2/24 AMPS 306 8uAM 7uPM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumpkin's Mom

Member Since 2016
His AMPS moves around a lot. Vet just increased dosage. He jumped on the sink for the first time in months yesterday! He is definitely feeling better.
 
Hi. I don't think we have met. I hope you set up a spreadsheet as well as a signature with meter type and all the important stuff. Are you giving different doses for a.m. and p.m. or is that the increase? Yea for feeling better!
 
Under 300 this AM. Vet is looking for 230-240 AM reading. Haven't been close to that yet.

I added in my spreadsheet. I just texted the vet his new numbers This sure jumps around a lot. He has definitely lost weight and is much peppier. He goes in and out of eating a lot. I suppose the number does rely on how much he has eaten. Does anyone remove the food bowls the night before a draw? I have 2 kitties, I hate to do that.
 
Hi there,
I managed to see your ss today.:)
Are those all the tests you've been getting.
His dose seems to have been taken up rather large steps.

Has Pumpkin been tested for high dose conditions?
 
Are you shooting 8 units at 8am and 7 units at 7pm? I'm just confirming. Lantus works best with 12 hour dosing.
 
Thanks for getting the spreadsheet up and visible. There are two halves to the spreadsheet, AM and PM. Put the AM units in the first U column, and the PM units in the second or rightmost U column. You might want to take a look at some of our spreadsheets to see how we did it.

Some cats need more insulin than others. My kitty Neko had two high dose conditions. One called acromegaly (benign pitiutary tumor puts out excess growth hormone that causes the diabetes) and the other is IAA or insulin auto antibodies - think of it like an antibody response to the injected insulin. One in four diabetic cats has acromegaly. I'm not saying Punkin has that, but you might want to test for it. We recommend it for cats that get over 6 units in insulin dose.

It's great news Punkin is feeling better, that's a sign you are getting closer to a good dose.
 
I will adjust the spreadsheet and ask the vet about high dose condition. We give him a shot at 8AM and 8PM. He is so sweet sleeping on my desk right now.
 
Hi! I posted on your thread back in November when you were asking about using Toujeo. Glad to see you back.

It's going to be helpful for you to understand a little more about how Lantus works. It is a depot insulin, meaning that it builds up in the body and sort of slow releases. There is a great explanation of it here. You can click on those bold blue words to go to an explanation of it.

Typically the morning blood sugar is the highest because of something called Dawn Phenomenon. The tricky thing here is that Lantus dosing is based upon answering the question "how low can this dose make my cat's blood sugar go?" We are focused on catching those low numbers because of this. When you get the low point in the right range, the high numbers will come usually down on their own with a little time. We don't focus on the high numbers for making dosing decisions. With a diabetic cat, one wants to avoid a hypo, so knowing how low they are going on any given dose is really important.

Are you having any trouble testing? There are a zillion tips - so if something is causing you difficulty, just say so and you'll get lots of tips. There are also tips on the thread that I gave you earlier called "Where Can I Find?"

I'm concerned about your vet's reliance on the am blood sugar test for determining dose, and on the increase by entire units. While it is possible that Pumpkin needs a larger than average dose, we can't be sure of that because of the way his dose has been increased. I want to really encourage you to do 2 things - get appropriate syringes so that you can increase the dose by smaller increments, and get at least 1 test before bed so that you can see how low he is getting on his current dose.

We've had cats - many of them, in fact - who can be 400 at the am preshot, drop to 40 within a couple of hours, and be back up to 400 by the pm preshot. The only way to know how low a cat's blood sugar is going is to get some tests in between the shots.

Why does your vet have you giving a lower dose at night than in the morning?

So glad that he's behaving like he feels better - that's great news!
 
I saw your question below on another cat's thread and thought I'd answer it here:
What is SRT?

SRT stands for Stereotactic Radiation Therapy. It's a form of radiation that is used with cats with acromegaly to target the tumor in their pituitary gland.

If you look at my signature block (just above or below here) you will see "Punkin's SRT Treatment Sept 2011." Click on that. I went through my thinking about whether or not to do the treatment, included all of the daily reports while Punkin was getting the SRT treatment at Colorado State University, and included the slides made by the veterinary resident who used Punkin as his graduate case study. That all happened 5.5 years ago, so the prices have gone up and the choices expanded for treatment since then, however, it gives you a beginning point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top