2/22 SCRABBLE PMPS 380 +3 326

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 need help for am dosing!

Michelle, I read part of your yesterday's thread. You didn't feed him yet this morning, did you?
You don't want the food spike from feeding early, to affect his BG test at AMPS.
Normally, we only feed right before AMPS in rare cases when the cat is in the 50s or below, I think.
 
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 need help for am dosing!

Yes I just fed him, he would not leave me alone to feed him. I have no idea what to do for his am shot, help!!!
 
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 help for dosing, only 20 minutes!!

it looks like he might be on his way up at his +11.

if you test him again it might be influenced by a food spike, but would still give some more feedback.

will you be around today?
 
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 help for dosing, only 20 minutes!!

Yes was planning on doing a bg curve today so will be home all day, should I give him the 1.25 or just 1?
 
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 help for dosing, only 20 minutes!!

If I was going to be around all day, I would personally give the full dose and see how he does. But you might want to wait for more expert advise.
You have HC just in case, right?
 
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 help for dosing, only 20 minutes!!

I am just scared because I have never seen numbers so low from him!! I guess it is a good thing that he is low right? I do have dry food and high carb cans!
 
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 help for dosing, only 20 minutes!!

Six was dx in December so this is new for me too...please understand that when reading my two cents. I'm putting this out there because I'm not sure who is around this morning.

It's scary to shoot low numbers when you haven't been there before...I remember the same panic.

If I was going to be around to do checks, I would shoot it. It would give me evidence how to handle this situation in the future, but you have to do what makes you feel comfortable. Do you have plenty of strips and HC food around if needed?

If you decide to shoot the 1.00 instead of 1.25, he will be ok too.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

I do have strips stocked up and food so I should be fine, yeah I only have a week and a half at this so I am pretty scared!!!
 
Re: 2/22 scrabble +11 127 help for dosing, only 20 minutes!!

I think they advise for you to do what feels comfortable for you.
Would you feel comfortable shooting a slightly fat 1 unit? This could be an exciting day for you :mrgreen:
You may want to stall and wait for more expert adise than myself. I'm a big chicken, too ;-) .
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

I think I feel the most comfortable giving him a 1 instead of a 1.25 what do you think?
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

then do what's comfortable for you. we have all been in your shoes.

he'll be fine with a 1.0 or like Dyana suggested a fat 1.0
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

Michelle
I know you are new at this and the low numbers can be scary the first time.
When this happens you have a few options.
One is to stall for 15 minutes but do NOT feed and test again to see if the number is rising. The reason you don't feed is that you want to have a true number and not a food spike number.

The second option is to give a reduced dose. I would say if you were not going to be home this might be a good option but you are around so this is a good time to collect data.

The third option would be to skip the shot. I would not advise this either today because you are home.

You have stips and hc food. You mentioned you have dry food but I would stay away from the dry. It takes too long to get into the system and too long to leave.

Relax and don't worry. I will check in and I am sure the more experienced people will check in also. :thumbup

I just wanted to add that you have to do what makes you comfortable.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

I just shot him with a fat one. That is what felt comfortable for me. I will be checking him a lot today since I am doing a bg curve so we will see where he is at. Guess it is a good thing to see low numbers, haven't seen them before so I was quite surprised! It is hard for me to stall shots because I am on a tight schedule with work/shot schedule
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

Ha! Now Scrabble is all curled up on his blanket as his Mom is having a panic attack! Should I test again @ +1?
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

good job!

either decision will give you data to help with future decisions.

i remember freaking out at shooting a 199...he had never been in a that low and i was scared to death!

it does get easier - i promise. i just survived Six's first under 50 moment this weekend. and while it was scary, knowing i had people to go to for advice and reading all the many condos week after week, really helped me understand i could handle the situation.

have a good day michelle and scrabble!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

Nice job Michelle....it looks like Scrabble is on his way up. If you want to test at +1 that is fine. The more data you can collect at the beginning is great.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

Good job, Michelle! Scrabble will be fine.

