2/2 Midas AMPS 113 Lowest ever PS reading

colin72

Member Since 2014
Hi

Midas was down to 79 +8 last night and for this morning's AMPS is 113.

I did a lot of tests last night and into the morning so I could see where his BG was headed.

Do I shoot the 133 with 5.5 units?

Thanks
 
Did you have a chance to choose a dosing method? Depending on which one he may have earned a reduction.

He's on his way up, but this is lowest youve shot by far. If it were me I would shoot either 5.5 or 5.25U if I had a hypo kit and could monitor....but I also have more experience with low numbers, and I can't stay around to help guide you. But this is an opportunity to catch and hold these numbers, "shoot low to stay low"

The safer option is a half dose. But that will reset cycle count, and he may end up back in those higher numbers.
 
Did you have a chance to choose a dosing method? Depending on which one he may have earned a reduction.

He's on his way up, but this is lowest youve shot by far. If it were me I would shoot either 5.5 or 5.25U if I had a hypo kit and could monitor....but I also have more experience with low numbers, and I can't stay around to help guide you. But this is an opportunity to catch and hold these numbers, "shoot low to stay low"

The safer option is a half dose. But that will reset cycle count, and he may end up back in those higher numbers.


I'm following TR. It's on my ss.

Ok.... I'm not sure what to do.
 
I'm following TR. It's on my ss.

Ok.... I'm not sure what to do.
Ok please add to SS when you get a chance, I always like to confirm when I see it one place but not the other. He did not earn a reduction, so still at 5.5U

If you're not sure, then give the half dose. Worst that will happen is he goes back high and takes a few days/week to come back down.
 
Have you fed? If not can you get another test and see where he's at?

If you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose. Even with a token dose the 5.5U depot will be at play and will affect the first part of the cycle.
 
Have you fed? If not can you get another test and see where he's at?

If you can monitor, you can shoot the full dose. Even with a token dose the 5.5U depot will be at play and will affect the first part of the cycle.


I did get another test. He was up to 180 so I gave him 5.5 units.

So, the timeline is... got 113 reading, then about 25 minutes later (which is 15 minutes after the normal time for his actual dose), I shot 180, giving 5.5 units.

How do I record this on Midas' ss?

Thanks
 
In yesterday's PM+11 column you can put "118@+12", then in today's AMPS column you can put "180@+12.25"" since that's what you shot. I have seen some people stack them both in AMPS column but gets a little cluttered
 
I did get another test. He was up to 180 so I gave him 5.5 units.
It's good you shot the full dose. With some cats you can count on them bouncing!
With TR, you can shoot any number over 50 (human meter), provided you can monitor. It is scary at first, but at some point one has to start shooting lower numbers to not derail progress.
 
Back
Top