2/2 Ruben pmps 216 +3.75 201 +6 159 +7.5 180

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
morning gang, here we go again.....bf let other cat out of room last night, so food monitering wasnt acurate- but doesnt look like he ate much more. shooting .25u now gonna get a +3. he seems to only want to eat gl, gonna try to leave ff out and if doesnt eat and number drops then do gl.
thank you to all who were with me last night, keep sending eating vines. hoping for an easier night
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

Hi Sam,
Good plan.
Ruben, enough's enough, buddy. Time for you to chow down on the good old FF classics. All the cool cats love 'em!

Get a ketone check when you can, Sam. I'll check back during the day.

Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

Good Morning Sam and Mr. Ruben!

That's a good high number for your brain to rest Sam. Take advantage of it - do something for YOURSELF this morning too.

Now that last night's excitement is behind us, I noticed you said you had Neuralgia - do you know what kind? My DH has an ion channel mutation, Wiki says Neuralgia is also thought to be associated with ion channel damage or malfunction. Just curious, I have learned more about the ion channels in the past 20 years than I ever desired to know. Take care of YOU so you can take care of extra sweet Ruben!

BIG HUGS,
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

love you guys, id be lost without you all
ruben did a nice healthy poo today (lil loose at the end of it, but better in size and shape) yay poo ....lol
did not give bupe today, gonna see how he does, i dont think him or i like he way he is on it....but if i hink for one moment he is suffering, i will absolutly give it to him
a new day for a new chance. keep checking in, can not say it enough, i could not have done it last night wih out you all
especially carl & marje
carl thank you for sticking it out wih me. it helps me more than you can understand.
imagine being a little boy alone and the only thing you love was sick. that was me last night. usually rubens the one who takes care of me. sounds weird, but since ive been sick he's been my cg. this is a very scary journy for me, but with you all by my side, i know, feel, i am not alone. that is so comforting.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

sqeeky- they think i have either complex migraines or bassler migraines (but they say im the interesting patient< you never want to be that lol) but they say its the worst they've seen
in case you havent heard of them, its not always a migraine in the brain. its more like suffering mini strokes but for me its at a high rate of spped and most it onlylasts for a few days then comes back, mine just doesnt stop. im on meds now that seem to help but this stress is causing all my symptoms to come back with force. i loose feeling in the left part of my face, arm, leg, sometimes i get tunnel vision,slurred speach, and last night i developed a twintch in my right index finger (that was weird) its scary when you cant control your body. i am at high risk for a stroke and am supposed to stay calm...lmao...lol oh ruben i love you. im gonna be fine i HAVE to for ruben
so when i say you guys help more than you can imagine, i honestly dont think you guys feel the gravity of that. you guys have been the best medicine so far for me. theres no doubt i would have already been back admitted in the hospital if not for you guys. but enough focusing on that stupid issue, lets focus back on eating vines for my sweet ruben
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

Good morning Sweety, Sounds like you had a difficult night, but you made it through! Im proud of you. I want to thank everyone who has been here supporting Sam. You are ALL my hero's.... I love you sweety. Ruben knock it off and stop giving your Mommy so much worry. Sounds like he may be on the road to feeling better. FINGERS CROSSED...... Love you Babe
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

Mom,
I've been meaning to ask... the kitty in your avatar. Is that his/her real eye color? Those are the most amazing cat eyes I've ever seen.
Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

sam, even though I know you are vegetarian, would you be willing to try at least one piece of KFC?? may just be the thing to kick start him to eating more.
and maybe give a smaller dose of bupe than you been giving just to keep the pain at a min. it just may be too high of a dose making him feel crappy and keep doing the other meds. even if he looks better right now, he may still need them to get him over the hump
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

lol carl my mom doesnt have a cat, but wanted to fit in so thats a pic she lifted off the net :lol: :lol: :lol: she does how ever have a dog and has had many cats over the years.

