2/2 Bella AMPS 85 /64 +2 /36 +5 /29 +5:30/ 78 +6 /85 +6:30

cecile & bella

Member Since 2021
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-28-bella-amps-327-4-350.258511/
We're alternating days starting in the 300s and low days, it seems. Yesterday started higher. I meant to test her at night but fell asleep.
This morning her AMPS was 85, and now at 2 hours after her shot (5u) she's at 64. I'm home today so I'll recheck her in an hour or two, but I wonder if I should lower her dose? I asked her vet what she thinks but would like to know your advice as well.
 
With the AT a bg under 68 calls for a reduction. Her new dose will be 4.5 If following SLGS reductions are under 90. Which one are you following? Your signature doesn’t say and your spreadsheet says SLGS. You are t getting a second test at night and I suspect she was lower last night as well. Ordinarily we take .25 reductions but with the limited testing and SLGS I would go to 4.5. It looks like your vet moves in full units though.
 
Thank you. Yes, she moves in full units. I did no add TR or SLGS because I was not sure at the time I signed up here. I think it's TR. we started at 1 unit and went up from there, with curves every week at home. She told me to go to 4 tonight, I was thinking maybe 4.5 and see tomorrow.
Do you test a lot every day? I am afraid she will get stressed. I am looking for a human meter too, the alphaTrak strips are very expensive.
 
Please drop her dose to 4.5. Following TR going forward the next decrease will be .25. You went up fast so it’s possible she will come down in dose quickly for awhile.

A human meter is a good idea. strips are so much less and our methods are based on them. Many use a Relion from Walmart. Strips are cheap. I wish they still made the one I used as it needed less blood than the new one. They read a little lower than pet meters but are close when high or low.

Max was very sensitive but was an angel with testing. We all think they will be stressed but they aren’t. A treat after each test helps. I wasn’t going to test when he was diagnosed for that very reason. I thought he would hide from me all the time but I was wrong. He did get stressed going to the vet and yet when I saw a 65 there I became a testaholic!
 
Yes, I just tested her again and she's at 36. She's eating some Fancy Feast now, it's higher in carb so hopefully that will help. I gave her some Karo on her gums too.
She's very easy to test, she complains sometimes but I think she does not like to be held, recently I've been testing her without holding her and it seems to be more to her liking.
 
She is at 95 at +11. Should I still do her 4 units, or go lower than that or even not shot tonight? I don't want her to go very low again during the night.
I shot at 7:30 usually. I could also wait a little later? I can test her after 2 or 3 hours but probably not after that.
 
Cecile, I see in your SS you have a test of 66 for PMPS. Can you retest again? When was the last time Bella had food? Under 68 is too low to shoot on AT2. While you could stall, not feed and see if numbers come up on their own, after the cycle you had today, I am inclined to suggest skipping tonight's shot but continue to test since you will have some depot affecting the next cycle.
 
I see you got a 66 on the AT. You have two options. The first option is a skip, which would mean she'd be safer tonight and help drain the depot. You would feed her now and still have to keep monitoring to make sure she comes up. Option two involves feeding a little bit now to see if she comes up over 68, but then shot time would be later after she's coming up on her own. You have to be OK with a later shot time if you do this.
 
I talked to her vet in the meantime, she said to give her 3 units tonight, so I did. I will test her again, thank you so much for answering, Christie. She ate very well and is asking for more.
Tomorrow I will go get a Relion meter.
 
I talked to her vet in the meantime, she said to give her 3 units tonight, so I did. I will test her again, thank you so much for answering, Christie. She ate very well and is asking for more.
Tomorrow I will go get a Relion meter.
Okay...can you check her now, and see where she is at since that PMPS. Shooting under 68 is not recommended, so you'll have to closely monitor. What do you have for high carb?
 
I have Fancy Feast with gravy, and some Karo syrup. This morning when she was very low I mixed some Karo in the food.
 
The first part of the cycle after a reduced dose can still see some action, due to the depot, so I'd still keep an eye on her tonight.
 
Yes. I tested her again at +4, she's at 157. I will give her her snack and watch her, hopefully we'll be good now. Good night!
 
Back
Top