels nauseous or not.
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thanks :bighug::bighug:
The only way I knew they were nauseous was that they became inappetent. Chai is a foodie . Eats her food in about a minute or less so when she started taking super long and leaving food I knew right away something was wrong. When Max first got pancreatitis, the folks on the pancreatitis forum told me he must he nauseous . He had never vomited and was always a grazer and not into food so I was surprised to hear that. He definitely was.
I gave fluids only when I felt not eating enough and vomiting or having diarrhea. Once eating at least 3/4 of usual I just added water to the food.
I’m sorry she has pancreatitis. It’s difficult.
 
The only way I knew they were nauseous was that they became inappetent. Chai is a foodie . Eats her food in about a minute or less so when she started taking super long and leaving food I knew right away something was wrong. When Max first got pancreatitis, the folks on the pancreatitis forum told me he must he nauseous . He had never vomited and was always a grazer and not into food so I was surprised to hear that. He definitely was.
I gave fluids only when I felt not eating enough and vomiting or having diarrhea. Once eating at least 3/4 of usual I just added water to the food.
I’m sorry she has pancreatitis. It’s difficult.
Thank you for the info! It really sucks. Very scary.
 
Ivy got a dose of the buprenorphine tonight and she ate the A/D for dinner on her own and heartily.

I also fit it for her +1+2+3 snacks and a very small amount. what I’m doing tomorrow, but I will probably feed it to her again. I’m concerned that all these food changes will upset her system, but we need her to eat so I guess I have to just go with the flow. I did put a bowl down of one of her regular foods and she walked right past it so at the moment she has no interest.
I’m not sure how I will be able to transition her back to her regular food again that looks like it could be tricky.

I also lowered her dose down to 3 units from 3.5 units. She’s been running lower for several days which in general, I would be fine with about the fact that she’s not eating great that’s where I’m concerned about her being too low and not wanting to eat that makes it quite challenging. I’m hoping that was a good thing to do for safety.
We had our Libre fail this evening around +3. I can only assume it’s from pretty much two days of lower BGs. The system thought it’s running too low and it must be faulty so it automatically shuts down. I had to replace the sensor this evening.

I could only assume that her lower glucose is from this whole situation. Oddly enough, in her lab work suddenly her T4 is back in the normal range at 2.9 where last week It was 4.7 and a month ago was 5.2. I’m sure that won’t stay the same after she hopefully starts to feel better and gets back to her regular system.

Have a boring night everyone. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hey Staci, I’m so sorry Ivy has pancreatitis, but it’s good to hear she likes the A/D. I agree that eating is the most important thing right now, so I’m glad she’ll eat it on her own and give you a bit of a break :)

I agree that taking her down to 3 for now is a good idea. Gives her a chance to heal the pancreatitis while giving you a break from worrying about going too low.

Sending you both restful and healing vines.
 
Sorry, it is pancreatitis. Butch was diagnosis last May with it. He stopped eating and was admitted into the hospital. I have been treating him with 1/4 tab of Cerenia daily and Mirataz when needed. I am glad she ate the AD on her own tonight! Good news that the T4 is back in the normal range. Paws crossed that when she starts to feel better her T4 levels stay normal. Butch and I are sending lots of prayers and hugs to you and Ivy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry, it is pancreatitis. Butch was diagnosis last May with it. He stopped eating and was admitted into the hospital. I have been treating him with 1/4 tab of Cerenia daily and Mirataz when needed. I am glad she ate the AD on her own tonight! Good news that the T4 is back in the normal range. Paws crossed that when she starts to feel better her T4 levels stay normal. Butch and I are sending lots of prayers and hugs to you and Ivy. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Madeline, oh wow that’s a lot for Butch and you to go through. I’m sorry he had it so badly. Poor baby!
Does Cerenia keep him from becoming nauseous or vomiting and how do you know when to add the Maritax, if he’s not eating well?
Thank you for your sweet wishes.
Hugs to you and Butch:bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
 
Hey Staci, I’m so sorry Ivy has pancreatitis, but it’s good to hear she likes the A/D. I agree that eating is the most important thing right now, so I’m glad she’ll eat it on her own and give you a bit of a break :)

I agree that taking her down to 3 for now is a good idea. Gives her a chance to heal the pancreatitis while giving you a break from worrying about going too low.

