2/22 Buster AMPS 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenben02

Member
Good morning!

I was shocked at Buster's number this morning. I've been trying to be consistant with my routine (ie: put food out prior to AMPS, wait till he's done eating and test). Maybe that's not how I should be doing it?

Overall Buster seems to be happier and is able to jump up on my bed (about 3'). He used to just lay on the floor looking sad. I also changed his litter so it quit clumping up on his feet. Poor little guy had so much hard litter between his toes it's no wonder he couldn't walk right.

Have a good week everyone!

Jennifer & Buster
 
Hi Jen

I dont know what your schedule is like, but I would recommend you try to get some spotchecks on this AMPS, this is the lowest preshot u have gotten, a +1 and/or an out the door check would be recommended.

You also have a lot of data missing in the evening cycle, kitties tend to throw lower numbers in the evening, and some evenings checks would help see what Buster is doing on each dose.
 
Generally, you want to test before you feed. Otherwise, there's always a chance that Buster's numbers will be influenced by food. The routine that a lot of us use is test, feed, shoot.

I'm not sure if you decreased the dose this morning because of the low number. If so, that was probably a very good idea since you don't yet have data to help you decide how much to shoot. In part, I think this is Ronnie's point about spot checks. The more mid-cycle tests you have, the easier it will be to sort out when to increase or decrease doses. The need for spot checks is needed because with Lantus, dosing is based on the low point (nadir) of the cycle. The pre-shot tests are important for days like today when you're unsure whether it's safe to give a shot. Data from both the AM and PM cycle is important for the reasons that Ronnie mentioned.

If you can, please get some early checks in today to see how Buster's numbers are going.

I hope you'll post more often.
 
I'm not quite sure how I will be able to do spot checks when I work during the day Monday-Friday. It's not possible for me to drive home at lunch. Do I change my shot schedule? Any suggestions??

Thanks!

Jennifer & Buster (meow)
 
Alot of people work during the day just like you.

what they do is - if they are still home by +1, which is one hour after morning shot, they grab a +1 test...or what they do is what we call an "out the door test" , there - you have at least one spotcheck in there....then when you get home,
an "in the door spotcheck",,,,so it sounds like you are home in the evening?

if so, a +3 in the evening tells a lot, and "a before bedtime" test as well....plus you have weekends, and the odd day off.

lots of opportunities to spotcheck, so it can be done. And yes - it would help a lot to get you feedback on how Lantus is working for Buster. But without the checks you are able to get, it makes it a little harder. Give it try when your home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top