2/24 Uncle AMPS 363, +2 304, PMPS 153, +2 120, +4 82 , +6 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara & Uncle (GA)

Member Since 2016
Hello. Back from out of town emergency.
Both Uncle and I didn't fare too well health-wise but hopefully getting back on track soon.
Uncle's BG went as high as 530 while on a reduced dose, but thankfully has no ketones.
Lack of appetite and tight/swollen stomach landed him at the vet, tests revealed lots of air/gas present in his stomach and abdomen but no obvious constrictions. Vet isn't sure why (I'm wondering about the Miralax) and she sent us home with some goat milk as a probiotic for him.
She ran a Senior Panel, results came back yesterday. She noted that his BUN is elevated but B/C ratio is still okay, but kidney's need watching.
Also scheduled a dental (he'll most likely have an extraction or two).
Almost had an anxiety attack right before I left. Was up until 1:00 am looking through an entire box of syringes (with magnifying glass and headlamp and calipers) trying to group together ones that were relatively similar to each other to leave with the caregiver. I was REALLY shocked at how off some of them were, even though I already knew they aren't very consistent somehow it just hit me in a profound and worrisome way.
I have a light-box coming tomorrow and hopefully that, along with a the magnifying glass and readers will help me get some consistent dosing again.
I entered Uncle's most recent lab results along with 3 previous one's my vet sent me so that hopefully I can get some expert eyes on them. Also created a "Medical History" tab that shows his various past medical issues which may/or may not be helpful.

I am so grateful to everyone who has helped us, be it technical and/or moral support.
Hoping all are well and looking forward to catching up with everyone and their kitties :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think this is your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-13-uncle-amps-166-2-150-4-179-7-5-242-pmps-225-3-152-5-95.173101/

Sorry you had to be out of town for a while. :bighug: Typically when we do a petsitter dose, we go back to the last good dose, which was 0.25 units for Uncle. Try not to react to the higher numbers. You may have to increase if glucose toxicity has set in, but it's too early to tell that yet. And yes, calipers make a huge difference. Often Neko's last dose was well under the zero line - that's how much space there was between it and the end of the syringe. :rolleyes:

I hope the probiotic works for Uncle and that he feels better soon. That is also probably adding to the increased numbers. I took a quick look at the labs, and I think you are right that the kidneys should be watched as the SMDA is now out of range. Was he dehydrated at the visit? That would explain part of the high BUN number. Was he getting the same food while you were gone?
 
Hope Uncle is feeling better. :bighug:

These have helped me immensely with dosing. $10! I tried the magnifying glass and lantern but this frees up the hands.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003UCODIA/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

41clz7xpHNL.jpg
 
I think this is your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...150-4-179-7-5-242-pmps-225-3-152-5-95.173101/
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...150-4-179-7-5-242-pmps-225-3-152-5-95.173101/
Sorry you had to be out of town for a while. :bighug: Typically when we do a petsitter dose, we go back to the last good dose, which was 0.25 units for Uncle. Try not to react to the higher numbers. You may have to increase if glucose toxicity has set in, but it's too early to tell that yet. And yes, calipers make a huge difference. Often Neko's last dose was well under the zero line - that's how much space there was between it and the end of the syringe. :rolleyes:

I hope the probiotic works for Uncle and that he feels better soon. That is also probably adding to the increased numbers. I took a quick look at the labs, and I think you are right that the kidneys should be watched as the SMDA is now out of range. Was he dehydrated at the visit? That would explain part of the high BUN number. Was he getting the same food while you were gone?
Hi Wendy, thanks for the reminder about the correct dose to get back on. I gave him .375 on the calipers tonight, which is .25u by the conversion you gave me a few months ago. The light-box came today and it already helped.
I'm not sure if he was diagnosed as dehydrated, the vet didn't mention it, but he has been drinking water out of the dog's bowl which is unusual ever since I have been treating him for diabetes. Also, I'm sure he didn't get as much water in his food while I was gone. He was eating the same raw food while I was gone. His numbers went way down at PMPS tonight (probably because I gave him that .5u this morning) but his appetite is still off. I am introducing the goat's milk very slowly and hope that helps too!
 
Hi Barb.

I'm glad you're back, and I'm sure Uncle is, too. Hopefully he'll get back on track soon.

When you get a chance, can you just make note on your SS to show when you were gone and the sitter was in charge? That will explain to anyone looking at it why you reduced the dose and there are no mid-cycle tests.

Marje is our top labs expert, but she's out of town with a family issue. You might send her a PM in a couple of days to ask her to take a look when she gets home.
 
