Hi! I posted on
your thread back in November when you were asking about using Toujeo. Glad to see you back.
It's going to be helpful for you to understand a little more about how Lantus works. It is a depot insulin, meaning that it builds up in the body and sort of slow releases. There is a great explanation of it
here. You can click on those bold blue words to go to an explanation of it.
Typically the morning blood sugar is the highest because of something called
Dawn Phenomenon. The tricky thing here is that Lantus dosing is based upon answering the question "how low can this dose make my cat's blood sugar go?" We are focused on catching those low numbers because of this. When you get the low point in the right range, the high numbers will come usually down on their own with a little time. We don't focus on the high numbers for making dosing decisions. With a diabetic cat, one wants to avoid a hypo, so knowing how low they are going on any given dose is really important.
Are you having any trouble testing? There are a zillion tips - so if something is causing you difficulty, just say so and you'll get lots of tips. There are also tips on the thread that I gave you earlier called "
Where Can I Find?"
I'm concerned about your vet's reliance on the am blood sugar test for determining dose, and on the increase by entire units. While it is possible that Pumpkin needs a larger than average dose, we can't be sure of that because of the way his dose has been increased. I want to really encourage you to do 2 things - get
appropriate syringes so that you can increase the dose by smaller increments, and get at least 1 test before bed so that you can see how low he is getting on his current dose.
We've had cats - many of them, in fact - who can be 400 at the am preshot, drop to 40 within a couple of hours, and be back up to 400 by the pm preshot. The only way to know how low a cat's blood sugar is going is to get some tests in between the shots.
Why does your vet have you giving a lower dose at night than in the morning?
So glad that he's behaving like he feels better - that's great news!