Quoting myself, because I just realized what I said. I'm such a nincomepoop sometimes with words:
Dyana said:
I'm a big chicken, too ;-) .
I didn't mean to say or imply that you are a chicken. Sorry!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

Hahaha Dyana yes I am a chicken!!!!!! It's my baby, I want to do the best for him! This stuff is so stressful, I haven't had a good night's sleep since I found out!!!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 WITH FOOD, DOSING ADVICE?!!

Good job Michelle! Blues are very good, you just don't want him to go down too far, too fast. Amazing what a few more drops of insulin can do isn't it? Scrabble's numbers look very good. In the future if he is so insistent about being fed, test first then feed. It takes about 20 minutes for the food to get into the blood stream and start effecting the numbers. Don't panic, these are number you are trying to get.

It's great that you got the +11 to be able to see the trend, I'll test up to half an hour before the shot if I think Tess might be going down. Testing a little early isn't a problem and it gives you time to get ready for the shot with more tests if needed. I've been talked down off the ceiling a few times by people here when Tess's numbers just kept on dropping. You can always work back to your shot time.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food/BG curve today

Hi Michelle and Scrabble, I just stopped in and it looks like you have already had an exciting morning. As others have mentioned it is best to do what you feel comfortable with no matter what. I know when I was new at testing I was very nervous shooting a lower number, but found that you have to take that leap at some point, and the best time to do that is when you will be around to monitor and provide HC if it is required.

Remember that every cat is different, but one thing that I found with Sami is that she didn't drop as quickly as the numbers got lower. So even thought she might drop 200 points with one dose, when she was getting into the lower numbers having the same dose she might drop only 50 points. It is a weird phenomenon, and I don't know if other cats are the same or not. But something to keep in mind.

You are doing great so far, keep it up.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food/BG curve today

Morning--Listen today is our 2nd anniversary here & I still EEEKKKKK at low numbers!!! So even oldies do get @-) @-) over low numbers--
Many times when Moonie was in the low double digits, I have shot...I just grit my teeth & do it, as I know each time she has a green number, it's healing the pancreas(or at least giving a jump start)...and I will be here to monitor.
So, feel good about yourself, your cat is in blue numbers already!!!!!
That is amazing!
Testing will give you the info of how your cat responds to the insulin, on different doses, when his nadir is, etc.
This will come in handy in the future..
YOU ARE DOING GREAT Michelle!! Not to worry--you did everything right today--HUGS~!!!!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food/BG curve today

Scrabble is probably bouncing from the blue number. This is also a little bit of a food spike too.

I think you could wait until +3 to check again.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food now +1 272 ????

Way to go Michelle & Scrabble. I've been watching your thread because I'm new, too, and I so understand the panic. With hindsight being 20/20, now I can see some (or most) Vets really don't understand the Lantus. At one time my Vet dropped my kitty from 2 units down to 1 unit, and her #'s were crazy! This was before I found this Board.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food now +1 272 ????

Good morning Michelle. Nothing like starting the day with your heart racing!! Great shooting!!!!

Miriam and CD gave you excellent input. Looking at what's going on with Scrabble's numbers, it looks like he's bouncing back up after the blue surf last night like Miriam suggested. And yes, it can be pretty amazing how quickly this can happen.

I want to correct one of the posts. You really do not want to feed if you are stalling a shot. Even though it may take a short amount of time for food to kick in, you may need to stall for more than 15 min. When you're stalling for longer than a few minutes, you won't have any idea when you're going to shoot so it's best not too feed even if your kitty is attempting to gnaw on your ankle. If you need to give a LC treat after testing, that's fine but don't give a meal.

I'm glad CD demystified the slang/abbreviation for DPS!

Are you going to test every 2 hrs for your curve?
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food now +1 272 ????