~O) ~O) ~O) So guess who just went and got herself a coffee, and not just any coffe, but a starbucks coffee< who's living high on the hog today!!!!! first time i was in the car in a week and not driving to e.r. vet....i really cant afford starbucks, but omg its good, he first sip was like seeing a unicorn fly by peeing rainbows, amazing :-D
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

LOL, if you're seeing flying unicorns peeing rainbows, Starbucks may have added a little something to that cup of coffee!
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

i do not have a kfc near me, he did eat a little bit on his own so far, thats more than yeterday morning. im gonna give to the +3 reading and take it from there. why kfc? is it the seasonings? how come it cant be reg, chix? i have dried chix treats and wants nothing to do with them. i know it sounds like im not willing to get kfc for ruben, and honestly it will be very difficult, ive done protests against them and compainging to spread the word on how cruel they are, so it feels wrong inside me to do it. but its for ruben and i have to remember that. kfc is honestly one of the cruelest factory farming practices i've ever seen. and ive seen it all. its horrors your brain could not think of on its own. i did give him his zofran, i cut his bupe down yesterday, i know he doesnt feel great and will def give bupe, just waiting til +3, i honestly think he is doing better off of it, but i agree i DO NOT want him in pain, maybe ill give micro dose.
please please hear my hesitant against kfc for what it is (compassion for animals) and not refusal b/c im stuborn, i just cant help but see the litle faces of innocent animals being tortured when i think of geting it.
they say chickens have the same IQ as cats and that their very comparable in nature and intelligence. couldn imagine feeding ruben another cat. chickens are like cats just in different bodies.
and with that, ruben just got up and took a few bites. yay- he's saving chickens-tho his food is chix flavored lol the irony..lol
also please knwo i am no way trying to convert people, just trying to explaine my hesitation. it takes all kinds for the world to go round. i do not judge anyone.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

carl- i like to think im funny, but you my friend are hysterical. love your sence of humor. right up my alley.
oh god i love you all here. thank you so so much, i vow to pay it forward
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

I've also wondered "why kfc" when I've seen that posted here and elsewhere. You'd have to remove all the batter coating, wouldn't you?
Is it just a matter of it's pretty easy to find and faster than cooking your own, or is there a secret ingredient that seems to help?
Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400

Lol, glad you find my sense of humor helps, Sam. I try to use humor often. Find it defuses stress. And it helps me a great deal at work also. Tourists can be a rough audience :-)
Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

Yay on the 268! It's nice that such a tiny dose is giving results. :smile:

carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

+3 268
that feels good to me, right? when i should i test next? should i still get a +4 or wait til +5? he nibbles here and there. better than yesterday yay. prayers are working, please keep them coming, actually just did dishes.go me. ruben still is not himself, he keeps having twitches<not to worried bout that, but he is def slightly better than yesterday so far. ill take it. still wont leave my lap at all tho, so sweet, but i've had to pee for the last 10 min... :-D
let me know your thoughts. oh feeling so much better than yesterday, i just love him soooo much, he represents all that is good in my world and when he's off its like my world if off its access.
thank you so much guys (((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((((FDMB)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
im glad im not there to hug all of you cause i'd probably pop your heads off with the violent hugging id do. i sometimes get a little aggresive with the love...lol :-D
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

Sam,
Just to help with understanding the numbers, what's he been nibbling on? Low carb, gravy lovers, kibbles, your toes?

Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

lol carl, its me who nibbles on his little toes.nom nom nom so gd cute
he's eating fancy feast classic/ i pulled up the newmans organic and trying not to give temtation treats. trying freeze dried beef liver....ugh!!lol he's not a big fan but will once in a while eat them. my other civie on the other hand thinks all this different food is for her..lol little piggy whne should i test again?
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

+5 should be OK, but if you feel nervous or if Ruben hasn't eaten much, check @+4.

Did you tell Ruben he has people all over the planet watching over him? :cool:

MJ
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

Good. The low carb will let the juice do it's job.

I'd probably split the difference and check again at +4.5?

Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

Morning Sam, dear!!!! Oh...it's probably afternoon there :shock:

Nice +3!! I'm so glad to see that. I'm wondering if you have tried just boiled chicken breast. I know that will gross you out and I"m sorry but if the KFC isn't an option, how about some free range chicken breast? My cats go wild over it. I just boil it and when it's still just a bit warm, give it to them as treats.

