? 2/22 Zhoom Boy AMPS 348 +11 107 +11.25 93/ +1 85/ +2 96 / +3 122

CRL

Member Since 2019
Seems that Zhoom is bouncing - as usual. Is it time for an increase? Or is Zhoom considered "new to numbers under 200" and I should hold the dose another couple cycles?

  • Increase by 0.25 unit if nadirs are over 100 but less than 200:
o if your cat is new to numbers under 200- hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing
 
Zhoom is breaking his bounce...right before preshot....I was going to increase his dose, now I am not sure what to do
 
Well, I have shot some blue numbers before - 123 being the lowest - but I have never shot green numbers - feeling afraid and unsure what to do
 
Do you have supplies and are you able to follow his progress?

You can always stall and see if his numbers are holding but I believe on TR this is a safe shoot...
 
You could always shoot his normal dose and increase in the AM, but I think that I read somewhere that breaking bounces is actually already accounted for in the TR dosing method....
And the person who posted for you to increase did see that you were bouncing...hmmm

Seeing who is around

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Do you have supplies and are you able to follow his progress?

You can always stall and see if his numbers are holding but I believe on TR this is a safe shoot...
I do have supplies and I can monitor. He is down to 90 now. I am going to stall for another 15 - 20 and see where he is going.
 
You could always shoot his normal dose and increase in the AM, but I think that I read somewhere that breaking bounces is actually already accounted for in the TR dosing method....
And the person who posted for you to increase did see that you were bouncing...hmmm

Seeing who is around

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Thanks for helping
 
Do you have some honey and Karo if needed?
Are you able to monitor the whole cycle of needed?
How is his appetite?
I do have honey and karo. I can monitor the whole cycle. Not sure how his appetite is right now but in general it is good. I am scared of shooting low numbers. Will you or someone be around in case I need help?
 
I do have honey and karo. I can monitor the whole cycle. Not sure how his appetite is right now but in general it is good. I am scared of shooting low numbers. Will you or someone be around in case I need help?
Yes I will be around for the next several hours.
I would give the 1.75 units.
I would get a +1 and a +2 BG to start with to see what is happening.
Remember the insulin doesn't onset for a couple of hours yet so hopefully he will come back up a bit by then. If he hasn't we can give him some higher carb food to cushion it a bit. But not yet.
Post the +1
Keep the subject line and the SS upto date please. Thx.
 
Yes I will be around for the next several hours.
I would give the 1.75 units.
I would get a +1 and a +2 BG to start with to see what is happening.
Remember the insulin doesn't onset for a couple of hours yet so hopefully he will come back up a bit by then. If he hasn't we can give him some higher carb food to cushion it a bit. But not yet.
Post the +1
Keep the subject line and the SS upto date please. Thx.
Ok, thanks so much.
 
I just saw +1 85. I would give a small snack of low carb. We don’t want to fill him up but we want him to have something. I’ll watch for the +2
 
Hehe! I'll take it! Like my friend tells me, "it ain't brave if you ain't scared" Thanks for your support. I imagine one day this will get easier.
It will get easier. The first few times shooting low is just plain scary.... just remember as long as you are testing, you are in control. And as long as you have the tools.... test strips, high carb food, honey/karo and are monitoring you can manage the drops.
Always ask for help if you are not sure.
 
+2 at 96 - should I feed a little more LC food? His normal feeding routine lands him a snack at +2.5 and +4.5
 
+2 at 96 - should I feed a little more LC food? His normal feeding routine lands him a snack at +2.5 and +4.5
96...that’s good.
Yes I would give him a teaspoon of low carb food now and test again +3
We just want to make sure we catch any drop early.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CRL
Heading up into the blue now. May see a dip back to the lagoon later. Or a bounce into the lemon tree. Hard to say. Thinking I will test again around + 5. Does that seem good? And following TR protocol, do I hold this dose now for 10 cycles?
 
Looks like he could be bouncing from his first green Preshot. Yes I’d test at +5 to see what he’s decided to do.
Hold the dose for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles), unless he earns a reduction, and then we can see what he’s up to. He will need to stay longer on this dose if he’s dropping into greens.
 
Looks like he could be bouncing from his first green Preshot. Yes I’d test at +5 to see what he’s decided to do.
Hold the dose for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles), unless he earns a reduction, and then we can see what he’s up to. He will need to stay longer on this dose if he’s dropping into greens.
Thanks so much for encouraging me to be brave and for sticking with me. Very much appreciated. I'm feeling much more calm now. Ha! I can remember when a number as low as 122 was scary! Now it's just the good blue. Again, thank you.
 
Thanks so much for encouraging me to be brave and for sticking with me. Very much appreciated. I'm feeling much more calm now. Ha! I can remember when a number as low as 122 was scary! Now it's just the good blue. Again, thank you.
Happy to help!
I remember when I longed to see greens, then when they appeared they scared me. Then I grew to love a green Preshot.
You did well today!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: CRL
It's late but you earned it! Our coveted BOS award!
Balls of Steel fist.png
 

Attachments

  • Balls of Steel fist.png
    Balls of Steel fist.png
    67.8 KB · Views: 211
Back
Top