2/21 - Indy AM Skip PMPS - 224

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Well, we have had some sensor drama. His current sensor started to fall off right before his PM shot. So I ear pricked him, replaced the sensor and hubby gave him his 1u. Sensor kicks in while I'm asleep.....goes all the way to under 40 goes back up to 78 and stops working. (So we have no numbers for last night after that dive). Proceed to try and put a new sensor on this morning....it fails to leave the applicator. Grab another one....same issue. I am out of skin tac, it is arriving tomorrow. One last sensor, I get it to stick. Of course, Indy is tired of being poked with the applicator needles and cries out.

Now we wait and see if it works. I can't confirm that Indy went under 40 but to be on the safe side, I think we need to take the reduction back to .75u. Advice?
 
Aaaugh, that sounds so stressful. I'm so sorry. I hate the equipment malfunction nonsense!

I'm torn - not sure what I'd do if it were me. I might reduce, but I might wait another cycle if I were going to be around and able to monitor. I'm not seeing so much as a single green on your SS in the last three cycles; that would probably lead me to be a bit skeptical of that 40.

That said, can you enter the data you do have from last night, so it's possible to have some sense of the progression (as the Libre claims it happened)? (And is 125 the number you got from the ear prick?)
 
He’s over a year diabetic. I would not reduce and just watch his bg. With TR you would reduce if under 40 as a long term or 3 times under 50 if reductions are not holding.
 
He has not been diabetic for over a year. He went into remission in 2024 and was re-diagnosed at the end of October in 2025. It has been 3.5 months.
 
We count from original diagnosis. He went into remission which is great but that means he became a diet controlled diabetic but still diabetic.
 
Gotcha, does it make a difference if his original diagnosis was because he had been on prednisolone for 8ish years? (Bonafide question, not trying to be a smart aleck, I promise). When we changed his meds he went into remission.
 
That was quite a dive between PMPS +1 and PMPS +2. I'm sure you would have said, but - anything that could have contributed to that, like less eating than normal etc?

If you take a reduction, you may see higher numbers again. If you're more comfortable with that right now than with risking dealing with lower numbers (even if you're home to monitor, feed, etc) then I think that makes sense - you do have to take care of yourself too. With the usual caveat that I'm not super experienced and it's not, you know, medical advice.

You seem to be falling into something of a pattern with the 1u / .75u doses, and I'm not sure what the best way to address that is in the longer term; that might be something one of our more experienced users has more in-depth thoughts on?

Hugs.

We count from original diagnosis. He went into remission which is great but that means he became a diet controlled diabetic but still diabetic.
Really? I think I've received advice from mods in the other direction before. My cat is in a similar position to Indy, except that his first diagnosis was a lot longer ago (he was in remission for nearly four years).
 
That was quite a dive between PMPS +1 and PMPS +2. I'm sure you would have said, but - anything that could have contributed to that, like less eating than normal etc?

If you take a reduction, you may see higher numbers again. If you're more comfortable with that right now than with risking dealing with lower numbers (even if you're home to monitor, feed, etc) then I think that makes sense - you do have to take care of yourself too. With the usual caveat that I'm not super experienced and it's not, you know, medical advice.

You seem to be falling into something of a pattern with the 1u / .75u doses, and I'm not sure what the best way to address that is in the longer term; that might be something one of our more experienced users has more in-depth thoughts on?

Hugs.


Really? I think I've received advice from mods in the other direction before. My cat is in a similar position to Indy, except that his first diagnosis was a lot longer ago (he was in remission for nearly four years).
It is what I have always been told. @Wendy&Neko
 
This is from the TR sticky.

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week
 
Here is the section from the OTJ DIRECTIONS.

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Well, the danger of continuing to stall is that the bg might drop more. You could feed a little lc and see where his bg is in an hour but can you be that off schedule?
 
I'm tempted to skip and let the sensor get through it's wonkiness stage. I don't feel comfortable shooting this potentially low number.
 
No. You are seeing a lower than usual pre shot and it’s green for the first time. Anxiety is normal at this point. You will have other opportunities to shoot green. Skip this time. Are you giving a tasty treat after each poke? That made it easier for me to give fluids to Max. He was easy to test but I gave a treat from day one.
 
Used one of hubby's libre 3+ sensors. Had hubby shave his side down more, wiped down with an alcohol wipe, skin tac arrived early so put that on, and put the sensor on. It applied! And to be on the safe side, Indy in his onesie. He is *not* happy with us. Made sure to give him a bunch of loves and some beef liver treats.
 
does it make a difference if his original diagnosis was because he had been on prednisolone for 8ish years
No, it's more related to how his pancreas is doing and how long his body has depended on injected insulin. Recently diagnosed cats have an easier time going into remission. Not to say that it can't happen for long term diabetics, but it's harder.
 
We have numbers!!!!!! Considering we skipped this morning. It isn't too bad. 187 at +8. :-)

No, it's more related to how his pancreas is doing and how long his body has depended on injected insulin. Recently diagnosed cats have an easier time going into remission. Not to say that it can't happen for long term diabetics, but it's harder.
So does this mean I should only be doing reductions on TR at under 40? He was off insulin for a year and a half after only being on it for...2 months while we switched meds.
 
I know that I normally have the data for TR, just wondering if that is putting all of us through too much stress. He seems to be between .75u and 1u as an ideal dose. He goes too high with .75u and he goes below 40 with the 1u. I know that last night's isn't confirmed. I wouldn't know what a fat .75u would look like or a skinny 1u. :-/. Want to do the best I can for our old man. We are exhausted after the ordeal of the last 24 hours. Pic of Indy in his onesie while snoring.
999.jpg
 
Going to try and do a fat 0.75u for his dose tonight. We are supposed to leave tomorrow when he normally starts to dive, so we are being a bit conservative.
 
We have numbers!!!!!! Considering we skipped this morning. It isn't too bad. 187 at +8. :-)


So does this mean I should only be doing reductions on TR at under 40? He was off insulin for a year and a half after only being on it for...2 months while we switched meds.
Here is a look at the reduction guidelines for long-term diabetics:

Long term diabetics - more than one year since diagnosis
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 40 mg/dL for those following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* after 3 drops between 40 - 50 mg/dL on three separate days for kitties who have shown they do not hold reductions well and following TR, or
  • reduction *earned* when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week and following TR.
  • reduction *earned* after a single drop below 90 mg/dL for those following SLGS.
We highly suggest taking a reduction any time any kitty drops into the 30s or below.
 
Back
Top