I'd get a +5. Let's see where he's going. Wouldn't it be nice if this dose would work for his numbers but we have to also keep in mind that if he's not eating, his numbers might be just a little lower. Once he starts eating, we might have to raise the dose.

Also, I'd like you to get a +11 today because I'm thinking that if you'd like, and if he is high, it might be a good idea to bump your shot time earlier so you don't have to stay up so late testing. So, what would be the ideal shot time for your schedule and so you can rest? Once we know
that, we can get you to start moving towards it.

Glad you got some Starbucks! Try to rest and just continue to get food in him. If there is any way at all to make a slurry of the LC food and syringe it, that would be ideal over the gravy. I'd really love to save the gravy for when he's dropping UNLESS that is still all he will eat. Maybe a happy medium would be to mix a little gravy in with the LC and syringe and each time mix less.

Have a great day and I'll check in later.
bouncing_hearts-2602.gif
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

mj- yes i did, he didnt seem impressed...lol but thats a cat for you :-D :-D :-D +5 it is. i on the other hand am eternally gratefull.
 

Attachments

  • 1268096901556.jpg
    1268096901556.jpg
    29.6 KB · Views: 1,209
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

marje- i love you, i dont mean to play favorites but i cant help it. you and carl are ruben and i's gaurdian angels. i truelly believe that
i like the free range chicken idea so much better, my mom would help me with that too. he is nibbling on his ff classic all on his own today. only here and there but thats much more than yesterday. i will def syringe feed if he goes for more than 2hr without nibbling. i would see he's about 1/4-1/3 can in. thats great from yesterday.
he's going to nibble as we speak. oh thank fdmf. thank you for your prayers thank you!!!!!!!!!!! im gonna get a +5
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

lovely number but as marj said, once he starts eating the dose may need bumped up again but I think .25 is good for now.

totally understand about KFC and I have no clue what is in it but many swear by it on here. maybe some baby food squash. heard a few cats really like that too. jus a little on top of food. veggie and carbs but who cares right now

free range sounds like a plan too

doing a great job
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268

marje- my work scedule will make ruben's shot time 7 and 7 but im out for 2 more weeks and 9 or 10 would be ideal, but not sure if i should work to getting used to 7 and 7. open to suggestions also if you guys are staying up w me im more than happy to work on a schedule thats good for you guys.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

+5 150
i know thats an ok number but still get nervous, dont know why, when i should i check again? or is it safe to do the +11? he just took a few tiny bites so i'd say total half can maybe a wee bit more. he's a grazer slowly bu shirley he keeps eating. still not feeling great but better than yesterday and better than the day b4 so thats good.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

No, you definitely need to check before +11. If he's been grazing today, you should be fine waiting until +7 or +8. But I hesitate to make any assumptions where sugarcats are concerned. They do what they want when they want!

MJ
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

I would check +6, Sam, just in case 150 isn't the "bottom". I think today's numbers are all great by the way. But it would be useful knowing if he's going to go any lower. For example, a 150 most likely isn't going to cause a big bounce later. But if he drops to 85, say, it would help explain a higher number later? Make sense?

Carl

edit to add - or +7 like MJ suggested. Just want to see if there is a "lower".
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

totally makes sence, thank you +6 it is, if for some reason it is say 80-85 i shouldnt panic right? i mean i shouldnt anyway, but we all know im a bit ( a lot ) nutty when i comes to ruben. trying to stay calm today. havent seen him litter box yet, unless he went when i went to starbucks, still waiting.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

No. No panic no matter what the number is. Just be prepared to post and then act.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

ugh. i am working on not getting that pit in my stomach, its hard. i like to think i controll my thoughts, but sometimes when it comes to ruben my thoughts think me, there intrusive. working on it. i really am. one day at a time < sounds like i'm 12 steppin it...lol pray for 130-150 safe #'s
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

Good. Positive thinking!

