2/25 Chuck 382 PMPS; 0.10U; 356 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
Well, at least he's consistent today, even though the numbers are high... I'm SOOOOO tempted to bump the dose a bit, but am remembering "Gibbs' Rules for Lantus":

1. Never shoot a falling number
2. Don't dose hop

What are the other "Gibbs' Rules for Lantus"?
 
Re: 2/25 Chuck 382 PMPS; 0.10U

I thought I knew a lot, but Gibbs must predate me here. ;-)

Usually we hold doses at least 6 cycles before increasing. That is especially true when you're just starting out, because we need to give the insulin depot time to fill. Sometimes it can pay to be more aggressive with cats that are returning from the Falls, but since Chuck had such a strong first cycle response to 0.25u, I think I would not go the aggressive route just yet.

That first cycle might have been just a fluke, but we'll have to wait and see to be sure. We do see some cats come in with a dramatic response in the first or second cycle, and then the numbers go back up again. He had some blue on 0.1u on 2/24, so we know he can do it.

OT, we shoot falling numbers around here all the time now, with data. Some things do change. :smile:
 
Re: 2/25 Chuck 382 PMPS; 0.10U

"Gibbs" was from NCIS -- he has a bunch of rules that everyone on his team must follow.

Yes, I know to hold the dose for about 7 days, remember that from last time. I initially did dose hopping, before I found FDMB, simply because the vet really gave me no rules or guidelines. It was like -- give him 1 unit twice a day and bring him in a week so we can test him. I was uncomfortable with that, found FDMB, and learned how to help Chuck manage diabetes. I usually emailed his BGs to the vet, especially after the hypo event at her hands -- I never let them do a curve or test BGs.

The shooting a falling number is new to me, though!

The vet here in Texas is more than willing to let me manage this, because he's seen what I did when Chuck was first diagnosed. And, to give him credit, Chuck usually has pretty good BG numbers after a blood draw at the vet, not nearly as high as you would expect with vet stress.

So, patience is the word of the hour, day, week, month and year. Sometimes, I'm just not a patient person as I get older, but for Chuck's sake, patience will win!
 
Re: 2/25 Chuck 382 PMPS; 0.10U

:lol: Yep, I just went to Google and learned that I'm just behind the times. I pay little attention to TV these days so I miss a lot.

I'm not patient either, but I try.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top