2/22 Tonka AMPS 68, +1 85, +2 79, +3 58, +4 79 (after food), +7 115 (after more food)

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...04-6-128-8-83-10-99-pmps-94-2-79-4-59.133525/

So Tonka seems to be sliding down again. And of course, he caught me not quite awake this morning and I fed him before thinking of waiting for half an hour to see if he was falling or climbing, but considering that he's already 1/2 hour overdue for his shot since last night's, ...

I have to head our for a few hours in the afternoon, leaving around +3.5 or +4 - right about the time that he'd likely be having trouble if he falls too far. And since I intervened in his descent last night, he might very well have earned a reduction that I didn't let happen.

I think I ought to reduce his dose, but not sure by how much

*He is apparently starving this morning
 
Or should I just give him the 1 unit and leave out a whack load of med carb food for him to munch on as necessary?
 
Couldn't delay his shot anymore since I'll have to work him down to his usual time (an hour earlier than now) tomorrow morning

So I bit the bullet and gave him his full dose. I might just have to feed him some high carb food later or leave extra med carb, or something, if I have to leave when he's descending. With luck this will be an early nadir day so that I can see him rising before I have to leave (it's happened before)
 
I see you shot, so be vigilant with testing til you have to leave. You may have to leave out some high carb if he starts dropping.
 
Yes, that'll have to be the plan. I really should learn to just let him drop below 50 at night so that I can be sure that it's time to reduce his dose, but it's so hard to just let him fall... Given how he attacked his food this morning, though, I wouldn't be surprised if he dropped farther at the end of his cycle and is going to rebound now. Of course I'll have no way of knowing for certain since I didn't wait and retest half an hour later before feeding him :banghead:
 
Looks like this morning was a double dip. One thing that's interesting about kitties when their spreadsheets start looking like Tonka's, is that often their bounce is barely noticeable. :cool:

Be good today Tonka - surf safely.
 
He's up to 85 now (at +1), so that's a good sign - at least he's not still falling. But of course, Mr. feed-me-now has eaten all of his breakfast and half of Teeger's already, and I gave them a slightly higher carb food today (the 7-8% Friskies pate) to give his insulin something extra to work on, so it shouldn't be any wonder.
I swear that's the only symptom Tonka shows of hypoglycemia (other than rebounding): he comes in looking very interested in food, whereas usually he just grazes and ignores if for most of the day. He's still licking at the plates.
 
And already down a bit (79) for +2. I know that that could be meter variance, but the Bravo meter is supposedly accurate with 10% (in line with the pending new standards) so I suspect that he really is descending a bit. And he was slurping up the last of the breakfast food in between. Think I might need to just carb him up if I have to leave in less than 2 hours?
 
On the non-BG number end of things, Tonka is quite content so far today. Sitting in one of his favorite window perches, which he hasn't done in a long while (usually he just heads upstairs to snooze for 8 hours at a time in his quiet-place-sleep-spot)
 
I would grab one more test before leaving and feed accordingly - if he's going down, leave out some high carb. If he's fairly steady, maybe some mid. Hopefully someone smarter than I am will be along before you have to go and give you better advice. I'll be keeping Tonka in my thoughts. Surf Safe, Tonka!!
 
Thanks Tricia. That's basically what I was planning - just never sure if 'm taking the best approach or not. But concensus seems to be that it's better to give him more carbs than to skip or reduce a shot on days like these, and so far it seems to be working for him :)
 
6.4 (115) at +6.75 after monging down on all the extra carb food that I left for him. And now he's happily snorting around in the back yard, getting muddy feet :cat:

And now Rolling in the dirt and mud! Whoever started the rumour that cat's are immaculately clean animals clearly never met my boys
 
Last edited:
Hahaha go Tonka! Do you have to bath him after that?

Definitely better to give more carbs than skip or reduce where you can. Wet carbs will only effect that one cycle. Vyktor vacuuming out the food bowl was always very helpful in letting me know that he needed a test. Very handy indicator with free fed kitties :)
 
The rolling only got him covered in dead vegetation and dirt, fortunately. The feet were another matter, caked in mud! He got to wade in about 1/2 inch of warm water in the tub, then proceeded to srpay muddy water all over the bathroom when he shook off his flippers (he's still walking on his hocks, and it seriously looks like flipper-cat! But they were a-flailing like crazy, so he's clearly getting some strength back in them. And this afternoon he kicked my old boy out of the coveted scratching post (poor Teegie, he'd waited years to be able to take that over again, but Tonka now has enough kick in him to jump up there too)

Now if he does the same thing, dropping tonight, I'll just have to get brave and let him drop to at least 50 so that I'll know whether or not it really is time to reduce him again (I strongly suspect that it is). So much for his dental. Vet doesn't want to do it when he's on the active blood sugar decline, and I can't blame her.
 
I think it was fine that you fed last night and kept him above 50. If you can easily keep him over 50 with just low carb, that can help bring all of his blood sugar into a lower range. If you are giving high carb to keep him over 50, then that's likely unhelpful in figuring out his dosing. But if it's a few bites of low carb and that's all it takes, then it's fine.

Your subject line has "help" in it, but i'm thinking you don't need help now, do you? If it was about this morning (sorry no one saw in time to help you decide on shooting) then it would be great if you could update the subject line.

For now, he's looking SUPER! Your sweet Tonka looks to be on a mission, and his blood sugar is flattening out really nicely. I suspect that 115 today was a bit of a last-ditch effort at bouncing and he's going to be right back to business . You've got a full 24 hours in normal numbers right now - between 50-120. That's fantastic! Yes, for tonight I'd let him go with just some LC snacks and see if he goes under 50 on his own. He's safe doing that - you'll be able to bring him back up with carbs.
 
Argh. Possible fur shot tonight (with a 5.6 [101] pre-shot blood sugar level). First one that I know of: it felt like it went in and he didn't flinch to pull away, but I could smell the insulin on his fur afterward. Possibly just a drop that didn't come out of the needle until I removed it since I could smell it on the needle too. Guess we'll find out in the next while.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top