+3 336 wow amazing how much he has jumped up! Guess it would have been fine to do 1.25, I just got scared! He was acting funny last night though and was really hungry! Yes I am going to test every 2 hours
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +1 272 +3 336

Sorry, I didn't mean to imply feeding if you still needed to test again. I just meant that doing the PS a little early (15 to30 min) before shooting was OK. If the number is good then go ahead and feed and shoot on time, if not you have a little time to retest before the shot. It was early and I guess I wasn't clear
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +1 272 +3 336

What you're seeing is rebound. We have lots of descriptive words for it here in LL -- RBC (rebound city) or LTS (Liver Training School). Well, we have other words for it but those are the ones that are relevant and appropriate for a "G-rated" board!!

The process is that Scrabble has gotten used to BG that's in higher numbers. As the insulin is doing it's job and as the pancreas heals, numbers come down, like last night. That's the good news. The bad news is that Scrabble's liver panicked. Instead of recognizing those blues as a healthy, good range, her liver started reacting as if this was hypoglycemia and pumped out stored glucose and counterregulatory hormones. (I know, this is why we call it liver training school!) As Scrabble spends more time in lower numbers, her liver will, hopefully, calm down and stop going into panic mode. Just be aware that it can take up to 72 hrs. for those hormones to clear.

So, as it turns out, today is a great day to collect data but it may not be a typical day for the purposes of getting a curve.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +1 272 +3 336

Hi Michelle
Just stopping by to say you did a great job this morning.
I personally don't have experience in shooting low numbers but as
was said before, you do what you are comfortable with.
You are still very new to this pocess so give yourself tons of credit
for handling this so well.

Once you are home doing a curve today, you might want to reveiw some of the stickies(with stars) at the top, especially the one about shooting low numbers.
You are still in the early stages of gathering data on how scrabble reacts.
Keep up the good work.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +1 272 +3 336

+7 346 guess I will definetly shoot a 1.25 tonight then correct? I am so depressed seeing these higher numbers today!!! :(
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +1 272 +3 336

Don't get depressed.....these blue numbers are all very new to Scrabble. This is a normal reaction just like Sienne said.
Not a great day for a curve but a good learning experience.
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +7 346 :(

So Sienne does that mean I will probably have higher numbers for the next three days? Should I shoot a 1.25 tonight?
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +1 272 +3 336

Nice start of the day.
Sorry about the RBC...

I second what Sienne said. The bounce you see is normal.... perfectly normal. As indicated it's part of liver training. Other way to look at is that the body (mainly the liver) has forgotten what normal blood glucose numbers are like and when it sees them again, the reference is out of wack and the hormones kick in to counter effect. Those hormones can last up to 72 hours as it has been mentioned. Poke around the SSs and you'll see the same thing happening to other kitties.

So... the way Scrabble's day has started - this cycle, is save-a-strip cycle (and it may, may be a save a strip day). No need for a poke fest, unless you really want to.

Eventually, Scrabble's body will get remember what the official normal numbers are and will stop bouncing.

Catch u later!

ETA - if you shoot Fat1U, then your SS should say f1.0U
Tonight.... if you're going to be home, stick to 1.25 since that's the proper dose for Scrabble at this time.... IMO
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +7 346 :(

Michelle & Scrabble said:
So Sienne does that mean I will probably have higher numbers for the next three days? Should I shoot a 1.25 tonight?

Not Sienne but I think what she means is not to be worried if the numbers are higher because it could take up to 72 hours to clear but you will have to wait and see how long Scrabble's liver wants to panic. :-D
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +1 272 +3 336

Hi again Michelle!
Sienne explained rebound for you and I hope everyone has reassured you that this is a pretty normal response to a kitty's lower BG numbers after being high for awhile. Using insulin (which brings the BG down) will help Scrabble's body remember what his correct "normal" BG should be. After a certain time Scrabble will 'reset' his numbers and eventually stop the panic bounce response.

