2/2 Shadoe pmps 373 +3 290 +5 331

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo
Yesterday's recap:
355 - amps cycle 2
406 - pmps cycle 3
346 - +1
301 - +3
310 - +5
371 - +11
No tests as usual when at work.

I figured I'd finish yesterday's condo off with replies, but decided against it since the fluid dilemma is still chewing at my brain.. confused_cat

First, thanks Jill, I will increase each 2-3 days as required, no more waiting needlessly.
Chris, I'll need to get some other size needles for fluids.

So, no call back from vet so today after work, I will go back and sit down this time and not leave without an answer about fluids. it is a hospital, and the vets work diff shifts, plus they are pretty busy at times.

It still bothers me that on the fluids, Shadoe's numbers are lower, so I will think she is doing better than she really is doing. I can't base increases on numbers that I don't perceive as real. Or, is it the other way around - Shadoe has artificial pinks because she needs fluids and we can see her real numbers.
I understand what you are saying, Chris, but only one scenario can be the one to use when making dose decisions, not both. Switching horses in mid stream makes me very nervous. I don't know horses, and I hate water.

Have a person walk a straight line, no problem. Get the person drunk, problem. It does not mean that the drunk can't walk a straight line, it means no straight line if drunk.
The same with Shadoe's numbers. No fluids and numbers are high, so increase would be given in 3 days. Fluids given and numbers would be diluted and register lower, thereby tricking me into thinking numbers are lower, so no increase needed and we stick with the 6u dose. See?
The needles I get with fluids "kit" from the vet are 18g x 1" kinda large so if we are going to be giving fluids more often, I will get the 20's.

Shadoe is going to her fresh and dried out catnip plants more often now. The last two morns, she heads right to them as soon as we get up. I am going back to the 1/4 pepcid tabs morn and nite till I find out about the injectable form.

This morn, Shadoe has been going back to sleeping ON me to be sure she knows when I get up; I take that as a step backwards because she did that in the early days after her dx.
When she went to the catnip, I got a 1/4tab of pepcid ready along with the meter, and gave the pepcid with the shooter (only one spit-out this morn), followed by her +11. She got a small handful of chicken cubes to tide her over, but she ate only a couple.

Test and shot were uneventful, but I found that she had spit out the pepcid! What a trickster! She must hide it someplace then spit it out when I look away. Well, I put it right back and kept her overturned on my lap till it dissolved. She was not happy :evil: but too bad.

LB had plenty of wet stuff, so she is getting liquids in her for sure with all that soupy slop! No stool yet, but Shadoe's not an early pooper.

Breakfast is not much to her liking; Authority Chicken & Lamb soupy slop. I have a feeling she does not like lamb because a couple others we tried had lamb and were not big hits. She is lapping up some of it, but went back to the leftover chicken cubes. The feeder does not turn for a couple hours, so I'll see when I get home just how hungry she was.

This am shot is cycle 4; if no happy numbers received, I'll go with the increase to 6.5u tomorrow night.

And the day begins. Shadoe has forgotten the pepcid battle, and is all stretched out on one of her little rugs by the catnip and happily purring.

Scratches to all the kitties and calmness for all the bean today.
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Good morning,Gayle!
You make me laugh early i the morning: "Have a person walk a straight line, no problem. Get the person drunk, problem. It does not mean that the drunk can't walk a straight line, it means no straight line if drunk "
I love it!
Hope You have a nice Day!
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Jake,
The best outlook is to instill a bit of lightness into everything. It makes any heaviness seem just a wee bit less of a burden.

Laughter is the best medicine, and if not, it sure helps with making the crappy medicine go down!
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

I nominate u to be the spokesperson on WCR (newbies: Whole Cat Report, cuz your kitty is more than just a number)

Keep up the positive attitude, Shadoe will find her way with your love and attention to her, she is a very lucky kitty to have u.
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Hang in there, Gayle, you're doing your best with Shadoe! Hope you both have a great day!
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Gayle! You need a whole big batch of hugs. Yeah, I see the humor in your post, but I can feel the frustration, too. It must be very wearing on you and on Shadoe too. I really, really hope you get a satisfactory answer from the vet today.

