2/20 Doodles PMPS 264 +2.5 298 + 4.5 324

Status
Not open for further replies.
He will get back "there" Karen....they seem to move at a snail/cat pace.... (except Bubba!)
Funny Jayla said that because I was just coming to your condo to address that as I was thinking about Doodles and being stuck as I was in my twilight sleep early this morning. Before we switched to Lantus , Bubba was also stuck in the yellow and flat. He did develop ketones which didn't help and I never thought to test him for them because he was after all in yellows and not pinks. Thank God, @Carl & Polly & Bob (GA) kept nagging me to test him. Sure enough he was. I trust you are testing, right? It was just a thought that popped into my head.

Sending out BG lowering vines to Doodles!
 
The only thing that changed is me reducing him to 1 unit on 1/27 because he wouldn't eat wet food and I had to go back to mainly dry. So in order to follow the protocols here although against my better judgement I reduced him. Since then, he's been nothing but stuck in these high numbers and miserable.
I'm assuming you were told you had to go back to SLGS because you had to feed dry food. Furball was on SLGS. I changed the number for her to earn reductions from 90 to 50 because she would not hold recductions at 90. You can customize SLGS with as much as you test. It's obvious 90 is not a good number to reduce by for Doodles. You have to find what works best for you and Doodles. For any newbies, this is a recommendation just for Doodles since Karen tests so much. She has enough data to keep Doodles safe.

By the way, your SS goes from 2/8/16 to 1/9/16.
icon_lol.gif
 
Sorry that Doodles seems so stuck on those highest numbers. Lots of vines that the magic dose shows up pretty soon. Hang in there. And as poly and I did for so long, just keep plugging along.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Funny Jayla said that because I was just coming to your condo to address that as I was thinking about Doodles and being stuck as I was in my twilight sleep early this morning. Before we switched to Lantus , Bubba was also stuck in the yellow and flat. He did develop ketones which didn't help and I never thought to test him for them because he was after all in yellows and not pinks. Thank God, @Carl & Polly & Bob (GA) kept nagging me to test him. Sure enough he was. I trust you are testing, right? It was just a thought that popped into my head.

Sending out BG lowering vines to Doodles!
@Carl & Polly & Bob (GA) helped me tremendously as well...
 
Now he's on the 3 under 50 if we ever see it again
We've recently started Ivana on the 3 under 50, and I swear that's how we were able to keep her in greens for that fabulous week not long ago. She just wasn't holding the reductions otherwise, it's like she needed to 'prove' she wanted less juice.

Just read your condo from yesterday, hope you still managed to have a nice evening, even though I'm sure Doodles wasn't far from your thoughts at all times. It's so hard to balance our kitty and our life sometimes :bighug:
 
He's confusing me. Should I go up to 3 units or hold this dose for another cycle? 349 @ +8.5 down to 264 at PMPS...what is that.
 
I'm so glad I caught you in time, wasn't sure I had. When things turn like this you just have to be aggressive with the increases to really hammer the diabetes - Vyktor's just thrown me a green, let's hope Doodles follows suit very soon.
 
I think at this point it is beneficial to be aggressive.. I am doing it myself. Hoping for green for Doodles:D blue is ok too:cool:
 
((((Karen)))) I see why you are so frustrated with Doodles' numbers. I went back through some of your threads to see if you'd mentioned anything that could give us a clue as to why he's not responding to the dose increases.

There were 2 things from what I saw that jumped out at me. Perhaps they are completely nothing, but since we have a mystery here, it doesn't hurt to look at everything that might be anything.

One was your mention that he seemed to be having some skin shivering/twitching. Can you talk a little more about that? How often you see it, what it looks like, any other skin symptoms that you've noticed? Does he have any skin sores?

The second thing was his elevated CPK. I saw you posted that on Main Health but there weren't too many responses. I don't personally know much about it, but wondered if Marje had taken a look. She knows quite a bit about lab tests. If she hasn't seen it, let's tag her and catch her thoughts on it. The number you posted was more than 2x the high end of the normal range. You said your vet suggested he could have a pulled muscle. Do you see any symptoms of that?

I found this reference to CK, creatinine kinase, in response to my search on Dr. Google for CPK lab tests in cats. For what it's worth, thought I'd share it. http://vetneuromuscular.ucsd.edu/cases/2011/Feb2011.html From this, it sounds like an elevated CK could be from not eating appropriately (enough). Is Doodles' weight holding steady?
 
