2/20 Eleanor AMBG 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64093
Sorry the numbers from yesterday weren't on the SS, I could swear I put them up.
Eleanor's AMPS is 137. I'm following the SLGS Approach and that says not to shoot below 150, someone here told me don't shoot under 200. And seriously, since Eleanor is new to this and at this point I have no idea what she is going to do with the insulin, I really don't want to shoot under 200.
I don't know what to do.
Eleanor ate with her PM shot, then not again until +7. She ate a good amount. I had not tested her since +7 when she was 213. She's just eaten now.
I think I will stop the free feeding and feed at set times so I know she is eating, when, how much.
What am I supposed to do about this 137? Wait til she comes up then shoot? Wait til next shot time?
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Julie,
It looks like there aren't many people on the board right now and I'm rather new at this too. So I don't give advice, but did you read the sticky "Dealing with Low Preshots". Also, is it 12 hours since AMPS, I'm confused because you are in AZ…when was AMPS?
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Daphne, I'm shooting at noon (AMPS) and midnight (PMPS). I know it's confusing, but that is the time that is best for me. I'm ery ill and I function best at those hours and want to be functioning at shot time :smile:
I have read the sticky Dealing With Low PreShots. So I'm holding off on the shot.
I'm upset though that she went this low at +12. I'm so confused.
Thank you for replying to me.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

OK, I understand, I'm also ill and I probably would do the same thing, since my sleep is 2:00AM-2:00PM, crazy I know.

So its ok, to hold off, but test every 20 min. and as soon as she comes up a bit then shoot, what ever that number is for you, I think you said 200. I'm shooting low so don't go by me. Also, its important to write down the time you shoot, and make sure its 12 hours from that time that you shoot PMPS
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Julie,

It's alarming when you start seeing low number, especially preshot numbers. But this is a good healthy bg for Eleanor. It may be lower than you are comfortable shooting, that is understandable. But don't be upset by it. If she hasn't eaten yet, you have the option to hold off on feeding for 30 minutes and retest to see if she is rising. And if so, is she high enough to shoot, maybe even a reduced amount.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

I too have odd sleep/wake hours.
She just ate quite a lot, now I don't know if what I see for the next couple hours will be food spike.
I have no idea what is happening.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Then don't worry about this shot, it's just a miss. You are right, you wouldn't be able to tell how much of the rise is food. It's just one shot of many.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Linda, she ate about 1/2 hour ago, she was starving, really dove into it.
So I should test her and when she is up, shoot, but what about the food spike?
Why was she this low at +12? I mean, well,I hadn't tested her since +7 so I don't know what she was doing between +7 and +12...
Oh - just saw your second post. Should I test in 2-3 and if she is up, shoot? Or wait til tonight?
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Ok, well, stay calm, really Eleanor's numbers are not so bad, she is safe for now. Do you know if Eleanor is a food spiker, and for how long? You can shoot a lower dose maybe, and so when the food wears off, at least she will have some insulin in her, and just test maybe 20-30 min. after the AMPS, then test again @+1.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Also, do you have High Carb food on hand, if you shoot and she goes too low you can give her some of that to bring her up and or Karo, honey…on her gums
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Hi Julie.

You did the right thing to post for advice when you get a number that you are uncomfortable with.

As far as stalling goes, next time you get a Pre Shot number that you feel is too low for you to shoot, post like you did today, and do not feed (if she's starving, you can try to hold her off by giving her a no carb treat, like some chicken or some freeze dried all meat treats), that way you can test again in 30 minute increments and as soon as she rises (to your comfort level) you will know the rise is not from a food spike, and you can go ahead and shoot your regular dose, then.

We usually try to wait for 2 hours after eating to wait for a non food influenced number to shoot the insulin.
For now, since she ate 1/2 hour ago, you could wait another 1 and 1/2 hours, to make it a total of 2 hours, and then test again, and if you are comfortable with that number you could shoot then, but your shot schedule would then be off by 2 hours. You can slowly change your shot schedule back to where you like it, in either 15 minute increments each shot, or 30 minutes once per day. So, if you were to be 2 hours off schedule, it would take you 2 days to get back to the schedule that you like.

I wouldn't worry about it too much right now. That 137 is a very nice number for Eleanor cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Hi Julie - I am no dose advisor, but I think that if you are uncomfortable shooting a 137 then skip this shot, and resume tonight at your normal time. It's only one shot, and Eleanor will recover soon enough form a missed shot. The other options - stalling until her Numbers are up is also OK - but you will have to give the next shot 12 hours later. You can also shoot a reduced dose, and have food on hand if her Numbers go low she needs it. It's hard to say why she posted a 137 this morning - it's a new dose for her, it could just be that this is the result of that new dose. It really is a very good number and one that eventually you will want to see going forward. It looks like Eleanor was headed down since her shot last night.

