2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43~PMPS 340

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Happy Saturday LL.
Feels so strange not being on the board for 2 days.

Well, looks like Max missed his Mom and saved his action until I got back.
So happy to see yellow to start the day but boy he has to do it at the worst time.
I have to be out this morning, almost through the 6 hour cycle to watch older DD in a robotics
competition. Dn't ask about that one, lol. Miss graphic designer built the booth.
I am extremely worried about him and wish I could catch some green this morning.
Will he be okay?
I have set the food timer so that he will have access to food throughout the morning in case
and I know people do have to lead their lives but I wish I did not have to go. How crazy is that.
Max and his sisters love their presents and the new cat bed is being fought over. Right now Max owns it and takes up the whole space.
Here is hoping for the best!
Have a great Saturday!
 
Re: 2/10 Max AMPS 247

aw pooh! lol

Robotics? thats cool! Good luck to DD!

hmmm...I guess an out the door test would be good, u leaving soon?

he'll eat food if he needs it?
 
Re: 2/10 Max AMPS 247

Now that's what I call a lovely start to the day: Sunshine :thumbup

I think part of it may be you have been away and miss Max, but we do have to continue living. Hopefully, in the near future, there will be days when Max starts his day in blues or greens, but you will need to still live your life, right?

I am pretty sure that Max will be just fine; you leave food and he will eat as he needs.

So go out and have some fun, enjoying DD's event. When you get home, Max will be just fine, and likely :roll: at your silly concerns :smile:
 
Re: 2/10 Max AMPS 247

Beautiful number for Max this morning! :thumbup
Get the test as Ronnie says -- it might be one that will help you feel more comfortable with leaving...hope so....
Randi...wishing your DD good luck...and hoping that all goes well today for you all!!
 
Re: 2/10 Max AMPS 247

Ronnie & Luna said:
aw pooh! lol

Robotics? thats cool! Good luck to DD!

hmmm...I guess an out the door test would be good, u leaving soon?

he'll eat food if he needs it?

For sure I will do an out the door test, probably +2.5, not the best time.
No idea if he will eat the food if he needs it. I might leave some near his chair so
he doesn't have to go looking in the kitchen, just in case.
He is loving his new catbed!!
I could not tell DH or DD that I had to stay home and test Max. She has been at this competition forthe past 2 days and nights. Got asked by Science teachers to help with presentation as she is an amazing artist. Even grandpa went to go check it out.
I will report before we leave!
 
Re: 2/10 Max AMPS 247

Geez, next thing we will hear is that Max has his own room to go with that bed with a little bedside table and getting all meals catered in bed! haha_smiley

Randi, whenever I go out for the day, I always leave a separate dish of a full can of food, just in case the feeder does not work for some reason or other. Hey I know food is important, so I don't want Shadoe starving.
It's reassuring to put that little bit of extra food out; maybe it will help you too.

Go and have fun. Besides, with that spiffy new bed, Max may not even know you went out!
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

Okay so I need to leave in 15 minutes and this is not funny!!
How could he drop in 2 hours almost 200 points and after breakfast.
What do I do?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

holy crap!

well if Max was my kitty, I'd do a retest in 15min...just becuz thats a fast drop dude
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

Ronnie & Luna said:
....and wish I could catch some green this morning.

famous last words eh? lol

noone else around to test him?

Nope, no one. We are all going to see DD.
I am sick right now.
I have food everywhere. Just wondering if I should give him some MC in case?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

get the retest and a top with MC before u leave, not overload thou


anyone else correct me please if its wrong
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

better safe than sorry. You're not going to break him or stop his progress, so drop a decent amount of HC before you go. It's too early in cycle to be messing around with this. Like Jill says, there's more insulin where that came from!
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

Carolyn and Spot said:
better safe than sorry. You're not going to break him or stop his progress, so drop a decent amount of HC before you go. It's too early in cycle to be messing around with this. Like Jill says, there's more insulin where that came from!

I just prepared gravy in his LC but I will leave HC out too. OMg I cannot beleive this.
Little DH says to stay home and test Max they will take pictures.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Welcome to my world!

Any thought about bringing Max along?
Now that would be a sight nut I don't think I can carry around 18 pounds of cat.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

I think u should go Randi - and what Carolyn said --- > HC

u dont want to be a worry wart while out, go ok?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

I want to cry. Now he is at 52. Just put out a plate of HC for him and he is eating.
I wanted to surf greens and get Mr. P trained but I will need chance it.
I will leave more HC in case. I have fod everywhere. I just hope his sisters don't eat it.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2 75 Help?

Max must have really good reading capabilities, hows he pull this on you now? lol

Randi. from what Ive seen HC should bring him up or at least slow him down...
could u grab an out the door test?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2.5 52 Help?

Don't worry about missed opportunities Randi, he will do this again :) Can you do out-the-door?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2.5 52 Help?

Out the door was 52. He had hc before we left.
Huge plate of hc left next to him plus a mix of
Lc and hc cuz he does not like chunks. We left him
Purring. We don't have plana to stay long.
Here is hoping for the best. I was expecting this
Tonight.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2.5 52 Help?

Ok he should be just fine. We know he has one kickin' liver so I don't expect him to stay down very long. Have a great time, tell DD we said congrats!
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2.5 52 Help?

Enjoy yourselves Randi!! Good luck to DD!

Take a deep breath, shake it off, he will be ok!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2.5 52 Help?