Sending you both restful and healing vines.
Hi Eamon, thank you so much for the kind wishes. We appreciate it.

Yeah it seems like she’s really been running a lot lower lately and I’m just getting Worried but I can’t keep her safe on her present dose so I felt like it was a good idea to take her down. She was staying in the lower range for so long shot her sensor. I guess I wasn’t too surprised when that happened, but it was a big bummer.:banghead:
I hope Ailish is doing well. So thrilling that she’s OTJ!! I love that so much:)
Hugs to all of you :bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
 
2/24/25
A
mps 130 Libre

Good morning, we had a long night of lower numbers on Ivy’s Libre so there was some MC carb feeding going on. Syringe fed when necessary.

I gave a very slight reduction this morning from a fat dose of 3.5 F down to 3.5 units. I’d like to reduce a little bit of the diving until she eats better. :blackeye:

Last night I syringe fed her dinner again, which takes a long time. All day was somewhat lower BG cycle on her Libre.
We did go to the vet yesterday and got fluids and did more lab work to see what’s going on why her appetite is still diminished:(

This morning she ate a little bit of her regular lamb diet and then stopped, so I offered a combo of 14% +2% (8%) Fancy Feast just to get her to eat something and she ate about the can’s worth. I gave the same thing an hour later a little bit just as a snack. Will offer more of that over the next couple hours as insulin onsets.
I hate feeding her canned food, but I need her to eat, so that’s more important.

I did get some Hills A/D from the vet. Does anyone have an opinion on using that?

I did give a full dose of the mirtazapine last night and so far it hasn’t made her ravenous. Just hoping for some real interest in eating.
Still giving Cerenia 12 mg 1x daily and Jarrow’s S Boulardi 4x a day (1/4 capsule).
(We haven’t had any vomiting since Friday night, knock wood).

BM is a little softer, still a bit formed. Not normal yet.
If this is pancreatitis, how long until they feel better and eat better?

I am hoping to hear the results back from the lab work today, but probably won’t get a call until this evening from the vet.

she’s still pretty much just wanting to sleep and be left alone in the corner. Not her normal behavior she did jump up on the one or two times overnight on the sofa and lay down next to me on the pillow so that was good, but not as much as she normally does.
Still hoping she will eat more today and start feeling better

Hope everyone has a very calm day with good eating from all of the kitties :cat:
12 mg Cerenia is a good dose for starting out for pancreatitis. That dosage level will make her more tired/sedated. That is what I found for Mac. I decreased that over time and now he takes 4mg every day as a norm. It took Mac a few days to start feeling better. I think Ivey eating on her own though is a great sign. Good Luck!
 
12 mg Cerenia is a good dose for starting out for pancreatitis. That dosage level will make her more tired/sedated. That is what I found for Mac. I decreased that over time and now he takes 4mg every day as a norm. It took Mac a few days to start feeling better. I think Ivey eating on her own though is a great sign. Good Luck!
Hi Jill, thanks for letting me know that, I appreciate your input.

Just curious, why do you give him the Cerenia every day? Is it just to ward off problems? Does he frequently have vomiting or something like that?
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Madeline, oh wow that’s a lot for Butch and you to go through. I’m sorry he had it so badly. Poor baby!
Does Cerenia keep him from becoming nauseous or vomiting and how do you know when to add the Maritax, if he’s not eating well?
Thank you for your sweet wishes.
Hugs to you and Butch:bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
Yes, the Cerena helps him with the nausea and vomiting. When he his appetite starts to diminish, and he is giving me a hard time with eating his food that is when I give him a Mirataz till his appetite comes back. Butch does get tired of eating the same flavors, so I do have to change it up and add some grated cheese or crumbled dry freeze chicken. I hope Ivy is feeling better today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top