But..... a 60 is a perfectly safe number, Sam. A lot of "low number thinking" depends more on when it happens in the cycle than anything else. A 60 at +4 today might be an issue. But at +6 or +7, yes, it's going to get your attention, but it's still a safe number since "typically" he'd start to come back up during the latter part of the cycle.
Trust me. At some time in the not too distant future, you'll be dancing the happy dance when you see a 60 or 70, and they won't be nearly as scary as they are now.
Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

Sam Sweetheart,
Mr. Ruben is doing really well today - there's no NEED to panic altho' I KNOW it's hard. You now KNOW what to do, you know you have support here. When you start feeling that panic, go to the mirror, dance a little jig, plaster that BIG smile on your face and just LOOK at how GOOD you're doing!!

BIG HUG TOO! I'll dance that jig WITH you!
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

Sam,
Listen to Lyresa. If you read her subject lines every day, she's the queen of the "happy dance"! :-D

Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

Just a reminder that Sam is using an Alpha Trak and while a 60 might not be a 30 on a human meter, it's lower than I'd like Ruben to be anywhere in his cycle. A 60 on a human glucometer is a safe number but unless we know exactly how Sams AT at 60 equates to a human glucometer, I'd want to get that number up.....especially if it is early in the cycle.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150

Ooops, THANK YOU for the reminder, Marje! :oops:

OKay, Sam, adjust everything I said by twenty points or so. What you'd hope to see, and happy dance about, is a number in the 80 range.
And Marje brings up a good opportunity for the next time you see a number like 70 or so. Immediately test again with your Relion meter, and see what it reads. Maybe we can find out how your AT equates to a "human meter" at the lower ranges. That's good info to know.

CArl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

+6 126
this is good, right, forget i know it is...lol
when to test next?
oh thank god was getting worried. happy dancing
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

crap he found evil kibble should i let him continue to eat it, ugh thought i put it up high enough hey at least he's eating...just switched to ff classic yes...
oh today is a good day.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

126 is really good. :smile:
How about +8, and assuming it's not lower, then you should be good until +11.
The kibble right now isn't a major problem. I wouldn't want him to eat a whole bowl full, but like you said, at least he's eating. That's a good sign, and later if he turns his nose up at the FF classics, maybe he'll find them more enticing if you crumble a couple pieces of kibble and sprinkle it on top?

Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

Agree 100% with Carl. As Sienne said the other day, until he is eating normally on his own, we don't care if he eats hot fudge sundaes.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

Last night, cake. Today, hot fudge sundaes! And it's too close to dinner "to spoil my appetite". ;-)
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

you guys are great...lol
want to take a ride to my mom's to grab the AT srips but afraid ill miss him pee? what do you guys think, it will take me about an hour? i only have 14 strips left
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

The strips are more important, in my opinion.

Carl
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

Since KFC is a no go, what about Chik-fil-A? I don't eat fast food so my cats don't either but Libby swears by Chik-fil-A as an appetite stimulant for her cats. Fundamentally, anything that will get Ruben's attention is fine.

This is s list that another member put together some time ago of foods that can entice a cat to eat.
Cheryl & Winnie said:
Enticing a Cat to Eat

Here are some things you can do do entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core.

-making a buffet to give him choices
- heating food

sprinkle food with :
  • forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
  • parmesean cheese
  • smashed crumbles of dry food
  • bonito/tuna flakes (Can be found at Asian markets or sometimes in the Asian food section of a large grocery store.)
  • halo chicken treats (freeze dried chicken) -- crumble into dust over food -- my Wolfie loves this stuff.
  • pour a little water from tuna in water over food (I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats and it shouldn't contain soy -- check labels)
  • powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
  • trader joe tuna for cats
  • baby food -- Beechnut or Gerber Stage 2 -- you want a baby food that is only a protein + broth (although the Gerber contains cornstarch). It should have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
  • kentucky fried chicken
  • deli turkey /chicken
  • plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
  • canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
  • chicken broth -- low sodium

If enticements don't work, you should consider:
-assist feeding ( syringe or make little meatballs and place in mouth)
-and/or talking to your vet about appetite stimulents ( mirtazapine or cyproheptidine)
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

thanks guys, going to get strips and see if i can get my mom to grab chix and boil it for me...
be back in an hour.
 
Re: 2/2 Ruben amps 400 +3 268 +5 150 +6 126

Sam just came by and got the strips and I also boiled some chicken for her. Poor girl didn't even want to cook the chicken in one of her pans. Such a devoted vegan..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top