? 2/25 AMPS@121; +1@148; +2@146; +5@113; +8@124; PMPS@117; +1@113; +2@99; +3@101; +5.75@95

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, hendrix had a great day yesterday again but I’m just wondering what I should do for his AMPS?

His shot is soon and his BG 11.75@103? :eek: He last ate 3 hours ago after his +8@110

Do I skip his dose today?? I will also wait 30 minutes without food and see where’s it at again but I feel like he’s trying to tell me “mommy I won’t need this much longer” LOL:p
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't if it was me. As long as you can monitor and have plenty of supplies.
I shot him at 122 the other day and he dropped to 70 so I’m scared to shoot him at 113 and he drops to 50 or something. I think I might retest him in another 30 and see if it goes up to 120ish. I’m not sure, Arg!!!

I have a half bottle of strips I may need to go get some more today but I do have HC food for him just in case.
 
I shot him at 122 the other day and he dropped to 70 so I’m scared to shoot him at 113 and he drops to 50 or something. I think I might retest him in another 30 and see if it goes up to 120ish. I’m not sure, Arg!!!

I have a half bottle of strips I may need to go get some more today but I do have HC food for him just in case.
If you want to continue to stall that's fine. You will have to take the plunge eventually and start shooting greens:D
#s dropping is one thing that we all deal with. It will happen eventually, it's practically unavoidable at times. Handling low #s a few times will eventually build your confidence. It's controllable with appropriate action. You help control the cycle more than you realize.:) It becomes second nature to you. Believe me you will look forward to shooting greens! It's one of the big highlights of my day(I'm pathetic...I know LOL!).

A bottle of strips should be more than enough but, always have a backup bottle right!?! HC is always a must. I have MC, HC, higher carb LC....you name it!
 
I think you can shoot, the only concern is strips-- how many strips are "half a bottle"? If it's 25+, you're good, if it's 10 or less, a little dicey.

And yes, eventually, if you want to try for remission, you'll have to shoot lower and lower numbers, and get yourself accustomed to seeing him in greens. 70 was great! He is looking really good...
 
If you want to continue to stall that's fine. You will have to take the plunge eventually and start shooting greens:D
#s dropping is one thing that we all deal with. It will happen eventually, it's practically unavoidable at times. Handling low #s a few times will eventually build your confidence. It's controllable with appropriate action. You help control the cycle more than you realize.:) It becomes second nature to you. Believe me you will look forward to shooting greens! It's one of the big highlights of my day(I'm pathetic...I know LOL!).

A bottle of strips should be more than enough but, always have a backup bottle right!?! HC is always a must. I have MC, HC, higher carb LC....you name it!
I know! I’ve just already had a scare with him when he dropped below 50 before so now I’m too nervous to shoot low blues and/or greens but I’ll have to get over that fear soon. Yes I will make sure to get some more strips today and MC carb food. I have HC and LC but no MC. :p
 
I think you can shoot, the only concern is strips-- how many strips are "half a bottle"? If it's 25+, you're good, if it's 10 or less, a little dicey.

And yes, eventually, if you want to try for remission, you'll have to shoot lower and lower numbers, and get yourself accustomed to seeing him in greens. 70 was great! He is looking really good...
I have about 15-20ish. But I will run and grab some more soon. I’m going to retest him now. Also I would really love to see him go into remission!!! So I need to get over my fears of shooting in the greens for sure. He’s been doing so so good I don’t want to mess anything up on him.
 
Great job shooting! Remember, while you are monitoring and have food to steer with, you are in control of the situation!
I keep telling myself this but at times when I see 60 or 70 I get worried he will drop to 50 again even though I’ve kept notes from last time to help me if h does. I just love him so much I don’t want anything to ever happen to him. But you’re right I’m in control of his sugar, as long as I’m in control I can stop those feelings and anything from happening :)
 
Something to consider, when shooting low numbers doesn't necessarily mean they will drop into even lower territory. It can and often does just keep them coasting pretty evenly (50-60s) You have to learn another thing, when they start this you don't reach for hc food. You give lc to keep the surf going, but not necessarily to raise the numbers to much.
 
Something to consider, when shooting low numbers doesn't necessarily mean they will drop into even lower territory. It can and often does just keep them coasting pretty evenly (50-60s) You have to learn another thing, when they start this you don't reach for hc food. You give lc to keep the surf going, but not necessarily to raise the numbers to much.
Hi Olive & Paula! I agree. Sometimes he drops and sometimes he climbs, like today. He’s climbing so I probably could have shot that 113 to be honest. And yes, that’s happened before so I wrote notes down from each forum I post (advice given to me) so that way I know what to do when things like that happen. :)
 
Good job shooting today. Hendrix is looking fabulous!
I shot him at 122 the other day and he dropped to 70 so I’m scared to shoot him at 113 and he drops to 50 or something.
As you are learning, Lantus doesn't work that way. Usually the lower you shoot, the flatter the cycle. ECID but I loved shooting the 80's. Cause that most often meant a flat cycle with more more than 10 points movement. You shoot a 200's and you have no idea if they'll drop like a rock or slowly.

