2.22 Magnolia PMPS 69 shot full dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Active Member
WCR: Hungry, Purry, Lovey. No LB action yet today, but we replaced her litter with those little beads so we can get a urine sample for the vet. I'm really not sure how this will work out...I hope she doesn't decide to "go" somewhere else!

The protocol states that if she loses regulation after a decrease, I should immediately increase to the last good dose. My question is, what quantifies losing regulation? She is high this morning, but it looks like a bounce to me. How long can I wait before increasing? She's been doing well on this dose...

Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday's Recap
AMPS 104
+3 73
+5.5 57
+9 77
+11 82
PMPS 79
+1 95
+2 102
+4 156
 
Re: 2.22 Magnolia AMPS 270

Hi Sara,

I don't know the answer to your question. But I will sat that Magnolia must really like her seesaw! Come on, Magnolia, stop flirting with the pinks!
 
+6 114

Still no LB action yet. She went downstairs once but when I checked, there were no prezzies. I'm not sure how long to let thus go on.
 
+11 60, PMPS 69. I shot her full dose. I'll be home and ready to pull out the wii if we have to do another all nighter. This little orange kitty does like her bouncing. The bounces are getting shorter though.

She never used the "no sorb" litter, she was quite upset by it actually. After 10 hours, I replaced it with her regular litter. She peed a river, poor thing. I just don't understand...if they are concerned about her kidneys...is it such a great idea to mess with her LB? The vets office told me to try again tomorrow, eventally she will use it if she has to go bad enough. :shock:
 
Not sure about the type of litter question... if she pees in it and it's not scented and it's cleanable... what's wrong with it????

What I do know however.... is NICE HOOTING!
getta+1 of course :mrgreen:
 
Thanks Helene! Oh, we're doing the hokey pokey tonight for sure.

The litter is no sorb, so that she can pee in it and then we can collect the urine and take it in for analysis. But they only gave us about a half a cup! It hardly covered the bottom of the box. She wanted nothing to do with it and got quite panicky. She held it all day. It just seems like a bad idea if they are concerned with kidney function.
 
PMPS 69, +1 67, +2 66, +3 65

+3 65

She's an official surfer. And I couldn't help myself, I had to make her a new profile photo. Artists can only play so much Wii before they have to stop and actually make something tangible.

It doesn't hurt her to be surfing the 60's, right? "normal" is 80-200...she is low, but...I thought this was a GOOD thing...but now I wonder...
 
LOL!! Nice pic!! Magnolia surfin' the waves - lookin for cool!! :lol:

if it makes ya feel better retest in half from the +3,,, Magnolia's gonna keep u up for a while huh? :mrgreen:
 
She usually has nadir between +4 and +6, so I definitely have to stay up until then. Good thing it's finals week, no classes.

I'm not too concerned about her dropping too low, but I wanted to make sure it's ok that I'm keeping her surfing the 60's for so long. I could give MC to get her up to 90, but I don't think I should. I think I'm just still trying to understand how the dance works...
 
This is a great number for surfing! Surfing in the 50s and above is just perfect!

And "normal" is more like 50 - 120. If you look at some of the numbers from the OTJ trial kitties, they have some numbers in the 40s, and that's with no insulin.
 
Thank you for clarifying Sienne! I had read 80-120, but the new vet said 80-200...

Then Yay! This little orange kitty is doing a-ok. I'll put up with the sleep deprivation tomorrow. :mrgreen: Totally worth it.
 
PMPS 69, +1 67, +2 66, +3 65, +4.5 57

Surf's up.

She happy, chillin. She is giving me the "feed me" stare down.

I'm going to get her +5.5 and then decide if I am going to bed yet or not.
 
Sara & Magnolia said:
The litter is no sorb, so that she can pee in it and then we can collect the urine and take it in for analysis. But they only gave us about a half a cup! It hardly covered the bottom of the box. She wanted nothing to do with it and got quite panicky. She held it all day. It just seems like a bad idea if they are concerned with kidney function.

I went through this with my cat after the diabetes dx.. I'm not even sure I got half a cup of the plastic bead things.. Nova is not one to give up her pee by the standard vet methods... her doctor says she gets really tense and puckers up like crazy haha.. Not sure if it will work for Magnolia.. but what I finally resorted to was getting a brand new litter box, locking us in the bathroom and settling in for a marathon with tons of water (in a brand new dish for extra entertainment) to get her going.. the new litter box was pretty interesting to her though.. the regular one is uncovered and pretty big so I got a small covered one to try and get her interest level up.. it only ended up taking an hour or so.. I was prepared to be there all night :).
 
Thanks Dawn! Maybe we'll try that tomorrow. Our only other option is to let her hold it all day and then take her to the vet to have it taken out with a needle, so while holing up in the bathroom doesn't sound like much fun...maybe that's what we'll have to do. .

What are they thinking, only giving a handful of "litter"? Kitties like to be neat and tidy! I wonder if anyone is ever successful with so few little beads...
 
Sara & Magnolia said:
What are they thinking, only giving a handful of "litter"? Kitties like to be neat and tidy! I wonder if anyone is ever successful with so few little beads...

Yeah I laughed at them when they handed me the little container.. What's worse.. is I didn't find all the struggling to get her to do it to be the worst part (it took me a day or two to come up with getting a new exciting litter box, water dishs)...once she did.. pouring it back into the container with the urine made me get sick..all over the place.. cat pee is nasty nasty nasty! It's a thousand times worse in its pure form then it is mixed with cat litter :).

Oh also, I bought a few kinds of bottled water.. my particularly picky cat does better when she feels she has choices..

Best of luck with the sit-in.. bring a couch cushion(s), a pillow and a book.. the bathtub isn't really that bad with padding :).
 
Sara & Magnolia said:
Oh yuck. You are making the other option sound SUPER.

If the vet method worked for Nova.. I'd pick that route for sure :).. They tried on two separate days.. they went erm.. up the out hole and tried to get some.. but she just wouldn't have it.. she's a "real clench-er". It's also possible to go through the skin and get to the same place, so I'm told.. but Nova hates being touched, and none of us were comfortable with giving that a try without putting her under.. which became too much risk in my books just so I can avoid some suffering :).

That being said.. my parents had a cat that had frequent URIs.. and had to collect urine all the time.. they would take him (indoor kitty) outside on a harness which got him pretty interested in peeing really quick.. and stick the container under the stream (brave cat parents they are :) ).. it was really easy for them and was miraculous to watch really :).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top