Barbara & Uncle (GA)
Member Since 2016
Hello. Back from out of town emergency.
Both Uncle and I didn't fare too well health-wise but hopefully getting back on track soon.
Uncle's BG went as high as 530 while on a reduced dose, but thankfully has no ketones.
Lack of appetite and tight/swollen stomach landed him at the vet, tests revealed lots of air/gas present in his stomach and abdomen but no obvious constrictions. Vet isn't sure why (I'm wondering about the Miralax) and she sent us home with some goat milk as a probiotic for him.
She ran a Senior Panel, results came back yesterday. She noted that his BUN is elevated but B/C ratio is still okay, but kidney's need watching.
Also scheduled a dental (he'll most likely have an extraction or two).
Almost had an anxiety attack right before I left. Was up until 1:00 am looking through an entire box of syringes (with magnifying glass and headlamp and calipers) trying to group together ones that were relatively similar to each other to leave with the caregiver. I was REALLY shocked at how off some of them were, even though I already knew they aren't very consistent somehow it just hit me in a profound and worrisome way.
I have a light-box coming tomorrow and hopefully that, along with a the magnifying glass and readers will help me get some consistent dosing again.
I entered Uncle's most recent lab results along with 3 previous one's my vet sent me so that hopefully I can get some expert eyes on them. Also created a "Medical History" tab that shows his various past medical issues which may/or may not be helpful.
I am so grateful to everyone who has helped us, be it technical and/or moral support.
Hoping all are well and looking forward to catching up with everyone and their kitties


Both Uncle and I didn't fare too well health-wise but hopefully getting back on track soon.
Uncle's BG went as high as 530 while on a reduced dose, but thankfully has no ketones.
Lack of appetite and tight/swollen stomach landed him at the vet, tests revealed lots of air/gas present in his stomach and abdomen but no obvious constrictions. Vet isn't sure why (I'm wondering about the Miralax) and she sent us home with some goat milk as a probiotic for him.
She ran a Senior Panel, results came back yesterday. She noted that his BUN is elevated but B/C ratio is still okay, but kidney's need watching.
Also scheduled a dental (he'll most likely have an extraction or two).
Almost had an anxiety attack right before I left. Was up until 1:00 am looking through an entire box of syringes (with magnifying glass and headlamp and calipers) trying to group together ones that were relatively similar to each other to leave with the caregiver. I was REALLY shocked at how off some of them were, even though I already knew they aren't very consistent somehow it just hit me in a profound and worrisome way.
I have a light-box coming tomorrow and hopefully that, along with a the magnifying glass and readers will help me get some consistent dosing again.
I entered Uncle's most recent lab results along with 3 previous one's my vet sent me so that hopefully I can get some expert eyes on them. Also created a "Medical History" tab that shows his various past medical issues which may/or may not be helpful.
I am so grateful to everyone who has helped us, be it technical and/or moral support.
Hoping all are well and looking forward to catching up with everyone and their kitties




