2/23 Weezer PMPS 334 +2 339 +3 336 +5 288+6 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 233 (16 u Lantus)
+4.5 295
+7 303
PMPS 306 (16 u Lantus + .5 u R)
+3 339
+4 302
+6 245
+7 276

Yesterday was more pink and yellow. Even .5 units of R last night didn’t get her lower than mid yellow.

I have some questions about miralax for those of you who use it. Is it the regular over the counter form that you use? How much, how administered? Weezer eats a raw diet and I know that doesn’t always produce a daily poo, so I haven’t been concerned about that 5th P always being in place. But the acro kitties can have enlarged organs and an overgrowth of soft tissues. Megacolon is one of the potential problems and we do NOT want to go there.

We’ve decided to try Levemir. Weezer has never reacted to Lantus in anything like a typical fashion. Everything from the lack of the typical curves to the fact that her numbers look very much the same whether she is getting 5 units or 16 units. The strangest thing for me is that when we increase her dose, her numbers go up. That’s not the usual NDW; the increased BGs can last longer than the dose does. Anyway, with the idea that perhaps her body has a problem with the chemical composition of Lantus, we have ordered some Levemir and hope that will work for our sugar kitty.

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

She is definitely a special girl, that Weezer! I'm glad to see her start off yellow instead of pink for this morning. I hope you guys can find the right cocktail for her soon. Bless you guys. She's a lucky cat.
When you switch to Levemir, will you still come see us in LL?
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

New juice for Weezer, this will be interesting. I'm a bit excited to see what happens. I wonder if this talk of new juice will work the same as talking about a dose increase in a condo often does and bring Weezer down today :-D
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

Much better starting point today for Weezer.

I know a lot of high dose kitties are on Levemir, I've heard that Lantus can sting when injected and Lev doesn't. It will take some getting used to, a lot of sitting on you hands at the start of the cycle because of the later onset. It also keeps you up much later to monitor. @-)

We had a real roller coaster last year when we switched, but Gracie had no problem at all. Since they are chemically different you will have 2 sheds for a while, the Lantus shed draining and the Lev shed building up. So 2 insulins working at once, that's why it is recommended to start w/ half your normal dose for Lev.

On the Miralax, 1/8 tsp a day in several small additions to the food is a good starting point. Feline Constipation.org is a great site to learn about all things digestive in cats. I was worried about long term Miralax use (still not sure about if it is OK) so I have been using Guar Gum daily and Miralax on if Tess goes more than a day w/out poo. Guar Gum is a soluble fiber, so it draws water to the colon much like Miralax does. Dr Lisa discusses it on her raw food page.
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

Hi guys .. Well this mid yellow isn't a bad starting point .. let's hope weezer does something fantastic with it! Good luck with the insulin change .. I hope that levemir makes all the difference in the world for her .. have a great day!
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

BTW, just switching to Lev doesn't mean you are rid of us! :lol: :lol: :lol: Lots of cats here are on it, just a matter of where you are most comfortable. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

Ann: I have been adding guar gum to the food, but still not getting that 5th poo reliably, so want to speed things along a bit. And not to worry, I'm not going anywhere! :-D
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

I like Weezer's starting # this morning. Good luck with the Levemir. I hope that it helps to bring her #s down further. {{{{{HUGS}}}}}

I've had Blackie on 100% psyllium, but that was to clear up some liquid poo, and it helped. I just sprinkled 1 capsule 2x a day (on her PS fuds). I used the same thing on her UTI son, Jr. Mint. I'm not sure if it will help with constipation, though. Been a while since I bought the stuff.
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

Linda, lots of luck with the Lev, and you will have a lot of good support here with it. I've used Miralax on Maggie twice in the past two years, and it's done its job. She's very sensitive to it, so very little goes a long way. It's the one sold in Walmart, drug stores, etc.
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266

Good luck with the switch to Lev!!

We use Miralax with our civvie, Frankie. She's on a maintenance dose of 1/16 tsp twice a day, mixed in with her fuds. A little does go a long way...I would "start low/go slow" with it. Our crazy vet told us to give her 1/2 tsp twice a day...what a disaster that was! Also, we do use the generic drugstore brand.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer AMPS 266,+4.5 345,+7 358,+8 385

Good luck with the Lev, there is great support here in LL for kitties on Lev too, so there's not getting away from us! ;-)
 
Re: 2/23 Weezer PMPS 334 +2 339 +3 336 +5 288

Hi Linda - so sorry foe the late visit - but I wanted to day HI! Good luck with the Lev - I hope Weezer does well with it.
 
hopefully you'll have a good response for weezer on the lev. i wonder if you need to go up in dose a little more aggressively. i know you're waiting for the dose to settle, but wonder if you need to try to get up on top of the numbers instead of chasing behind. that's how i was feeling with punkin last summer, at least. in hindsight, i wish i'd pushed things harder.

have you talked more with sandy on it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top