Thanks for checking in! That was a good idea about the spreadsheet. I did that when I went out of town for Christmas but there has been so much going on, I totally forgot.
I really would like to ask Marje when she gets back and settled.
I hope I didn't overdo it this morning when I gave Uncle .5u, especially because he doesn't have a good appetite. Fingers crossed for a good +2 in an hour :nailbiting:
 
darn, I just read the side of the goat's milk carton and there is honey in it! Not sure how much but REALLY? Such a bummer...
 
I did wonder.... Maybe you can find some that doesn't have honey? A small pet store near me sells some, but I don't know if it has honey or not. Or, give another probiotic.
 
I did wonder.... Maybe you can find some that doesn't have honey? A small pet store near me sells some, but I don't know if it has honey or not. Or, give another probiotic.
I would think my local food co-op would have some, I can check tomorrow. I guess I'll just try it for myself and give some to Carlos & Pigeon, hate to waste it.
 
Aw, sorry that uncle is having appy problems, too. Maybe just bcuz you were out of town.

Why would you suspect the Miralax in regard to gas? Is this a side effect of Miralax?

Funny you should mention syringes. I just had to switch some out for a new baggie tonight bcuz the bag I opened yesterday was just so bad. Some batches the lines are crisp and clear and then other bags (from same box) are totally a mess with double imaged lines. Horrid quality control. I guess I should get some calipers and start practicing at being more precise.

Hope you both are feeling better quickly.
 
It is a common side effect of many laxatives.
Yes, that's what I remember reading somewhere. I mentioned it to my vet but it she wasn't sure. The good thing about her is that she never pretends to know something if she doesn't and is very receptive open to ideas and information I bring to her.
Aw, sorry that uncle is having appy problems, too. Maybe just bcuz you were out of town.

Why would you suspect the Miralax in regard to gas? Is this a side effect of Miralax?

Funny you should mention syringes. I just had to switch some out for a new baggie tonight bcuz the bag I opened yesterday was just so bad. Some batches the lines are crisp and clear and then other bags (from same box) are totally a mess with double imaged lines. Horrid quality control. I guess I should get some calipers and start practicing at being more precise.

Hope you both are feeling better quickly.
Yeah, when I first started I thought giving the injections would be the most stressful. Turns out it's getting the right dose in the needle, not the needle in the cat that's the hardest! At his dose and what I've seen with these things, I realized there is no way I can manage without the calipers. At any given time I could be double-dosing him or not giving him enough depending on how off the lines are.
 
sorry that uncle is having appy problems, too. Maybe just bcuz you were out of town.
I wish it were only that, but I don't think so. My sweet bay girl Annabelle was like that, she would just get sad and not want to eat much until I came back.
Uncle not so much! I'm just really hoping it's because he was in high numbers and will get back to his old self soon.
Hope Taffy does the same.
 
Well it's nice to see him in green:D

But I can relate to feeling exhausted and not trusting the cat.
Maybe a test at +5 will give you the reassurance you need.

Jeez on the honey in goats milk!!!
Did you actually give him any? or did you realize before he got some?

Come on Uncle give Mamma bean a break.
 
Well it's nice to see him in green:D

But I can relate to feeling exhausted and not trusting the cat.
Maybe a test at +5 will give you the reassurance you need.

Jeez on the honey in goats milk!!!
Did you actually give him any? or did you realize before he got some?

Come on Uncle give Mamma bean a break.
I just gave him one eighth of a teaspoon so far, so not really much at all
I better get a +6 because I added a little 13% Weruva (it was the only gravy I had around) to his raw to entice him to eat at +4 and I really don't trust him right now...
 
I better get a +6 because I added a little 13% Weruva (it was the only gravy I had around) to his raw to entice him to eat at +4 and I really don't trust him right now...
Just a thought if you added a little 13% to his raw meal and he ate it all, overall it's like you fed him higher LC raw, so it's not like he just had MC. Of course if he only licked the gravy off and left the food, it's another matter.

eg 1 tsp 2% mixed with 1tsp 13% would make the food approx 7.5% (2+13)/2
 
Just a thought if you added a little 13% to his raw meal and he ate it all, overall it's like you fed him higher LC raw, so it's not like he just had MC. Of course if he only licked the gravy off and left the food, it's another matter.

eg 1 tsp 2% mixed with 1tsp 13% would make the food approx 7.5% (2+13)/2
Yeah, he pretty much only wanted and ate the gravy, so I thought it best to test him. Did get an hour of of shut-eye in between though. Then the funny guy woke me up 2 hours later crying, so of course I tested him (must've missed all that poking!) and gave him some of the Weruva 12% which he devoured (meat and gravy) I didn't even care that it was MC at that point. I was just relieved he wanted to eat and I didn't OD him by giving him that .5u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top