One was your mention that he seemed to be having some skin shivering/twitching. Can you talk a little more about that? How often you see it, what it looks like, any other skin symptoms that you've noticed? Does he have any skin sores?
I haven't found any sores. He does this what I call "air scratching" and sometimes he does some strange aggressive licking. It's actually been a lot less lately. He is due for a lion cut and prefers it actually. He's been real good at grooming himself and his coat looks shinny. Remember he does have IBD so allergies could be a possibility.

You said your vet suggested he could have a pulled muscle. Do you see any symptoms of that?
No, I really don't. Thankfully he's still on his toes, not limping but is sensitive when I pet him sometimes on his left side. On 1/25 during his acupuncture visit they have me leave the room for the needle insertion. When I went back in he had apparently jumped off their couch and was hiding under it. I really wonder what went on in there.

From this, it sounds like an elevated CK could be from not eating appropriately (enough). Is Doodles' weight holding steady?
On 1/25 his weight was 17.1 which is the heaviest he's been since DX in May 2015 he was down to 14.9. He was 20 lbs in Jan 2015. If you seen my food log, you'll see he wasn't eating enough wet food during the "green" phase and I had to supplement with the YAZC (please don't hate on that). I intend to weigh him tomorrow.

When I took him in for crying with grey stools on 1/8 they kept him there for 4 hours. When I spoke to the vet the next day she said "Doodles was not happy being there so he was sedated". Makes me wonder how he was treated (paranoid). I haven't read your link yet but will. I've been googling CPK and get mixed diagnoses any where from "could be stress from the actual blood draw", lack of eating, skeletal muscle disease, pulled muscle around the heart/ heart disease.

This link is the x-rays report Doodles Radiology Report Feb 8 2016. When she called me with the results she had no concerns. I've since sent 3 emails asking more questions with no response. His platelets have always been low but they are the lowest on this last test since DX. His bloodwork is updated in his SS.

Staying on the paranoid path, I'm starting to wonder if he's acro.
 
Karen I will find out the vet my brother went to out in your area.... it may be a bit further but they were excellent with his cat he rescued from me. They were very kind and gentle. They wanted her as much as possible at home so she was more comfortable--she had a few teeth pulled and they prefilled shots with pain meds--
point being they seemed to care very much...
I will try to reach him tomorrow-
 
Last edited:
I will find out the vet my brother went to out in your area
Thank you. You're very kind :bighug: I called a few last week and will be making a "Karen/New Vet" appointment with all his records to feel them out. It's so strange because my vet has had many award recognitions and is highly regarded. I just don't "see" it.
 
Thank you. You're very kind :bighug: I called a few last week and will be making a "Karen/New Vet" appointment with all his records to feel them out. It's so strange because my vet has had many award recognitions and is highly regarded. I just don't "see" it.

Unfortunately, awards don't mean that they are the ones that care the most about the animals. They are probably well-known for their shiny office and fancy equipment and their ability to do complicated surgeries, but none of that is all that helpful when you want someone to actually listen to your concerns and accept that you are the one that knows your cat the best. :bighug:
 
In that report on the radiograph, it says there is no evidence of "organomegaly" which would be enlarged organs, such as one sees with acromegaly. Although changes with acromegaly happen at different phases, so I don't know that would rule it out. He's not on a high dose of insulin, but definitely something is going on that's causing some insulin resistance, which is evidenced by the increasing dosage but non-responding blood sugar. We don't even suggest acro until a cat gets to 6u per shot, however.
 
but definitely something is going on that's causing some insulin resistance, which is evidenced by the increasing dosage but non-responding blood sugar.
I bought new insulin on 1/25 even though the other one was 3 months old. Then went and bought another one on 2/5 thinking it was 'bad'...or just to rule it out. They both came from the same pharmacy with the same lot number. They did say no one else has complained o_O

His numbers weren't this high in the beginning of using Lantus in July and they had him eating DM dry. How long do I keep increasing? Should I change my shot spot to the shoulder scruff instead of the flank area? Try a different insulin? If there was a little movement in his numbers I wouldn't be as neurotic :arghh:

I have the Kirks Current Veterinary Therapy Book. Figured I'd wait until we hit 5 units before going the acro route.

Thanks for stopping in Julie, I'm really at a loss.
 
(((Karen))) I hope Doodles comes thru for you soon. :bighug: Organomegaly (specifically the heart) is also a concern with Maine Coons, so that could be why they are looking at organ size.

To answer your question, you keep increasing until you hit the breakthrough. I don't know if you've ever seen Libby's Lucy's SS, but she similarly got down to 1.25 units then had to go back up to 4.25 before turning around.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top