2/22 - Harley - AMPS 366, +6 101, PMPS 129 (Shoot?)

RobinHarley

Member Since 2018
Hi!

After yesterday (2/21 post) he road the night in the mid-high 300s with really no change. Today I got a bit busy around the house and lost track of time, but wish I had spot checked him between AMPS and Lunch at +6. I would like to know if this 101 is him rising from a lower number or possibly a nadir? That would be awesome if we are finally seeing nadir's below 300!

Come on Harley booger!

Also I was reflecting on the SLGS method - I know I have been asked more than once why I don't do the TR method because I certainly test enough. I do know I test enough but there has been many reasons - and I was wondering if you could safely work the two? For example I haven't really wanted to do TR because my mother takes care of Harley a lot as well because I am graduating this semester, full time school, full time internship, and also working on the weekends. When May comes I will be graduated and moving on to full time internship again, graduate school, and part time work. Right now I am home more than I will be in May. May I will be starting to be gone about 8am to 9pm M-Thurs. My mom has a great deal of her own health problems so I wouldn't want to put all of this on her. Besides that - I also don't like the idea of not holding a dose for shorter than 7 days right now - but at the same time if he is to drop below 90, but stay in the 80s to 70s without dropping further I don't feel like we should reduce his dose... Hm... just reflecting on all of this... :)

Photo of the man today --- Similar to my posting pic --- but he lovings the big windows in the living room for sun bathing (though he hasn't cared to move with the sun currently, haha).
IMG_20190222_153317_730.jpg
 
Looks like he is recovering nicely from the bounce. :cool:

It’s not a good idea to mix and match the two dosing methods. They each have their own safety mechanisms built in. But you could always try TR for a while when you are home more, then switch back to SLGS when life becomes busier. A second option, once you understand Harley’s onset, nadir and duration on Lantus, as well as how carb sensitive he is, is to tweak SLGS a bit to what works for him. While you are home and monitoring more, you could try lowering the reduction point to 80, as an example, and gather data to see if that works.
 
What a handsome devil he is!
Today I got a bit busy around the house and lost track of time, but wish I had spot checked him between AMPS and Lunch at +6. I would like to know if this 101 is him rising from a lower number or possibly a nadir?
For that cycle you can consider it nadir.
Keep in mind that nadir can move around as you travel along the path to better regulation.

Also I was reflecting on the SLGS method - I know I have been asked more than once why I don't do the TR method because I certainly test enough. I do know I test enough but there has been many reasons - and I was wondering if you could safely work the two?
Best to stick with one or the other, mixing and matching is not recommended.

For example I haven't really wanted to do TR because my mother takes care of Harley a lot as well because I am graduating this semester, full time school, full time internship, and also working on the weekends. When May comes I will be graduated and moving on to full time internship again, graduate school, and part time work. Right now I am home more than I will be in May. May I will be starting to be gone about 8am to 9pm M-Thurs. My mom has a great deal of her own health problems so I wouldn't want to put all of this on her. Besides that - I also don't like the idea of not holding a dose for shorter than 7 days right now - but at the same time if he is to drop below 90, but stay in the 80s to 70s without dropping further I don't feel like we should reduce his dose... Hm... just reflecting on all of this... :)
Whichever method you choose when a reduction is called for best to take it, for safety sake. Based on your schedule SLGS may be best. It would however be worth discussing it with your mom. Know that whichever you choose, if it turns out not to be the right fit, you can switch methods.
 
Thank you both for the information. That makes sense and I will stick with the SLGS method.

I did a have a question for tonight... we are 129... with recent happenings would I shoot a full 3u? I know the SLGS says until you know more about their cycle don't shoot anything below 150...
 
I see, this weekend I do have some time I can wiggle the shot time around and then get it back to normal so I am going to wait about 20 - 30 minutes and check him. Then give him dinner and decide from there. To see if he is going up or down.
 
I see, this weekend I do have some time I can wiggle the shot time around and then get it back to normal so I am going to wait about 20 - 30 minutes and check him. Then give him dinner and decide from there. To see if he is going up or down.
By all means stall, however dont feed. This way if the numbers come up you will be confident that its not because of food.
with recent happenings would I shoot a full 3u?
An important consideration is that when you reduce,as you did last night, the depot has to readjust. It does so by draining down to the new dose. This can affect several cycles, making it seem like the reduction had little effect, depending on the size of the depot. Likewise the effects of shooting a one time reduced dose may not be visible until the following cycle.

Lets see what Harley gives you at the next test.
ETA-please ask for extra eyes - my connection is very spotty tonight
 
Last edited:
Do you have plenty of test strips and high carb food around, just in case? Can you monitor tonight? You have shot a 158 before. Four months in, I think you qualify for having experience now. ;)
 
I do, Wendy&Neko, I was looking through too and saw that. I will go ahead. I am happy to be seeing the lower numbers for sure - but I feel a bit more like "what are you going to do now dude?" haha, time for a new learning curve / part of our journey / getting comfortable all over again. :)
 
After a while, you will start to crave lower preshots. Those cycles are usually flatter and more predictable. But first you need to gather the data. It’s usually a good idea to get early tests, such as a +1 and a +2,:when you shoot your lowest yet. At least you know he was on his way up already.
 
Back
Top