Here's to a good afternoon for Shadoe! And you.
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Gayle
I don't envy the vet today when you march in for your answers. You deserve them.
I am so hoping this dose will kick in and I'm glad you will be agreesive with Shadoe's dosing.
Maybe this week you can at least get the IAA done and have some questions off your head.
I don't think that one needs to go you Michigan.
Chin up. We are all here supporting you.
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Gayle, I'm with you on the vet problem....we have enough on our hands without having to wait for calls that never come. If they're not part of the solution, then they're part of the problem....too bad we need 'em!

Love your morning reports on Shadoe...just like being there! cat_pet_icon Keep up the great work!
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe pmps 373

Ah well, I think Shadoe decided for me; she was licking her lips when I got home and did not want me to pat her, went onto her rug and plunked down like a meatloaf and with her back to me. :YMSIGH:

So we had a pepcid battle at +11, put some of that codeine TD inside her ears, then I gave her some fluids, maybe about 75ml at +1. I really can't tell how much on this bag but try to aim for around 100 or so.

Shadoe is like a new cat now, like she just woke from a nice nap. She's all bouncy and stealing the pieces of chicken out of my bowl of rice-a-roni, and smacking Booboo.

Why is she smacking Booboo, you ask? Well, Booboo had Shadoe in a death grip and licking the Codeine TD out of the inside of Shadoe's ears.

What a bunch of crazies. I just ended up picking all the chicken out of my bowl and gave it to Shadoe. And what did she do? Well, she bounced away cuz I took all the fun out of it, she was happier catching the pieces with her nails right out of the bowl.

Ah well, we will see how her numbers are affected later from the fluids.
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Wow! It's like Shadoe is screaming at you with her symptoms, isn't she?

Good for you...you started treatment immediately. Any word on the tests/costs/when it can be done? In the short term, I assume you will continue with treatment. FYI - with the 20 gauge needles it takes longer to administer the fluid, but it can be more comfortable for Shadoe. I think we went back to 18 gauge because Beabhen would rather have the fluids quicker than sit still long enough to receive them via 20 gauge.

So glad she is feeling better even with one treatment! Watch out Booboo!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

Thanks Amy,
It's alot easier and way less stressful when you know what you are seeing and also know what to do about it.

I am guessing I should keep up with the fluids, every 2nd day at least, because Shadoe seems to like them. Right now, she is doing a super clean and if she does not stop soon, she is gonna lick all her fur off. Wow, she is just so alive now!

I won't get a chance to talk to the vet till Thurs eve, so I will ask her to look into it and let me know what the vet office would charge me for the test and shipping. The prices are right on the printouts I left for her, so she knows I know how cheap the tests are. ;-) I do want the tests done eventually, but I am not going to rush.

And as for the needle sizes, I don't think Shadoe wants to sit a long time, so we may stick with the bigger ones and get the fluids over with quickly.
 
Re: 2/2 Shadoe +11 371 amps 394

I have posted twice to a thread and both times my post disappeared.
Actually, part of my pmps post is missing too.

Shadoe did not seem fine when I got home so I gave her pepcid at +11, some codeine TD with her shot, then fluids at +1
She is now at 290 +3.

I forgot to add she is now feeling dopey great and Booboo is still trying to get at the TD inside Shadoe's ears :lol:
 
Wow, that was fun! We dipped all the way down to a yellow 290 :evil:

About the only thing good about this eve is that Shadoe seems to be feeling better after getting a bit of fluids. Booboo went into the bottom level of their round 3 level carpeted tower, and Shadoe tried to squeeze in there too! Now that was funny :lol: Shadoe can't fit in there on her own, never mind get in there with Booboo. Silly Shadoe tried but then she could not even move to turn around so her rear and tail were sticking out of the door haha_smiley

No point in wasting any more strips; Shadoe's not going anywhere anytime soon, other than to bed :lol:

Thank goodness I can page for-freaking-ever to find what got lost.

UGH
 
Nice that Booboo is turning into a codeine junkie!

It's so good to hear that Shadoe responds so well to the squids. I love your description of his stealing the chicken out of your dinner. What a cat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top