2/22 Miho AMPS 362

Sophia & Miho

Member Since 2023
Insulin: 1.5u

she's being fed dry prescriptioon diet to lower her phosphorus, which is causing her higher numbers than usual. I just ordered wet food with lower phos, hopefully her numbers are down and i don't have to increase insulin :c
 
(@+7.2)
306 (17.0 mmol)

Miho seemed unwell all day (decreased appetite, separated fur, sleeping inside her cat house)
I checked her bloog sugar at 7+ and it hasn't dropped much from her amps. It's either i gave a furshot in the morning, or i need to increase the dose.
I don't think it's due to adding dry food she ate very little today.
should I increase 1.5u to 2u tonight? @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
When did she start the "prescription diet" food? Was that just yesterday?

You were seeing numbers under 200 with the 1.5 unit dose. That means increasing by only 0.25 units if you were going to increase. Unfortunately, I don't think we have enough data to say how low the 1.5 unit dose is getting her. Plus there are no night time tests. It's possible that what you are seeing is bouncing from low numbers at night. Many cats go lower at night. I wouldn't increase right now, I would try to get a bit more data first. We decide how to change the dose based on how low the dose is taking the cat, and try to ignore those high numbers.
 
When did she start the "prescription diet" food? Was that just yesterday?

You were seeing numbers under 200 with the 1.5 unit dose. That means increasing by only 0.25 units if you were going to increase. Unfortunately, I don't think we have enough data to say how low the 1.5 unit dose is getting her. Plus there are no night time tests. It's possible that what you are seeing is bouncing from low numbers at night. Many cats go lower at night. I wouldn't increase right now, I would try to get a bit more data first. We decide how to change the dose based on how low the dose is taking the cat, and try to ignore those high numbers.

@+8
293

I just gave a small amount (50ml) of subqutaneous fluid (hartsmann's solution) to help her lower her bg, it didn't go down much but she seems better than before.


yes we started prescription food just yesterday. but she ate about 10-20g of dry + her usual meal, so I doubt it's the reason affecting her blood sugar.
okay, i will get more tests - i won't change the dose for now.
 
Not all cats get lower BG's from subq fluids.

well mine did.. she used to get subq's daily due to kidney issues & it lowered her bg to the point I was worried she might become hypoglycemic. But today it didn't lower her bg as much as i thought :c may be because I gave less than 100ml, but I did not want to stress her more than now
 
Sophia, are you testing the urines for ketones?
I’m just concerned you said she was unwell all day.
If you don’t have any ketostix to test the urine I would encourage you to get some kerosrix from Walmart or a pharmacy.
I’m glad you have ordered some wet low phosphorus food for Miho.
 
Sophia, are you testing the urines for ketones?
I’m just concerned you said she was unwell all day.
If you don’t have any ketostix to test the urine I would encourage you to get some kerosrix from Walmart or a pharmacy.
I’m glad you have ordered some wet low phosphorus food for Miho.

I do have ketostix! But I don't know how to get urine samples because she pees sitting down ;_;
she is doing better now though after subq's. she's in the living room playing and I just fed her, she ate well.
i'll try to get urine samples tonight! (And get more tests for data :))
if it fails, i'll buy urinalysis litter or order ketone strips. I have 2 ketone meters at home
 
Back
Top