2-23 Leo AMPS 391/ +2 281/ PMPS 497/ +2 392

La-La Leo (GA)

Member Since 2021
Prior:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-22-22-leo-amps-540-2-396-6-25-278-pmps-407-2-5-366.259721/

Increased from .5U to .75U.
SLGS was driving me crazy with such high BGs, so starting TR. Guessing I took a good month and half of SLGS before I realized the stress of seeing Leo's high BG numbers to switch to TR. Since I have been doing more testing, any stress from that is nothing compared to seeing Leo surpass his BG when diagnosed.

I have 15% and 20% carb food on hand. I do wonder if the carb count of our previous dry food is similar to Temptations treats to use 2 or 3, if/when needed to raise BG?
 
Last edited:
SLGS was driving me crazy with such high BGs, so starting TR.
Good luck with the switch to TR. You can always switch back to SLGS if you find TR to be too much or once Leo starts seeing better numbers.
Could you please update your Signature to say TR as well? Thanks!

I have 15% and 20% carb food on hand. I do wonder if the carb count of our previous dry food is similar to Temptations treats to use 2 or 3, if/when needed to raise BG?
Is the 15-20% wet food? We use high carb wet food and honey tobring numbers up, when needed. No dry or Temptation treats.
 
st with rraising BGm, post: 2917771, member: 28500"]Good luck with the switch to TR. You can always switch back to SLGS if you find TR to be too much or once Leo starts seeing better numbers.
Could you please update your Signature to say TR as well? Thanks!


Is the 15-20% wet food? We use high carb wet food and honey tobring numbers up, when needed. No dry or Temptation treats.[/QUOTE]


Yes, it's with food. I have honey
It was someone on the FB FD group that uses 1, 2, or 3 pieces of the Temptations to assst with raising BG and not dropping so quickly from honey or gravy type carbs.
 
It was someone on the FB FD group that uses 1, 2, or 3 pieces of the Temptations to assst with raising BG and not dropping so quickly from honey or gravy type carbs.
The reason we stay with wet food / honey / karo is that we know that the carbs wear off in 2 hours. With dry food and treats we don't know how long they affect numbers, so we cannot be certain when it is safe to stop testing. Say the BG drops to 45 at +4 and you feed HC wet, you know that by +6, the carbs are out of the system, so if the numbers are higher at +6, it is safe to stop testing and go to bed. With dry food we don't know whether you can stop testing at +6, or +7 etc .
 
Back
Top