I will be in and out today, but will try and check back later to see how you are doing.

Good luck! I just saw Dyana's post - I agree too with what she wrote.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Sorry I disapeared. The PC was making the most horrible noise, I thought the thing was going to blow up :lol:
I'm on the old PC now and really don't know how long it will last. I really do not want to be computerless right now.
Ok, so what I'll do is wait about another hour, so it will be 2 hours post food. Test, if she is a comfortable number, shoot.
I really don't want shot time to be 2:30, but oh well.
Do they often, on SLGS, go this low at +12? I guess that's why it's so important to test before shooting, huh.

EDIT Michelle, just saw your post. I don't know what to do, wait until regular shot time or shoot in a couple hours if high enough....guess I'll ponder this...
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Eventually, as you get more data and become more comfortable, you will want to shoot a PS in this range.
But that will come with time. 137 is a very healthy number. You will find out that the lower you shoot the less they dive and the flatter the curves end up being. You're doing fine, right now.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Hi Julie - sounds like a plan. I'd pick the one that works best for you. If you want to wait the two hours and see where she is at and then decide to shoot or not - totally up to you. You can always work over the next few days to get the original shot time back, as Dyana described. It would be nice to get some insulin in her today, but you really need to be comfortable shooting the number you see. If you skip she may go up high, she may not. There just is no telling. and yes - they can post a 137 whether the approach is SLGS or TR - and yes on the testing before - one needs to know where they are at. :-D

Just saw Dyana's post - this is all so true. You are doing fine!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Whatever you decided to do you haven't messed her up Julie. If you get a number you're not comfortable shooting you don't shoot. As you go along and learn more about how Eleanor reacts to her insulin you will get more comfortable shooting at lower numbers. You did exactly the right thing by posting for help instead of shooting :smile:
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 SLGS Help Please

Julie, believe us, you are doing fine! You are keeping Eleanor safe, you are her ticket to health. You have us at your back, but you are the point person. You need a good injection of self confidence. Just keep asking your questions. It does get easier. At least you'll get to the point where you understand there are very few absolutes in this dance. We learn all we can, we collect as much data on our kitties as we can, and we do the best we can. That's what you are doing. :-D
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

I would skip. That's just my opinion, but as you've seen in the other messages, it is an option. She may go high because of it, but tomorrow is a new day.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Taking into account the 20% variance this is basically the same number. Eleanor is 'surfing'
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

I'm even more bewildered than I've been :lol:
This is just awful to me. My gut is telling me to shoot so she doesn't lose this momentum. But my paranoia is telling me to wait.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

If you do shoot, the Lantus usually doesn't have an onset until +2 (two hours after the shot) and she will have more food on board, by then, but you may need to be up and testing for a while today, depending on her numbers.

If you do not shoot, she will get back on track, and you can if you want to, adjust your shot time to earlier tomorrow, if you so choose.

If you want, you can even delay another half hour (without feeding), but that will put you off even further in your shot schedule.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

I'll test her again later, at this point, I may just wait until an hour or two before her regular shot time tonight to shoot.
So, should I give her the .75 again if I wait to shoot until she is around her usual PS number?
The suggestion to reduce the dosage was if I shot at a much lower than usual number, so I'm thinking if she is back up, regular dose.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Julie just taking into account your illness (and me, with the Fibro. and RSD), its hard to not sleep and/or put it off, so just reminder that if you shoot now, you will have to shoot 12 hours from now, and I guess its your time about 2:30pm? So you will need to be awake at 2:15 AM to shoot her PM. So maybe putting it off for this time would be best for your illness?

Just a thought @-)
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Julie, you're not blowing the whole thing, its just one skipped shot, she will be back on schedule when you decide. I just worry because its so hard to change sleep times for myself and I wouldn't want you to run into trouble with that.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Julie and Eleanor said:
I know, Celi, and I think I'm blowing the whole thing!

NOT AT ALL, GIRL!

You're doing great...
believe me- I like to think I'm a pretty kind person...
but that's not something I'd say just to be nice and ease your mind...
it's the truth :-D

Other, more experienced folks may correct what I'm saying, and if they do...follow their advice and not mine...
but if you wait for her to go up, i think your choosing .75u rather than a reduction is the right idea.

celi
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Exactly my thought, I must sleep when I sleep or I won't be any good at all to Eleanor. That's why I'm thinking now, better to wait until close to the regular PM shot. Dang it.
I'm trying to use "quote" but can't get it to work right.
Thanks you guys for the support. I feel so stupid, I just want to do what's best for Eleanor.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Julie and Eleanor said:
I know, Celi, and I think I'm blowing the whole thing!