Good job Randi! I am sure Max is chuckling at all of the drama he provided as you were leaving. Now he's probably eating, snoozing and cleaning himself! Apparently, Max and Six were in cahoots about big drops in a few hours. We need to check our phone bills. Hope you were able to enjoy DD's presentation.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2.5 52 Help?

Thanks for the reminder Carolyn. Lol. You are so right.
Thanks for the congrats to dd. Ill report when we get back.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+2.5 52 Help?

OK Max, we need to have a little talk here.

You really need to stop pulling these last minute cliff droppers when your bean's out the door!
Yes, Yes, I know you saw everyone was getting ready to go out and you may have felt that you were gonna be abandoned again, but you are wrong!
You need to let your bean get out one in awhile and you know why?
Well, you just go and take a look at that nice nifty new bed you got! That's why! You never know what she is going to bring home for you, so no more guilt tripping!

Randi,
Max is a rascal, most definitely! But you still need to live. I am sure that Max is feeling quite pleased with himself, getting lots of attention and tons of extra foods! He will know enough to eat if needed.
We will be expecting a nice report from the event; I am sure you are very proud of DD's work too.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43

We are back.
HC was eaten by someone here but it looks like we stalled him nicely.
He is lounging in his new cat bed as if nothing has happened except looks tired.
Just gave him some mixed LC and HC to lick up.

Now with this 43 will I have to go back doen to 5.75
Wouldn't you know this is 10th cycle at 6.

Should I test in 15 or 30?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43

Moving back up.

55 at 5.5 (the 43 was really at 5.25 but looked messy in subject line)
He definiately looks a bit worse for the wear, with his low.

I will ask dose advise later. I really want to keep him on 6 longer. This is the
first green we are seeing.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43

Ronnie & Luna said:
sounds good Randi
ur on top of it, u doing ok?
hope u had a good time at the event.

Max is sleepy now. I will get a +6 and see where that is headed.
Very calm here, maybe beacuse I am blocking out the possibility
that he dropped below 40 while we were out.

Even was interesting. Their robot was not the calibur of ther school, oh well.
DD jus got involved on Monday for the creative sdie but then got very interested.
Very Strange.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247; +5 43; +5.5 55

Wow... a touch of drama this morning I would say!

Rule is "feed the 40s" - doesn't mean get thankgicing feast out, but if you're home feed the 40s and if you're not home, have food available - and on that subject, you had tonnes of food available it sounds like. :)

I hope you had fun at the event, despite the calibre issue.... oh well.. if DD had fun, it's all that counts.

Cats know when the least opportune time is and they DO read condos! :!:
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43

If you don't think the full 0.25u decreases are holding for Max, you can skinny the dose. I'm guessing that Max will bounce by PMPS so it's fine to shoot the 6.0u through the bounce. Let's see what others have to day about dosing as well as where Max is at by shot time.
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43

Thanks Sienne
I just did a +8 for the heck of it and he is still surfing the greens.

+8 94, I m sure we will see a huge rebound tonight.
PM shot is 7:00. when should I ask for advice?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43~+11 308 Dose Advice

Well Max certainly had an interesting day today - as did I.
It looks like he spent most of this cycle in green.

I was out between +3 to +5 where he was at 43 on my return.

Protocol says dosecrease when 40's are hit but I am not sure if I should bring Max back down to a full 5.75, f5.75 s6 or keep the 6 for PM shot.
I am home all night tonight and tomorrow as well.

This is the first time he has hit green on this dose in 10 cycles and he did not have much success the second time around at 5.75.

Shot time is 7:00pm.
Thanks
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43~+11 308 Dose Advice

Jill & Alex said:
hi randi!
i would stick with 6u tonight. he's already beginning to bounce...

I was hoping for that (not the bounce) but is it okay because he went down to the 40's today?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43~+11 308 Dose Advice

I think it's likely it will take at least this cycle for the bounce to clear. If not, you have the tools to manage the numbers. Are you home this evening?
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43~+11 308 Dose Advice

yes, it's ok to maintain the dose tonight. it's called shooting through rebound. why lower the dose when we know he's bouncing? doesn't make sense. :-D

fwiw, the tight regulation protocol has been revised recently. this is NOT something we've been doing here, but it's an option (in bold):

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

this option may be better for max than reducing the dose after a single drop below 50.
something to think about...
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43~+11 308 Dose Advice

BOING!!! What a day!! What numbers!! See something is changing here--For the Good!! HUGS~!
 
Re: 2/20 Max AMPS 247~+5 43~+11 308 Dose Advice

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think it's likely it will take at least this cycle for the bounce to clear. If not, you have the tools to manage the numbers. Are you home this evening?

Home all night and pretty much all tomorrow except between 3&5 for DD tennis lesson but
DH will be home if Max pulls another day like today.

Thanks Jill. I was just telling DH about that "modofied protocol", Donovan is using right? but I was not 100% sure of the "rules".

I think in Max's case too this makes sense so we are going to stick with the 6 u and let it ride!
 
Whoa! What a day I missed here in LL. Glad it all turned out well. (Why do they have to make us so anxious all the time? Couldn't they tell us their plans in advance?)
 
this condo was a good read today! Max likes to have his breakthroughs at inopportune times, but at least he is having them. Gooo Max!
 
+4 165.

Max is showing blue after surfing green all day.
Now that is interesting. I guss I should brace myself for major bounce
tomorrow or he is learing to settle down a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top