2/2 Milo AMPS 460, +2 504 +3.75 432 +5.5 389. PMPS 370 +2 329. +4 306

Status
Not open for further replies.
Personally, if his overall demeanor is fine and he's eating, I don't think you need to go to the vet.

Lev has a later onset so you may not see his numbers come down until later in the cycle. (I'm trying to get caught up on his spreadsheet...just general thoughts right now.)
 
Diabetes is a marathon, not a sprint. This is only day 11 on Levemir. Milo is still at a relatively low dose of insulin and it can take a while to find a good dose. Unless Milo is feeling off, a vet would only tell you that he hasn't got the right dose yet. I think it's time to do what Sienne suggested yesterday and fast track the dose until you see a lot more yellow. I'd increase to 2.0 units tonight.
 
It looks to me like you are doing everything OK with regard to the protocol. You gave the initial 1.5 U dose the proper amount of time to establish the shed (but it should be taken into consideration that the two partial fur shots may have impeded progress of the shed getting established). (Until the shed is established, not all of the insulin you are giving is available to bring down the blood glucose.) Now, at 1.75 U you should keep in mind that the shed needs to recalibrate itself to the new dose and any recalibration will also impede progress. According to the TR protocol, you should give this dose 6 cycles to see what is happening. So you have 1 cycle to go. I don't think you need to go to the vet. As long as Milo is acting normally and eating, I think you just need to hang in there, follow the protocol, and see what happens. As Suzanne remarks, above, Lev. has typically a late onset.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Lev. should not be "rolled". It doesn't like to be "shook up" and it doesn't need to be mixed. It should look nice and clear all the time. If you see what looks like debris in the vial or pen, the insulin might have gone bad and you should return it.

p.p.s. Wendy's comment was posted as I was writing this. I can see the virtue of a "fast track", but since you have only 1 cycle to go on 1.75 U, I think you could easily wait until tomorrow morning to increase to 2.0 U.
 
Thanks. We will go up to 2 units tonight Or in the morning. I'm sorry I'm being so annoying about this. I know it's slow acting insulin. Just scary still seeing the 400 and 500s. Thanks for reminder on not rolling, I have always been careful not to roll. Watched the video a couple times
I do appreciate the help.
 
Morning! I would agree with the others, and can also relate to what you are going through right now. The hardest thing for me to initially learn was patience. When Mannie was Dx'd, he was running numbers in the 400's & 500's consistently. That was a tad bit scary for me. It did take some time, and some dose adjusting, to begin to see any improvement. I can remember being elated when I started to see 300's. Hang in there, I think you are doing fine. Please don't think you are bring annoying, far from it. We are all here to help, in whatever way we can.

And Milo. come on down! The lower numbers really are kinda fun!
 
It's your choice whether you want to increase tonight (fast track) or tomorrow morning (regular protocol). He's in high enough numbers that you can fast track. For anyone else reading, Milo has come out of remission, and we try to be a bit more aggressive with kitties coming out of remission, so this is a suggestion for Milo only.
 
Last edited:
Going to start the 2U tonight.
will test a couple times after then decide if I need to set alarm.
Can someone direct me to steps for fast track
 
I'm looking for the link. I know I've seen it around here somewhere.

In a nutshell, you increase every 4 cycles until you see blue or green, and then slow back down to every 6 cycles.

Note to lurkers
: this is very aggressive and not the correct course of treatment for every cat.
 
Thanks Suzanne. I understand this is agressive and those who recommended suggested only since Milo coming out of remission.
 
@milosmommy Good luck with the fast track. I increased Sami's dose last night and didn't seem much improvement but today she was able to get into the yellow. Depending how she does over the next two cycles will determine if we take the fast track as well. Sami is off remission after 5 years. I really would love to get her back to remission, as I am sure you would for Milo's. I hope it works out for you, and us. I will be tracking Milo's spreadsheet to see how things go for you.
 
The instructions come from Tilly's website, which the protocol here was based on.
However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.
For the purposes of dosing Milo according to the above, he is considered to be on a low dose.
 
@milosmommy Good luck with the fast track. I increased Sami's dose last night and didn't seem much improvement but today she was able to get into the yellow. Depending how she does over the next two cycles will determine if we take the fast track as well. Sami is off remission after 5 years. I really would love to get her back to remission, as I am sure you would for Milo's. I hope it works out for you, and us. I will be tracking Milo's spreadsheet to see how things go for you.

Milo was OTJ for 5 years too. Came back on mid December 2014.I'll watch and see how you do. Here's hoping goid numbers for both our kitties.

Wendy, once again thanks!
 
+4 306 is 45 min after eating.
I might do reading later tonight for my own curiosity if I wake up

Thanks again everyone for all the advice and reassurance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top