I also don't think you need to keep stalling at lower preshots. Given the meter variance he was surfing along nice and flat. And there isn't really any issue with shooting a dropping number either, as long as he's down to 50. Read this post on shooting falling numbers.
 
Good job shooting today. Hendrix is looking fabulous!
As you are learning, Lantus doesn't work that way. Usually the lower you shoot, the flatter the cycle. ECID but I loved shooting the 80's. Cause that most often meant a flat cycle with more more than 10 points movement. You shoot a 200's and you have no idea if they'll drop like a rock or slowly.

I also don't think you need to keep stalling at lower preshots. Given the meter variance he was surfing along nice and flat. And there isn't really any issue with shooting a dropping number either, as long as he's down to 50. Read this post on shooting falling numbers.
The only reason I stall is because when I shoot him at lower numbers he drops like crazy sometimes. So I don’t want to risk him dropping while I’m sleeping or dropping to low and going hypo. Also luckily he hasn’t seen the 200 range in weeks to a month. Thank goodness. He’s been doing so good! I’m so proud of him.
 
For cat that do big drops at the beginning of the cycle, it can be helpful to make sure he has fresh carbs/food on board before onset. So maybe a mini meal around +1.5? His onset seems to be at +2 and food takes about 20-30 minutes to be processed. Just use his regular low carb food for now. Food changes are experiments and it can take a couple weeks to see results. Just take notes on what you do, you may have to tweak timing amount or % carbs, but the goal is to slow the drops and flatten him even more.
 
For cat that do big drops at the beginning of the cycle, it can be helpful to make sure he has fresh carbs/food on board before onset. So maybe a mini meal around +1.5? His onset seems to be at +2 and food takes about 20-30 minutes to be processed. Just use his regular low carb food for now. Food changes are experiments and it can take a couple weeks to see results. Just take notes on what you do, you may have to tweak timing amount or % carbs, but the goal is to slow the drops and flatten him even more.
I make sure to feed him after his tests or atleast every other test during the day. I always feed him at his +1 and his +2, and he has meals throughout the day and or snacks. He eats a lot for the chunky monkey that he is. He loves his wet food. And I’ve been feeding him low carb food since his diagnosis. The day he got diagnosed I switched him to low carb wet food. And through his diagnosis I switched from friskies to fancy feast because fancy feast is less carbs around 2-3% carbs and definitely kept his numbers down where as friskies was 6-7% and his numbers would stay the same...his numbers got so much better with fancy feast so I stuck with that but it was awhile ago that I made that switch. It was a few weeks to about a month that I seen a huge change in him. He’s doing fantastic and I’m so proud of him! I can’t believe how much better he got within such a short amount of time. I cry a lot of happy tears for him. I’m very proud of us both for all the hard work and determination and patience we both have.
 
I didn’t want to stall so I fed him and gave him his shot @117. I’m SOOO nervous my hands are sweaty. I will be 100% sure to get a +1 and +2.... I’m so nervous as I’ve NEVER shot that low before so I’m scared for him. I have LC, MC and HC food plus corn syrup just in case and I went and got more strips today too! Oh jeez. I’ve never felt so nervous :nailbiting::oops:
 
Some cats do a little Lantus double dip, a smaller curve down at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir. Perfectly safe to shoot when that happens. If you see him dropping a lot at your early tests, give him a few tsps of his LC. You got this. :bighug:
 
Some cats do a little Lantus double dip, a smaller curve down at the end of the cycle, but not as low as the main nadir. Perfectly safe to shoot when that happens. If you see him dropping a lot at your early tests, give him a few tsps of his LC. You got this. :bighug:
Oh Wendy!!! I’m so nervous, I told myself “you’ve got this it’s okay!” But I cant stop pacing. LOL. I hope he’s going to be okay I can’t wait for that +1 or +2. If he drops you said give him some low carb and wait 30 and test again right? I’m going to get my notes out that I kept that one time he dropped to 50 as well just in case!! I also picked up some MC today as well as some more strips
 
Good call. 117 isn't too far off from the 121 you shot this AM and if you are prepared to monitor and have food- then you are all set :)
I definitely made sure I have everything I need for him tonight when I went shopping just in case! I like to be prepared and ready. I’ve never ever shot at 117 let alone 119 so as soon as I fed him and gave him his shot I instantly started to feel anxiety coming on... I know I have great help , support and advice if anything did happen I just feel so worried because I love him so much I don’t want anything to ever happen to him. I’d have a heart attack if he ever had a “s” if you know what I mean....I’ll be sure to post his +1 and +2 as SOON as I take it
 