Absolutely not. Remember you want Eleanor to have nice numbers like 126. If she decides not to cooperate with your 12 hour shooting schedule by posting healthy numbers that you aren't ready to shoot yet, this is probably the best thing that can go 'wrong'.

I know it's frustrating to have to skip a shot, but to me a low number is a happy reason and a sign she's doing well. You health and sanity are important too, so don't feel at all guilty or bad if you choose to skip!
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

You are doing a great job for Eleanor. There is a lot to learn here. You did not ruin anything.
I suggest you give yourself a nice glass of wine or some dark chocolate or a bubble bath. Then curl up with Eleanor and and give her some snuggles for having those good numbers today.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

First, skipping a shot is not the end of the world. If you'd given a fur shot, it would be essentially the same thing. So let's just set that aside.

Most of us who have been at this for a while hate stalling. All it really accomplishes is to screw up your schedule and it sounds like you've carefully thought though your shot times. In general, if Eleanor tosses you a pre-shot number that's lower than your comfort level you have 3 options:
  • skip the shot
  • stall - but don't feed
  • shoot a reduced dose at your usual shot time.
These are described in greater detail in the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky. There is no one "best" option. A lot depends on the circumstances, your schedule, your comfort level, etc. Generally, you want to remove food 2 hours prior to your usual shot time. That way, your pre-shot number doesn't reflect a food spike. If you inadvertently feed, I don't usually tell someone to wait 2 hours since that may completely turn their schedule on it's head.

200 is fine for a "no shoot" number. Ideally, you will gradually whittle that number down until you are comfortable shooting lower numbers. The first few times are nail biters.
 
Re: 2/20 Eleanor AMPS 137 Retest +2 126 SLGS Help

Julie:

Please don't be so hard on yourself. There will be another time that you will be able to shoot this number.

When you get a chance, can you please just put "AMBG 126" in her subject line so we know you didn't shoot this morning. When you have AMPS, we think you shot the number. So normally it would be something like:
2/20 Eleanor +12 137 AMBG 126" That way we know you stalled and didn't shoot.

Great job...you'll be fine and so will she. I would get a +10 or so if you can to see where she is so someone might still be up then if you plan to shoot at midnight. I'll check in and see where she is at +10 in case she has decided to ride blue all day.
 
She's looking good Julie - you've done well by her. Sounds like you skipped the shot. no worries there either - it is as Sienne posted. Good luck with tonight's shot - I will try and check back later too. Enjoy your evening!
 
+10 228.
I'll shoot at regular time, or a bit earlier. I should shoot .75 again, right?
Eleanor is sniffling and her eye looks irritated, put her terramycin ointment in the eye, I have it on hand as she has a chronic problem with sniffling and runny eyes. Hope it doesn't get any worse. Can't give her the Lysine paste from the vet because it has molasses in it, have another kind but it has something else, corn syrup or something. I'm trying to get plain Lysine into her and not doing well with that.
 
Hi Julie, I haven't visited your condo yet....welcome to the group!

I see you skipped the shot this morning...that's not a bad number for a +22 (we count the + hours from the last shot...I bet you didn't know that, and that's ok!) I would shoot your regular dose...0.75u. You're doing fine...it will get easier, really!

About the lysine...are you using a powder? How are you giving it? I use lysine periodically for Mr Tinkles, and I mix it in his food, he never notices it. If that doesn't work, you could try a little cream cheese, or a pill pocket. I use the duck & pea (allergy formula) pill pockets, they are FD friendly (no corn syrup). You can break them in pieces, they are like play doh, you can form them around pills (or whatever). Use just enough to cover whatever you are giving, small pieces work better because they tend not to bite into them if they are small...they just swallow them down. :smile:
 
Thank you Laurie, I'll go ahead and shoot the .75.
Yes, I'm using Lysine powder, I put it in her food, wouldn't eat it, but I'm having a bad time getting her to eat any way. I put some in a little butter, she took a lick or two.
I'll try cream cheese. I'll get some of the Pill Pockets, I have some of the regular kind but I knew she can't have those. I didn't know about the duck and pea!
 
I would suggest trying the regular pill pockets first, before you buy the duck & pea. If she won't eat them, it's not worth buying the other ones! ;-) It's not ideal to use the regular ones, but it won't hurt her to give it once to see how it works out.

If neither of those tricks work, ask for other ideas...I'm sure others will have different ideas to try too.
 
So she's 228 now or did you test again? She should be ok if thats her number now, and you can get a good nights sleep at least.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top