These blue/green numbers below 200 are helping Scrabble heal as the insulin supports the pancreas but for now, the liver is a scaredy cat and is trying to get Scrabble back up to the 300's it is used to. But it will learn in "Liver Training school" that 100's are good. So you may see more bouncing to 300's for a while as Scrabble learns, but you are in good company as so many kitties have done this before you.

If you glance at your SS you can see that Scrabble did a bounce on Feb 16 after a blue number.

Please don't worry Scrabble is doing well and it is nice to see the insulin response when you increased the dose last night. This is what you want! Yes, it will make your heart flippy flop when you see the 100's for the first time after so many pinks.. That kind of how the liver felt too. "Whoa, What is this?" it said, ... maybe I should throw some glucose to get back to those pinks! Mr. Liver didn't need to do that really and you probably didn't need to lower the dose this morning either. BUT you need to be comfortable as you are learning this process so you did just fine. Ok?

I see good things for Scrabble's future!

P.S. I took too long to write this since I've been interrupted about 45 times... so I've repeated what others have already said, sorry 'bout that!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +7 346 :(

Hey Michelle I just wanted to drop by Scrabbles condo for the day and tell you how great you are doing. Look how far you have come with hometesting. It can be very frustrating and depressing at the beginning when the our kitties need time to adjust to the Lantus. But all of what you are seeing is really good. He will get there. As Carolyn and Spot told me at the very beginning "you are going to be banging your head against the wall plenty of times". Oh boy was she right. Just when you think you are seeing a pattern or progress, Scrabble will throw you a curve ball.

Just hang in there and keep up the good work. It is so worth it when you start to see some less rebound and they start to act like they feel better. You are doing what is best for Scrabble; it just takes some time for his little body to get used to.

Huggs and purrs!!!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167w/food +7 346 :(

Thanks everyone for helping me be less stressed! Gosh Scrabble is going to give me a heart attack!? Was it because I increased the dose that he dropped so much? So the census is I should try the 1.25 again tonight? It scared me last night because Scrabble was acting weird, wouldn't sit still, wanted to eat. I am not going to test him again today to his pmps to save his ears a little and my strips, poor guy I have been poking the heck out of him!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 question for pm shot?

Hi Michelle,
Good job today!
One thing I notice with Latte is if she takes a large drop, even from higher numbers to high numbers, she will act antsy, get hungry, meowy, etc. Without a test right before that blue last night, its hard to say when or how big the drop was at one time. For example, scrabble could have been hanging in the 200s, where you found him at the first test after pmps until right before you tested and got the blue. make sense?

Latte dropped about 135pts last night in about 1.5hrs and that made her very meowy and hungry. She has similar patterns in the first few hrs after amps.

The more you test and move around the test times, the more you will learn. It will take some time to gather that information, so be patient with yourself.

You are doing great! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 question for pm shot?

Nice job today, Michelle (and last night too, great cycle for Scrabble!).

Last night's numbers are fantastic, they're just what we want, so yes, 1.25 would be the dose again for tonight. He may stay high tonight, or he may start to go down again, we'll have to see. Let's see what the numbers are. This is really nice, though!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE AMPS 167 question for pm shot?

pmps 380 ok gonna try the 1.25 again, hopefully I don't have a nail biter like last night again! The positive that came out of today is I stayed home with him all day and cleaned out my closet! LOL!
 
Re: 2/22 SCRABBLE PMPS 380

Scrabble is happy, fed and has his shot, crossing my paws for a good night, I will check him a couple of times tonight! Thanks to everyone for your help!!! I am going to call the vet right now and let her know what happened, hope she is not too mad at me for increasing a bit!!!
 
Talked with the vet, she was pretty impressed by our progress and how well the home testing is going. She said I am her only patient that does home testing! She has no problem with the increase which is good. Does anyone know about Purina litter box strips? She said I should be testing to see if there is glucose in his urine? Scrabble is curled up on my lap at the moment enjoying some zzzzzz's
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top