I'm sorry, Crystal I'm late to the party as usual! I just logged in to check things out before I head to bed. You have excellent help here with Ari(Si am cat mom) and Wendy.
Hopefully you'll see a similar cycle tonight, as this morning. You have all the necessary tools needed to control Hendrix's #s. Remember...your in control, not the other way around. You've got this!:bighug:
Nice job shooting w/o stalling! WTG! Woohoo!:woot::joyful:
 
I'm sorry, Crystal I'm late to the party as usual! I just logged in to check things out before I head to bed. You have excellent help here with Ari(Si am cat mom) and Wendy.
Hopefully you'll see a similar cycle tonight, as this morning. You have all the necessary tools needed to control Hendrix's #s. Remember...your in control, not the other way around. You've got this!:bighug:
Nice job shooting w/o stalling! WTG! Woohoo!:woot::joyful:
I’m sorry! I know, I hate bugging people and tagging them all the time. I feel so bad. I’m just not used to shooting such low numbers yet so my anxiety kicks in. And his schedule is already semi off track so if I stalled it would have got even more off track and I didn’t want that to be honest. I’ll keep my best eye on him tonight, no sleep for me(yet) anyways!!! Thank you so much for your help, I appreciate all of you and all your help really.
 
I’m sorry! I know, I hate bugging people and tagging them all the time.
Never apologize for tagging me. If I'm on the forum, I'll do the best I can to help you or find someone that can:bighug: I use a desktop so, I don't get notifications until I log in.
I feel so bad.
No regrets! Don't feel bad.
I’m just not used to shooting such low numbers yet so my anxiety kicks in.
Some anxiety is not necessarily a bad thing...as long as you are functional and it doesn't affect your well being. It heightens your awareness.
You're brand new to this sugar dance. Eventually, your nerves will calm down and shooting lower #s will become uneventful. Shooting greens will become "exciting" so to speak.

Keep in mind, if you want to get back to your original shot time you need to back up either 15 mins per cycle or 30 mins per day. Or you could just keep his shot time where it is, if that works for you.
I'm going to head off to bed. If you have any problems, check the main forum page to see who's on...just in case you need to tag someone. I think Bron and sheba logs in around now stays late. Very experienced person. Some people may get notified w/o being logged into the forum. You could just tag and see what happens. Not too sure how that works...I don't have a smartphone:rolleyes:
At any rate...you're prepared and confident to see your boy through the night!:bighug:
 
Never apologize for tagging me. If I'm on the forum, I'll do the best I can to help you or find someone that can:bighug: I use a desktop so, I don't get notifications until I log in.

No regrets! Don't feel bad.

Some anxiety is not necessarily a bad thing...as long as you are functional and it doesn't affect your well being. It heightens your awareness.
You're brand new to this sugar dance. Eventually, your nerves will calm down and shooting lower #s will become uneventful. Shooting greens will become "exciting" so to speak.

Keep in mind, if you want to get back to your original shot time you need to back up either 15 mins per cycle or 30 mins per day. Or you could just keep his shot time where it is, if that works for you.
I'm going to head off to bed. If you have any problems, check the main forum page to see who's on...just in case you need to tag someone. I think Bron and sheba logs in around now stays late. Very experienced person. Some people may get notified w/o being logged into the forum. You could just tag and see what happens. Not too sure how that works...I don't have a smartphone:rolleyes:
At any rate...you're prepared and confident to see your boy through the night!:bighug:
No, it doesn’t affect me really it just makes me more wide awake and aware of what’s going on which is good!! And I usually do give him his shot 15 mins early just to get his times back for sure!! He’s usually at 10/10 or 11/11 and right now he’s 1230/1230 I don’t mind it but it does suck sometimes especially when I’m exhausted and don’t want to be up until 3-4am but I push myself to do it to make sure he’s doing okay! And of course! I’ll be sure to tag someone who is online if I need someone right away. I hope you have a wonderful night and thank you so much for helping me, it means a lot.
 
sounds good
it might help him hold - seems like his numbers trend down after +2 but before that +3 check some nights
Yeah that’s very true!! That one night it dropped to 43 by +2 and his +1 was 88 so it scared me badly. But I got really good help and advice and I kept notes in my journal since that day if that ever happens again *knocks on wood* that it doesn’t. :oops:
 
+3 is up to you really. I don't think you need to check in 30 mins.
Based on your previous numbers- Hen seems to make some moves around this time through +4 but not by too much.
Every cycle won't be the same but he does have some trends. You could a +3/+3.5 and give another snack then before bed.....?
 
Back
Top